Scheduled Reading (And Random Blabbing That Goes Along With That)

First let me say that I’ve been in such a good mood lately! I think it’s a combination of things.

  • Debi came to visit me which totally rejuvenated me and I still have a smile on my face from it πŸ˜€
  • The weather has been beautiful!!
  • I haven’t had a MAJOR migraine in awhile!
  • I took the whole freaking week of of work!
  • Nymeth and I have been having TONS of fun working on the finals of the Nerds Heart YA tournament.
  • My office is done (yay!).
  • I finally finished a book (Fingersmith).
  • Debi came to visit me which totally rejuvenated me and I still have a smile on my face from it πŸ˜€

So…since I’ve finally fallen back into some sort of groove once again, that also means that I’m finally reading again! Whoohoo! Sadly, this good mood also has me blowing up twitter like it’s a chat room lately, so I apologize for all of the obnoxious updated :/ Feel free to twittersnooze me…I swear I won’t be offended. I keep making people go watch music videos like this one…go watch it, you know you want to!

Back to reading…this is where I get myself in trouble…does anyone else schedule themselves on what they’re going to read? I used to do this, and I made myself stop so that I could just read on a whim again but it seems that I’m back to reading premeditated books. Sheesh..I make it sound like a crime. It’s just that I let things get to the point where I want to read certain books so bad that I have to schedule them in or I’ll never get to them. So here’s what I’ve scheduled:

First up, I need to finish Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr. Enjoying this one so far, though I have to admit that it feels a little disjointed at times :/ I was talking about this one last night with people on twitter and Eva and Amy told me they’ll disown me if I don’t like itΒ  😦  So sad. So I’m trying ladies, I’m trying!!! I can tell you that I’m liking it a lot now! It’s definitely entertaining me! Just haven’t gotten to that “love it” category yet.

After that, I’m digging into the second volume of Bone by Jeff Smith. I LOVE this series and I’m kind of wishing that I had bought the huge all in one version now just because I could have them all now now now. But I’m liking my slim all in color versions, so I won’t complain…much. I’ll just keep sending for one every week :p My postman loves that. That one will take no time at all to read!

Then I have to read The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay for a TLC Blog Tour, but that’s not work at all because it looks so freaking good! It’s due by next Thursday, so you should see a review then. It’s a short one, but it looks like a promising one. It’s young adult fantasy with a wicked cool cover. Right up my alley.

And the last book was written onto the schedule today. And that one is The Knife of Never Letting Go. And I’m actually reading that one so that I can schedule in it’s sequel πŸ˜‰ So like I said earlier, Nymeth and I are writing our final decision/reviews for the Nerds Heart YA Tournament and the post is SO LONG!! I swear, no one’s even going to read it it’s so long :p But I think we’re both in love with it and it’s kind of become our child :p But it has been so much fun writing it! We’ve basically just been talking all day back and forth about two books. So we mentioned this on twitter and before we knew it, Renay, Nymeth, Debi and I were somehow planning a giant, mega, blow up the internets 4 way review! Nymeth came up with the idea of reviewing the sequel to The Knife of Never Letting Go, The Ask and The Answer together…so I think that’s what we’re going to do! But first, Debi and I have to read The Knife of Never Letting Go! That book works for the RIP Challenge, doesn’t it? Anyone?

Ok….I’m off…so does anyone else do this crazy scheduling thing, or is it just me?

18 Responses

  1. If you guys are doing the Ask and the Answer, I want to play, too! πŸ™‚

    I often premeditate my book list for the month, though I try to leave room for changing my mind and adding extra books later.

  2. As for scheduled reading, I wonder if I should admit this…for over a decade, each summer, I’ve tried to read Franz Kafka: Representative Man, which may likely be the definitive bio of him. I’ve loved all the parts I’ve read, but still… I somehow manage never to finish.

    Even worse admission, Nabokov’s first novel, Mary–never finished. What’s really bad about that is I read to the final chapter, which is supposed to have some great reveal, and yet, the penultimate chapter still sees me throwing the book across the room. That said, I could re-read Lolita, Pale Fire and Pnin forever.

    Ultimate scheduled reading, though–every December, the annotated Christmas Carol (amazing to see Dicken’s line edits) and at least every other summer, Hubert Selby Jr.’s Last Exit to Brooklyn as well as the short stories of Ring Lardner.

    Speaking of Lardner, you should check him out. A lot of his stories have not aged well, but there are a few like “Haircut,” that are amazing in the use of 1st person narration. What Lardner does in that story with an unreliable and uninformed narrator versus what he still manages to give the reader is like heart-stopping shocking from a technique level. He’s like O. Henry or Shirley Jackson with none of the tricks. Subtle, and way way way surprisingly sophisticated.

    Sorry, that was off topic.

  3. I’m so glad you’re in an awesome mood! (And I promise I won’t really disown you if you don’t become a screaming fangirl for Wicked Lovely.)

    I don’t schedule my reading persee, but since I read almost all library books, I do choose which ones to borrow when. And whenever I’m putting books on hold, I visit my ‘current challenges’ page to figure out which challenges I need to read for soon! So it’s a loose kind of scheduling. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m glad to hear you’re enjoying “Wicked Lovely” more than I am.

    I don’t often do scheduled reading, but sometimes… I’m going to focusing on my coursebooks when I get them (of course) because they’re kind of a ‘must read’ before the class that’s about them. (But first I’m reading “Twilight of Avalon” because I want to read it SO BAD and screw my schedule.)

    Beyond that… I tend to go for scheduled books when I can’t make up my mind on what to read. It, er, doesn’t work well. This summer I signed up for the Summer Reading Challenge and picked tend books to read before September 21st. I have, and read over double that in books not on the list to boot. For me the trick is not to let the schedule say everything, that’d kill me. I like having a list of books to read so, if I do get stuck on what, I’ll have preset options, but I also like not being completely confined by those options. I’m sure that makes sense.

    And now I go see what the kitty wants.

  5. I think it definitely counts for RIP…it’s nothing if not dark! And yes, Amanda, come play with us! We’ll make the internet EXPLODE and we’ll dance around in its sad remains πŸ˜€

    As for scheduling my reading, I do monthly piles, but I give myself permission to grab whichever book I’m in the mood for from the pile. I also schedule my buddy reads…I have two coming, with Kailana and Mariel, starting at about the same time. Oh dear πŸ˜›

  6. the closest I get to scheduling a book is this RIP challenge..and I’m not generally specific except to pretty much pick off of the “pool”. I did “schedule to reread” two books for this challenge and I read the one and am reading the second right now… the “time of the year” just works for pushing me to read them.

  7. Scheduling more than 3 books in advance is a sure sign of failure for me. I’m just too moody.

  8. Wow Chris, your good mood is actually seeping through the computer to me! It sounds like you are really back on track now – and I can’t wait to see pics of the new office!!!

    I never used to schedule my reading BB (before blogging) but now, with all the challenges I’ve signed up for, it is practically a requirement. So I make lists of what needs to be read each month, and simply choose from that list whenever I finish a book.

  9. I heard that song on the radio the other day and thought of all the book bloggers out there who would love it! πŸ™‚

  10. Ah man, this post just left giddy beyond words! I know EXACTLY what you mean about the rejuvenated thing…that is so exactly how I’ve felt ever since hanging with you. No lie. It’s just like this big truckload of optimism and joy was injected into my bloodstream! And I can’t thank you enough for that! πŸ˜€

    Second, you and Ana had me grinning ear to ear yesterday! I just loved reading you two chatting about your Nerds review!!! πŸ˜€ And frankly, I’m not sure I can wait until tomorrow to read it!

    Third, pictures of finished office, please! (BTW, I haven’t forgotten about disc…will have Rich show me how to do that tonight.)

    Fourth, love that video! You and Ana are going to drag me into the 21st century yet. πŸ˜‰

    Fifth, “premeditated books”…threw me into a giggle fit. I know, I know, it doesn’t take much when I’m in such a giddy mood to start with.

    And finally, I’m just sooooo excited about our joint review! Even if I will feel stupid because I’m simply not as insightful as you all. Hope to start The Knife by tomorrow. πŸ˜€ (Of course, slow reader that I am, who knows how long it will take me to finish.)

    Okay, I’ll shut up now.

  11. It’s great to see you so happy.

    I didn’t *love* Wicked Lovely, I actually enjoyed the two other books in the series a bit more. But I did enjoy it πŸ™‚

    I hope to get to The Ask and The Answer soon πŸ™‚

    I don’t mind having a few books per month scheduled, but anything over three or four and I get antsy.

  12. Amanda, Hell yeah!! I say the more the merrier! I swear…we really just need to write a big tl;dr book on books :p I try not to premeditate books, but I do :/

    Drew, I’m laughing hysterically over here! Getting all the way to the last chapter of a book and then throwing it across a room :p The worst I’ve done is probably getting about halfway through a chunkster and then quitting. It’s such a horrible feeling 😦 You’ve just added SO MUCH to my wishlist Drew! So much! Thanks πŸ˜‰ You know I haven’t read any Nabokov! I really need to fix that. I need to at least read Lolita! Will definitely check out Lardner! Sounds fantastic!

    Eva, I’m glad you won’t really disown me :p I’d be extremely sad if you did, lol. So it’s gotten kind of meh for me again 😦 I don’t know what’s up with this book! I’m all over the place with it! But i’m liking it enough to fly through it (yes, 300 pages in 3 days is flying through it for me :p)

    Shanra, I don’t know how I feel about Wicked Lovely really 😦 One second I’m loving it and then one second it just feels so scattered and disjointed to me. I can’t make up my mind!! I haven’t read any of the Avalon books! They scare me to be honest :/ They’re those sorts of books that everyone loves but I’m just scared to death that I won’t get, lol. Hope your kitty wants something easy πŸ˜‰

    Nymeth, LOL…I’m laughing over here at dancing in the sad remains of the internet :p Poor internet….Anyway, glad to hear it will count for RIP! I didn’t know that you scheduled your reading for the whole month! You learn something new every day πŸ™‚ Oooh, what are you reading with Kailana and Mariel??

    Deslily, I’ve noticed that you’ve been scheduling your reading a lot more lately with RIP!! Any idea what you’re going to read after The Thirteenth Tale? I have to say I always love following your RIP reading πŸ™‚ I love the pictures and the animations that you do every year πŸ™‚ They always put me more in the mood for halloween!

    Joanne, That’s my problem :/ I’m a moody reader too! I really don’t need to be scheduling books, but I do it anyway…le sigh…

    Heather, LOL…Yeah, when I’m in a good mood I try to make everyone else into a good mood too :p I need to go snap some pics of the office soon! I’m really happy actually with the way it came out!!

    Lu, Isn’t it an awesome song? I’ve had it in my head for THREE days now..that is not awesome 😦

    Debi, Yep, that’s just how I feel πŸ™‚ I swear, we need to make this an annual thing πŸ˜‰ I really have been in the best mood ever since you came down here! Just what the doctor ordered! We had so much fun working on the Nerds review yesterday!! I swear, I just want to write reviews like that for now on :p I’m nervous about unleashing this post on the public!! I swear I’ll get pictures of the office up soon! I’ll probably go take pics tomorrow. Isn’t that video and that song awesome? I can’t imagine anyone not liking it. Sadly, like I told Lu, I’ve had the damn song stuck in my head for three days now and that just sucks!! I’m excited about our joint review too πŸ™‚ I figure I’ll probably start Knife this weekend!! Don’t worry..I’m a slow reader too…it’ll take me PLENTY of time to finish!! And don’t you ever shut up!!

    Becky, Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m not loving Wicked Lovely either 😦 Though I was last night. I’m sort of all over the place with this book. I like it enough to continue with the series though, so I shall! The Knife series looks really good!! Can’t wait to read them. And I get antsy too :/

  13. I wasn’t a huge fan of Wicked Lovely either, so you won’t be alone in that. πŸ™‚

    I don’t schedule things per se, but what I read is completely dependent on what comes in at the library first. And if my holds list is currently full, a title goes to my big to-read list, which I rarely pull from unless my holds list isn’t full, which it rarely is…haha.

    Looking forward to the NHYA decision!!!

  14. I love the title of this post!

  15. I TOTALLY do the crazy scheduling thing too. I usually make plans for a month’s worth of reading at any one time. Which, since I only read about 7 books a month usually isn’t too insane, but still.

  16. I won’t disown you for not loving Wicked Lovely. I liked it enough to keep reading the series, but all three of the books are just missing a little something that I can’t quite identify.

  17. Kelly, Like Jill (softdrink) said…there’s just something missing and I can’t even quite put my finger on what it is….it’s something though! I can’t wait to have the Nerds decision announced either….very soon!!

    Care, :p It about sums up the post, I think.

    Court, Thank GOD I’m not alone in that one :p ONLY read 7 books? I wish that 7 was my average…these days it’s like 2 😦

    Softdrink, Well that’s good to know πŸ™‚ I’ll keep reading the series too, but you’re so right! There’s something missing there and I just can’t for the life of me put my finger on what that is!

  18. Hun, for what it’s worth, I don’t think it’s you that’s making “Wicked Lovely” such an uneven read. (I’m actually quite pleased with the amount of comments saying they weren’t blown away by WL either. Every time I see a review, I feel so lonely. It’s great not to feel like that, however mean and selfish that may sound.)

    Aww. *snugs* From what I’ve read, I’m sure you’d be fine with it. (Not that I’ve got very far.) But don’t pick it up if it scares you too much.

    Kitty wanted attention. Or at least “Being in this room”ness. I think. It was yesterday. I forget what he wanted.

Leave a Reply

