(My) Office Space

People have been asking what my office looks like…I took off of work for the last week for two reasons:

Reason #1 – I’ve been stressed out of my freaking mind because of putting together this freaking office and work has been so freaking busy lately and I just needed a little bit of sanity!

Reason #2 – I needed to finish my office :/

And finish it I did! I’m actually quite happy with the way it came out! It actually turned out how I wanted it too. I still need a couple of more paintings that Megan is going to do for me, a chair, and I really want a big wooden giraffe from Africa to put in the corner! You know what I’m talking about? One of those tall skinny ones? Does anyone know where I can find one of those that’s not $300 at World Market :/? Anyway, here are some pics:

IMG_0595

This is sort of a landscape view of the whole office. The lamps are extremely bright, so you can’t really see them, but I assure you, they’re cool!

IMG_0592

Detail of where I’ll be sitting

IMG_0594

Detail of where they’ll be sitting.

IMG_0598

And this is on the other side of the room! Isn’t that lamp incredible?! I’m totally in love with it!! It’s an import from Thailand and I got it at a going out of business sale for $35!!! It’s like the bargain of the year!

So that’s the office! What do ya think? Is it too moody? Is it ok? Would you be comfortable sitting there? Do I need anything else? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!! This is my first time doing this!

31 Responses

  1. WOW! It looks so professional!! The furniture is fantastic. I wasn’t sure I was going to like the colors when you described them (I’m not big on yellow in any way, shape or form), but the walls look incredible.

    You are going to rock it!

  2. Love it! The lamp is gorgeous.

  3. Chris, it’s gorgeous! Really warm and sort of secure. People will be coming to see you just to sit on that couch!

  4. wow baby boy!! I love it! I can see me there now! (also love that you have Lisa Snellings candle holders there how cool!) and love that lamp!

  5. Okay, wow, that is a gorgeous office. I totally wish I had an office as cool as that! (Though I don’t need one like you do but still!!) It’s definitely very warm and very welcome – people will definitely feel comfortable coming in there!

  6. Oh Chris, it is absolutely gorgeous!!! Having gotten a glimpse in person, I already knew it was going to be. But seeing it now, I’m blown away! Damn…if I was you, I think I’d want to hang out there all the time.

    Love the little lamp you found for between the chairs…much less “spotlight in your face” than the other. And the other looks fabulous on the desk. Of course my fav is still the $35 one.

    So, do you have an appointment set up with your first patient?

    Congrats, Chris!!!! It truly is beautiful!

  7. I absolutely love the lamp. Seriously. So. Envious.

  8. It looks fantastic. I love the lamp growing out of tree branches- so cool! Is there something in the baskets? or just purely decorative?

  9. Chris, the space is absolutely terrific! Thoroughly impressed. Like everyone else, I love the bargain lamp. It’s gorgeous. But you pulled it all together wonderfully. And, ah, being a librarian I swear it’s ingrained in me to help people find things if they ask, so…I did some looking for that giraffe, and found a couple of options (still not cheap, but not $300):

    http://tinyurl.com/kuarks
    http://tinyurl.com/mfrfcc
    http://tinyurl.com/nj6f7y

    Okay, sorry about that! Really, though, great job! 🙂

  10. It’s very beautiful, Chris. And it looks comfortable, too. That lamp rocks!

  11. Looks so great and confortable too. I LOVE the lamp, and I could picture myself very comfortable in your space. I’ll be over in 30 minutes..LOL

  12. It looks fantastic! Congratulations on being all professional. 🙂

  13. Your office is gorgeous, you did a great job creating a relaxing and comfortable space. On top the tall bookcase, are those Lisa Snelling sculptures?

    I know exactly what you mean about the giraffe statue. I’d bought one from Africa Home Decor as a wedding gift for friends. It was beautiful and I think you could get three different ones ranging from 150-400. But if you wanted something not so tall, Animal Rescue Site has a store selling 8 inch giraffes carved in Kenya. I love shopping here because the money goes to rescue centers and shelters around the world.

  14. I’d like to schedul an appointment. We don’t have to talk. I just want to sit quietly in this beautiful space! Nice job!

  15. It’s beautiful! I’m totally jealous – absolutely lovely.

  16. It looks great!

  17. Wow! What a gorgeous office! I would love to curl up on that couch everyday with a good book and just lose myself in the cozy atmosphere of the room. You did an amazing job!

  18. Whoa! That’s incredible. I think you did an amazing job. If you’re looking for giraffes, try a Kirkland’s store if you have one anywhere around you. They remind me of Pier 1, but the prices are generally very good, and I would almost swear I saw one of those skinny giraffes there at one point or another.

  19. I love how warm and cosy it looks. I think I’d feel right at home there! Nice work. I’m so excited for you!

  20. I just want to cosy up on your sofa with a book and a glass of wine. It is fabulous. I love the lamp. It looks like my kind of room.

  21. It looks so incredible! And professional! And grown-up! (I always forget you’re actually older than me, lol.)

    My mom has several of the giraffes you’re talking about. In San Antonio, she worked as an office manager to two small business, and one was run by an expat Zimbabwean who imported and sold them. Plus, my dad brought her back one from Namibia. So my mom’s advice was to google import-export businesses based in southern Africa. 🙂

  22. Thanks so much everyone for the wonderful feedback 😀 Glad everyone seems to like it…it makes me feel good 😀 And for those who gave me giraffe suggestions, you all rock!!! Thanks!!

  23. It looks AWESOME, Chris! You have excellent taste 😀

  24. I like it. It does look a little dimly lit for long term reading, but very comfortable. You’re right, though, it does need a very tall wooden giraffe. I suggest eBay and Craigslist. You never know what you’ll find.

  25. What an amazing space! I think your clients are going to feel really welcomed and comfortable there.

  26. Chris, sweetie, I love how you go off and contradict yourself with your reasons for taking a week off. Kind of, sort of. It’s how it reads. Almost. (It just amused me. Please don’t kill me for not making sense!)

    As for your questions… I wanna sit on your side of the room, Chris! It’s got these pretty chairs and a table! Do want! *ahem* That out of the way, I’d consider moving to New Orleans just to be one of your patients if it meant getting to sit in that room. (I do agree that it looks a little dim for long-term reading, but I suspect that may not be such a big problem in reality. Anyway, my eyes like dim – big owly things that they are – so don’t take it as a complaint!)

    It looks beautiful, Chris! You could easily switch to being an interior designer. It’s That Pretty. I’m glad to see so many people are finding help for the giraffe, though, as I can’t be of any use there, sadly. (I want pictures of the giraffe when you get it, though!) *rambleramble*

  27. That is completely gorgeous dude! Very well done. I commend you. That is the kind of place that would be a pleasure to work in, even when a day is rough.

  28. Love the office space – the colors are so warm. Very comfy. I believe I’ve seen those giraffes in Jamaica. People sell them in the markets or on the beach for cheap, cheap, cheap. It wouldn’t be African, per se, but foreign nonetheless! The biggest problem is carrying them home on the airplane or paying to have them mailed to the U.S. Good luck with everything!

  29. It’s gorgeous, Chris! You did a great job. It’s calming, comforting, and looks like a safe haven. Wow. Wish I had some giraffes to give you!

  30. Your office is gorgeous. Nice job…the hard work shows.

  31. Sorry I’m so late with this but …

    WOW!!! The office looks great!!! Did you find the giraffe you’re looking for yet? How tall do you want it to be?

Leave a Reply

