The Sunday Salon: Bad Bloggers

I’ve acquired enough books to go ahead and do a Bad Bloggers post! I can blame Debi for some of these, because we went book shopping together while she was in town :p And indeed I will.

Before I get to Bad Bloggers, though, a quick note on what’s been going on! I’m almost finished my office! And I swear I’ll have pictures up soon. I’ve taken this whole week off of work and I can’t even begin to tell you how excited I am about that. It’ll be nice just to have some time to relax and read and get the office finished. I schedule these vacations for myself every 4 months or so so that I have some time off to look forward to :p It’s sort of a goal to look forward to I guess. When I go back to work, it looks like I’ll have my first private practice client too!! A little 7 year old boy. Can’t wait to get started!

Ok…now onto books:

Books Given As A Gift

8

Books Mooched/Swapped

31011

Books Bought

1245679

1. Death: At Death’s Door by Jill Thompson – My dear, dear friend Debi gave me this one when she came down to visit me and I just can’t wait to read it πŸ˜€ Death is one of my favorite Sandman characters and this spinoff looks delightful.

2. Dream Angus by Alexander McCall Smith – This is one of the Canon Gate Myth books and I just want to read them all! So that’s why I bought this one :p

3. Peter Pan in Scarlet by Geraldine McCaughrean – I absolutely love J.M. Barrie’s Peter Pan. I always have. Sorry Renay 😦 So I’ve had my eye on this “official sequel” since it was released and I was lucky enough to mooch a copy!

4. The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz – And here’s the first point of this post! I’ve read quite a few reviews of this book, but the one that finally made me add it to the wishlist was Colin’s at The Book Pirate!

5. Bayou by Jeremy Love – 100% Nymeth’s fault. I hadn’t even heard of this one until she reviewed it, but once she reviewed it, it went straight onto my wishlist. And I loved it! But you know what…I can’t blame Nymeth completely…Debi made me actually buy it (yeah, believe that one πŸ˜‰ so I’m giving her a point too!

6. Bone by Jeff Smith – Another one that Nymeth and Debi will share the blame for. Nymeth put it on my wishlist and Debi reminded me how much I want it at the bookstore. So glad I bought this one!! It’s amazing.

7. Sent by Margaret Peterson Haddix – So excited about this one!!! It’s the second book in Haddix’s The Missing series. I loved Found so much and I would’ve never discovered that series had it not been for Becky. So I’m giving Becky a point for this one too πŸ˜‰

8. Crazy Beautiful by Lauren Baratz-Logsted – I’ve been waiting for this one for a loooong time! Chelle put this one on my radar, so the blame goes solely to her.

9. Ash by Malinda Lo – Who is to blame for this one?? I don’t even remember who first put this one onto my list, but I know there’s been a lot of talk about it. Anyway, I preordered it and now it’s here!

10. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness – Can you guess who’s to blame for this one? Yep! It’s the super awesome Renay! She’s raved and raved about this one and I can’t wait to read it now! Debi has this one too so I can’t wait to compare notes with her πŸ™‚

11. A.D.: New Orleans After the Deluge by Josh Neufeld – Honestly, I’m kind of sick of reading Katrina books. I’m actually kind of sick of Hurricane Katrina in general. Yesterday was the fourth anniversary of the storm and that’s all anyone has been talking about. But this one just looked too cool to pass up. Debi found it for me at the Borders on St. Charles Ave uptown when we were bookshopping and she bought it too! So I’m giving her another point πŸ˜‰

If you’re playing along with Bad Bloggers this week, feel free to come back and leave a link to your post in the comments of this post!! I’d love to visit your page and see what you got and who you’re blaming πŸ˜‰

17 Responses

  1. I love the cover of Dream Angus! And my lovely library has Bayou on the way. πŸ˜€

    My library loot post this week is going to be pretty obscene…and here I was promising myself I’d check out fewer books, lol.

  2. i think you need to return the favor to your bad bloggers and suggest books to them so they spend money too! lol..

  3. I have just finished The Knife of Never Letting Go and thought it was fabulous.

  4. I enjoyed Peter Pan in Scarlet! I didn’t know you liked Peter Pan or I would have been urging some great books πŸ™‚

    I’ve got Ash by my bedside now. I haven’t gotten very far into it because I’m so easily distracted these days. But I hope to finish it this week!

    And I really can’t wait to see what you think about Sent!

  5. Another great bunch of books there! Nymeth keeps “encouraging” me to read The Knife of Never Letting Go, I suppose I’m going to have to get myself a copy soon!

  6. hey son.. i know you love lisa’s poppets.. i just animated one take a look see.. http://wwhatdreamsmaycome.blogspot.com/

  7. The Death book is so cute!

  8. Oh man…you’ve got a lot of nerve blaming books on me from our shopping excursions! Just how many books came home with us thanks to you?!!!! Not only did you load me up with a huge bag of books, but you had both Annie and I buying away! And I’m not entirely sure you’re not to blame for some of the boys’ purchases, too! πŸ˜‰

    I read A.D. in one night at one of the hotels. I imagine it will be a much different reading experience for you, being so personal to you. But I can say that I thought the book was incredible!!! More than once, I had to just set it down for a few minutes because it was just so heart-wrenching. I just couldn’t quit thinking of you as I read it, of course. And I couldn’t quit thinking how while this book told the stories of seven people, there are tens of thousands of stories that haven’t been told. While I can certainly understand how you must be ready to make it through a week or two straight without hearing something about Katrina, I hope you will read this sometime because I’d really love to hear what you think about it.

    Ah man, I MISS YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Eva, I’m so glad that your librarian ordered Bayou for you!!! I think you’re going to love it. It’s just wonderful! Can’t wait to see your obscene library loot post..those are always fun πŸ™‚ Does that mean we get a really long vlog?!

    Deslily, I actually LOVE that idea!!! I don’t know if you’ve seen the post that Becky wrote after reading your comment yet, but I so think someone needs to start that meme! I think of people all the time when I’m reading books. Like Fingersmith…I think you’d love this book! I’ll have a review of it soon. It’s a very, VERY cool mystery set in victorian England. Complete with insane asylums and all!

    Vivienne, I can’t wait to read it!! I swear, I haven’t heard a single bad review about that book. It just sounds so good!!

    Becky, I LOVE Peter Pan…I just have problems with a lot of the spin-offs :/ But since this is an “official” sequel, I’m thinking I might like it. I bought Tigerheart too…that one looks good. Ash just sounds really cool!! I can’t wait to hear what you thought of it! And I’m sure I’ll love Sent πŸ˜‰

    Bart, You really should because I’m just going to hound you to read it too after I finish it probably πŸ˜‰

    Memory, It looks adorable! Can’t wait to read it!

    Debi, I know :p But I just had to, lol. If you think about it, I never would’ve bought those books on those days were it not for you :p lol. I’m surprised the back of y’alls van didn’t scrape the highway the whole way home with all of those books!!! You have to post a picture of all of the books y’all bought together, lol. I’m so so so glad to hear that A.D. was good! It looked like it would be. I really can’t wait to read it. It’s a different sort of Katrina book and I have a feeling that I’ll enjoy it. I miss you too 😦 More than I can tell you! I wish we lived closer!

  10. They all look great…Enjoy!!! And enjoy your break!

  11. What a great looking bunch of books. I have planned on reading Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao this year for one of my challenges. I have seen many mixed reviews but plan on hopping over to read the review you highlighted!
    *smiles and happy reading!*
    Kim

  12. Darn–I hit enter before finishing the sign in process–must be Monday brain because your blog is the second place I have done that tonight!
    Kim

  13. BEWARE, everyone… It may be “official” but ‘Peter Pan in Scarlet’ has mistakes in it as compared to J.M. Barrie’s original stories. Contradicting the original is not the best way to be “official.”

    I agree that the spin-offs can be irritating… but there is one that’s faithful to Barrie. In fact, it’s based on his idea for more!
    Check it out:
    http://www.peterpansneverworld.com/

    BELIEVE!

  14. Chris! WHY DO YOU DO THIS TO ME?! I just bought The Knife of Never Letting Go, and was like, Oh, I wonder what else he bought! That was a Very Bad Idea, because I don’t know I’ll be able to *only* buy Catching Fire when I go out to get it today. Grrr…. πŸ™‚

  15. so fun! I love the bad-blogger button. I aspire to someday being a bad blogger… I just cant’ keep up with you thought! I so almost checked out tender morsels from the library so I could blame Nymeth but the short stack of books I want to read this month is already TOO HIGH. sigh. I’m all over Knife of Never Letting Go. (big sigh of frustration)

  16. I loved Ash! The atmosphere was amazing and Lo did a wonderful job capturing the feel of a fairy tale. Very nicely written, I thought.

    Looking forward to hearing what you think of Crazy Beautiful!

  17. They all look great…Enjoy!!! And enjoy your break!

Leave a Reply

