R.I.P. IV (Seriously?!)

rip4300The (Seriously?!) refers to the fact that I can’t believe that this is already the fourth RIP challenge!! It’s actually my third, but I started blogging shortly after the first! I say this about so many challenges, but I really think that this may be my favorite challenge out there. To begin with, we have such an amazing host, Carl!! You have to be an absolute lover of Halloween and all things Autumn to pull this one off and that’s exactly what Carl is! He puts me in a fantastic mood for a couple of months every year with this challenge! And needless to say, I’m teeming with excitement again! I’ve come up with a HUMONGOUS pile this year of books for the pool. I’ll be doing Peril the first and reading (at least) four books for the challenge. And I’ve come up with 55 to choose from :/ I’m going to try to only read from my TBR pile with the exception of Niffenegger’s Her Fearful Symmetry which I’ll definitely be buying when it comes out 😉 I’ll torment you all with the covers:

25 Responses

  1. Love the collage! And I’m laughing, because I made myself stop at 20. Now I want to go put another twenty on my list. 😀

  2. holy cow! I am shocked that I’ve actually read three that are in your STACK (that’s no list it’s a STACK) I’ve read horns and wrinkles, In the Woods, and of cours Gils all Fright Diner. And I may reread Gils All Fright Diner!

  3. “Seriously?” about sums it up 😛 Surely it’s not later than April?

    RIP is going to have my book buying ban extra hard to stick to 😦

  4. Some fantastic choices of books there. I can’t wait to do this challenge – it will be my first time. Luckily I have quite a few that will fit in the genre, though you have tempted me a lot with your choices.

  5. That is a huge pool to choose from! I have read some of them, but there are a lot of new to me titles there as well.

    Enjoy your challenge!

  6. Yes Chris, you are evil to torture me so with all those lovely covers. Evil, EVIL, I say! *sigh* I’m with Ana, this is going to be so very, very bad for my book buying ban.

  7. Seriously? sums it up for me as well. I look at the calendar and I think…’what just happened?’

    But then I love this time of year so I’m never disappointed when it arrives, only when it leaves.

    What a freakin’ awesome collage of books. Oh they are all so very tempting, even the ones I’ve read once before.

    Thank you so much Chris. I am so glad you’ve been a part of this for so long. I appreciate your friendship and your participation in the challenges!

  8. I won’t be participating again this year because really I suck at challenges, BUT! I enjoy looking at everyone’s pools of books. Yours has some awesome ones in it – A Great and Terrible Beauty! P&P&Z! Tithe! Wicked Lovely! Yay what fun! Even if you don’t read those books for the challenge, I hope when you get around to them that you quite enjoy them. 🙂

  9. Wow you’ve got a lot of great books on there!!

  10. Wow! You’ve singlehandedly added more books to my Mt. TBR by posting this.

  11. You’ve got a great ‘pool’ there. I love that it’s even longer than my own list!!!
    I’ve read a few of these (Knife of Never Letting Go, Midnighters Secret Hour, Great and Terrible Beauty, Wicked Lovely, P&P&Z) so I’m curious to see what you think of them!

    I added the Chronicles of Vladimir Tod books to my list because of your recent review.

    And Tender morsels. I can’t believe I didn’t make the connection that this one would fit. I’ve been meaning to read this one for almost a year!!! Must add to the list 🙂

    And I’ve heard great things about Holly Black.

    But so many of these are new-to-me. Which is just as fun, because then when I read the reviews I can be faced with temptation 🙂

  12. Wow, lots of good books in that pile! I recommend A Great and Terrible Beauty, Green Angel, Midnight Alley, Midnighters, Moon Called, The Night Watch, umm… I recommend a lot of those. Do you want me to keep going? I will. In the Night Garden was really different. I have the sequel here to read one of these days. The Onion Girl was fantastic. I was thinking you had read that before! Tithe was okay, but truthfully a lot better books (in my opinion) have came out since it was released. When it came out, it was a bit different, but now everyone is doing books of that sort. I will be really interested to see what you think of Wicked Lovely. I was very surprised by my strong liking of that book. I must read the third book for the challenge.

    I think I am going to read Faerie Tale, too. I started it in ebook format and never did finish it, but I got it from the second hand store the other day. Let me know if you decide on it. We haven’t done a buddy review in a while!

    Okay, shutting up now. 🙂 (Although, I think you made me want to read Sarah Waters for this challenge. I really need to!)

  13. Wow! You have some great selections and a lot of them too! Lol. I thought I had a lot with just 10 books in my pool. Now, I’m going back to add a few – you’ve given me some ideas. =)

  14. Everyone’s got great pools, but I think yours is my favourite. So many amazing books!

  15. LOL! I don’t even know where to start picking out books from that list! – Well apart from Old Magic, I recognise that one from somewhere… 😉

    Great list, it’s bound to be a great couple of reading months. 😀

  16. Wow, what a fantastic list! I’ve read a few in that pile… all great selections. I love the cover collage! I had to stop at 20, although I would gladly have a pile of 100 if I could!!

  17. Wow mate, what a pool! Enjoy whatever you end up reading! I haven’t seen Marianne Curley on anyones lists for a while!

  18. You! Quit tormenting me with the pretty book covers! I see A Great and Terrible Beauty in there – loved that one. I really do need to track down the next book in that series…

  19. oh yea!! tender morsels… and I have to say, the Never Slow Dance With a Zombie is strangely appealing.

  20. Eva, I was making this list and kept telling myself…ok you have to stop now Chris…but I couldn’t! LOL..next thing I knew I had 55 books :p

    Deslily, I definitely want to get to Gil’s All Fright Diner! I’ve been dying to read that one ever since you reviewed it!

    Nymeth, yeah, I almost broke my rule of only reading from the stacks for this challenge already today when I was ordering Bone :/ I found all kinds of Cherie Priest books that I really wanted to buy just for this challenge, lol. I’ll probably end up doing it :/ Like I really need to buy Cherie Priest books when I have 55 perfectly good horror books sitting here waiting to be read!

    Vivienne, This is your first time!! Oh you’re going to have so much fun!! It’s a fantastic challenge! Possibly my favorite.

    Marg, Yeah, I had no control when I was making this list :p None at all.

    Heather, Ah, you’re on the book buying ban too?! All you crazy people 😉

    Carl, I’m never disappointed when it comes either! Just thrilled. I’m with you though. So disappointed once Halloween and then Christmas is over. The seasons just fall flat for me after that. Dude, we’re gonna need to start Christmas shopping soon! I appreciate your friendship too Carl 🙂 And I certainly appreciate you hosting this challenge for so long! Both mean the world to me!

    Court, Oh Courtney! You have to participate!! Surely you can read ONE scary book in two months! You just listed all kinds of great sounding scary books that you’ve read….pleeeeeeease :p

    Amanda, Thanks! Now I just have to figure out where to start :p

    T.Y., Sorry about that 😉

    Becky, I thought about you the whole time I was making this list actually, lol! I thought that I was out of my mind making a list longer than Beckys! The only difference is that you’ll actually read all of yours whereas I’m lucky if I read three of mine 😉 You haven’t read Tithe? I thought for sure you would’ve read those books!! And I’m shocked that I have books that you haven’t read, lol. I always just assume that you’ve read everything 😉

    Kailana, You just recommend the whole pile, don’t you? lol! The ones you mentioned are all top priority books though! I think what I’m going to do is let a randomizer pick all of my books for me this year. I finished Bayou last night and it was AMAZING. And I’m almost done Fingersmith finally! Does the Onion Girl even fit with RIP? I was wondering about adding that, but I just had to have some deLint in here somewhere! I thought it may have some dark undertones to it. A buddy read of Faerie Tale sounds perfect to me!!! I miss you Kelly, so that would be fun 🙂 I’ve been meaning to email you just to chat and see how you’re doing. I have to do that soon! And I never want you to shut up 🙂

    J.S. Peyton, yeah, you can always count on me to make a ridiculously long list of books, lol. Seriously, if you give me an excuse to list books I’ll put anyone to shame :p

    Memory, Why thank you! That’s only because I basically listed every horror book that’s been published :/

    Bart, Like I said above…I basically just listed every horror book that’s been published that I haven’t read…or so it would seem, lol. I can’t wait to read Old Magic! If I recall, you didn’t love it, but you still made it sound really good! I hope it’s a couple of better reading months than the last few!

    Daphne, I wish you would’ve made a pile of 100! Then I wouldn’t be the worst :p

    Mariel, I shall! Marianne Curley made the list thanks to Bart 🙂

    Megan, Sorry! I just can’t help myself…I tend to buy books based on their pretty covers >_> I’ve heard nothing but great stuff about A Great and Terrible Beauty. Can’t wait to read that one. I’ve heard the whole series is great. In fact, I decided to finally read this one because the book trailer for the newest one looks so cool!

    Care, I can’t WAIT to read Tender Morsels!! I’m probably dying to read that one more than anything else in that pile. Never Slow Dance With A Zombie is a close second though. I know what you mean. It has an odd appeal about it. I love the cover and the title.

  21. That is a serious amount of books you’ve got there!! I wish I like Tender Morsals more. I so wanted to like it. I’m sure you will, but it just was NOT for me.

    We’ve got books that are the same: Baltimore, the Dark Hills Divide and The Knife of Never Letting Go just to name a few. And I’ve read some of the others. Heartsick is great. I really like Wicked Lovely too. Tithe is pretty good. Oh…the Patricia Briggs books are super fantastic!

    I’m so excited for this challenge!!

  22. Books I know on that list! Chris, if you decide to pick up on A Great and Terrible Beauty, please let me know! I could read it along with you. (No need for a dual review if it doesn’t fit in your schedule or aught, but it’d be a great incentive for me to actually get around to reading it! ^-~)

    *wriggles excitedly* I hope you’ll get around to reading the other books I know (and read and liked) on that list! I’m so curious what you’ll think of The Alchemy of Stone and Tithe! (and whether you think Tithe or Wicked Lovely is the better read and why). It looks like an absolutely fantastic pool to choose from, though! (I don’t know how you’ll manage to choose. O_O)

  23. Hey Chris! I didn’t recommend the WHOLE pile… Just.. most of it? lol And, yes, I would say that The Onion Girl works because it does have some dark undertones to it. It’s a great book regardless. 🙂 Sounds good for the buddy read. I will hold you to the email and we can decide on timing then. 🙂

  24. Wow…I love how you put showed off your pile there! I just might have to copy you. 😉 I’m just dying to get my list put together…might be the perfect pick-me-up break for tomorrow amidst the Mt. Kilimanjaro of dirty laundry.

  25. Holy crap that’s an awesome looking pool! No doubt I could make my own pool just choosing from yours – most of them are on my tbr 🙂

Leave a Reply

