DebiDay!

The last two days were just incredible! Debi from Nothing of Importance (horribly named blog) and her family *her amazing family!* came down to New Orleans to visit me!! Now for those who don’t know already, Debi isn’t just a really cool blogger, she’s one of the most incredible people that I have ever known and I still can’t really believe that I got to meet her and her family! It’s like a big dream really. Debi is exactly what you would imagine her to be…no scratch that, she’s more than what you could ever imagine. She’s so incredibly sweet, so incredibly AWESOME, and she gives the most incredible hugs in the world 🙂 She’s warm, she’s open minded, she radiates joy, I just love her!! It was so sad when I had to say good bye 😦 But we swore that we will meet up again and we’re talking about BEA next year!

Like I said, she came down with the whole family! Her husband, Rich is an awesome guy! He’s one of those people that can find something to appreciate in every little piece of life. From lizards to ferns to who knows what else! And he’s an awesome dad. You can just see how much his kids love him. And he’s a beer drinker! In fact, he was nice enough to bring me a six pack of beers brewed locally in New York which I’ve already sampled 😉 Just a fun guy to hang out with.

As for Debi’s kids, I’m obsessed with them! Many of you know Annie already. Annie blogs over at Words by Annie and let me tell you that Annie was just what I pictured she would be. She’s a really awesome, incredibly smart, beautiful, super cool girl! She reminded me so much of myself when I was her age (except for the obvious differences). I had a lot of the same interests as she does, reading, writing, a cool dress style ;), straying from the norm in a good way. She’s just incredibly awesome!

The boys are so freaking cute!! Gray and Max are my new best friends :p They’re as boyish as boys get and they just made me want to be a little boy again. There were times during the trip when Debi would tell them they had to be quiet or stop doing something and I would not help the situation at all because I would just look at Max or Gray and we’d just start laughing.  I couldn’t help it. I loved meeting them. And they love to read!! You should see how quick Gray flies through his books! And Max had put a good dent in his Zelda manga by the time I had left too! Too cute for words.

So now you know all about this incredible family that I can’t believe actually exists. Seriously, I want to just keep them in my pocket and carry them with me everywhere I go. They’re that cool! I bet you’re wondering what we actually did! I’ll try to keep this brief because I can see it’s already getting kind of long. And I apologize for the lack of pictures. My camera was dead 😦 But Debi took tons and she told me she’d send me a disc with all of them, so I’ll get them eventually! Debi and the family got in town late Saturday night, and I had to work all Sunday morning. So the anticipation was killing me!! That and my nerves! I was so nervous about meeting everyone! But I got off of work at 3 o’clock on Sunday, knocked on Debi’s hotel room door and my nerves instantly disappeared when she answered 🙂

The day was actually gorgeous which is odd for August in New Orleans, so we took advantage of the nice weather and walked around the French Quarter for a couple of hours just to do some sight seeing. And there were plenty of sights to see!! We drank beer on the streets since you apparently can’t do that anywhere else, and went into Marie Laveau’s House of Voodoo, and walked around the French Market. Debi spit on the Andrew Jackson statue in Jackson Square (kidding 😉 After that we headed uptown to Magazine street and had a delicious dinner at Ignatius which is actually named after a character in A Confederacy of Dunces! The little boys each ate alligator sausage for their dinner 🙂 Rich had crawfish etoufee, Debi and Annie had red beans and rice, I had a ham and cheese po-boy with a cup of gumbo, and Debi and I split a bread pudding for dessert while the kids all had root beer floats! After that we squeezed in a 30 minute trip to Borders (of course) before they closed and then headed home for the night.

Monday was a full day and another gorgeous day!! We started the day at Morning Call where we had beignets and cafe au laits for breakfast and there are lots of fun pictures that were taken there 🙂 Can’t wait to see those! After that we headed off to Barnes and Noble which was actually quite the comical trip. I walked out with four books, Debi’s family walked out with three bags! Who knows how many books were in them, lol. Stupid Chris got the kids all excited about going to the zoo after that, so we pull up to the zoo and it’s closed 😦 Who closes a zoo on Mondays?! So then I mention the aquarium (which the kids got excited about) not thinking that they’re all connected, and of course, they’re closed too. So we did the next best thing, we walked around a cemetery 🙂 This is a big thing for tourists in New Orleans because we bury our dead above ground! We do this because it floods so often here and if they go below ground, they’re gonna come up. So we walked around a beautiful cemetery for awhile and took some pictures and then drove around and I showed them some of the damage from Katrina. It’s actually looking good though! We’ve come a long way! Not near as many broken down houses as their used to be!

From there we headed over to the lakefront and sat by Lake Pontchartrain for a little while and the boys played in the mud and made me nervous that they were going to fall in the lake 🙂 They didn’t. It was gorgeous out there with the breeze coming off of the lake. Just a perfect day! We were all getting hungry at this point, so we headed back uptown to eat at Cafe Rani, one of my favorite little local restaurants that offers some cool outdoor seating. Everyone seemed to enjoy what they ate! And we took a picture there especially for Ana, but I’ll share it with all of you here. This is me, Debi and Annie:

photoThey were trying to get Max to finish his macaroni and cheese so I suggested that we could go get ice cream if he took a few more bites 😉 So that’s what we did next. We went to Sucre which is this amazing dessert shop that sells these beautiful gourmet desserts that you almost don’t want to eat because they look like art. But they also have delicious gellato and sorbet. I got the blueberry peach sorbet which was amazing, both of the boys got rasberry sorbet, Annie got the triple chocolate gellato, and Rich and Debi split the cafe au lait gellato. It all looked delicious and I think we all sampled each others 🙂 After that we just walked around Magazine street for awhile. Debi wanted to see my office and I was excited to show it off, so we went and saw that. And then we headed back to the hotel and Debi, Rich and I had a couple of drinks while the kids swam in the pool. And then it was done. And it was just perfect! I seriously couldn’t have asked for a better time!!

I feel refreshed now from this visit. I think it’s just what I needed! Thanks Debi 🙂 I’m actually looking forward to putting up some blog posts in the next few days. I have a review coming up for a tour on Thursday, I should also have a review up for Bone, definitely another Bad Bloggers post, and I have to do my RIP IV post!!!!! Yay for RIP!!! So I’ll see everyone soon!!

18 Responses

  1. I wish I could have been there! Sounds like a great time was had by all.

  2. You guys did some great stuff! Sounds like you had the amazing time to end all amazing times.

  3. you should have named this post “Chris and Debi’s Excellent Adventure”!! wow.. it’s safe to say y’all had a wonderful visit!!!!! can’t wait to see more pictures

  4. I’m so happy for y’all!!! You sound like an awesome host Chris. It makes me want to go to New Orleans even more! (I lurve cemetaries.)

  5. Sounds like you both had a fabulous time. Debi and her family come across as wonderful people and I am glad to follow her blog.

  6. Aw, it sounds like you guys had an awesome time. I’m so jealous!

  7. Oh, wow. Hearing you talk about all those places brought back a lot of memories! I visited New Orleans several years ago and fell in love. I’d love to make it back one day, soo. I’m glad you had a good time!

    cjh

  8. So glad you guys had a good time! I am so jealous! I haven’t met a book blogger yet, but one of these days I am determined to. 🙂

  9. I expected nothing less than a wonderful summation of your time together and you provided that in spades. Thanks Chris, I for one appreciate knowing that you all had such a great time together. I look forward to seeing more of the pics!

  10. I love that photo!!! Sounds like an absolute blast. You can tell just by looking at her that she would be that type of person. I”m so glad that you all had such a great time!!!Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  11. I’m totally jealous that you guys had such an awesome time together! What fun 🙂

  12. What a fantastic visit!!!

  13. Thanks for all the comments everyone!! It really was an amazing time!! I wish I could meet each and everyone of you. We really need to make that happen one of these days!!! I just can’t stop thinking about how great of a time I had with Debi. Damn she’s just a great person! I want another group hug from her whole family!!

  14. Sounds like and incredibly fun time was had by all!

  15. “we headed back uptown to eat at Cafe Rani”

    Leave it to me to manage to read that whole line as “It started raining, yay!”

    That sounds like an absolutely fantastic visit, though, Chris! The fun and excitement just radiates from your post. (And I envy the whole lot of you.) And… I don’t really have a whole lot to say except “EEEEEEEEEEE! You and Debi and family got to meet! That is so cool! And I’m so happy you all had such a fantastic time!”

    So consider that said. ^-~

  16. “we headed back uptown to eat at Cafe Rani”

    Leave it to me to manage to read that whole line as “It started raining, yay!”

    That sounds like an absolutely fantastic visit, though, Chris! The fun and excitement just radiates from your post. (And I envy the whole lot of you.) And… I don’t really have a whole lot to say except “EEEEEEEEEEE! You and Debi and family got to meet! That is so cool! And I’m so happy you all had such a fantastic time!”

    So consider that said. ^-~

    (Aaah! Silly mouse doing stuff! Sorry if this ends up double-posting, Chris.)

  17. How fun to meet them and spend a little time getting to know each other! This blogging world is amazing, with friends far and near. How nice to have a chance to meet face to face.

  18. Shit. You have me bawling here. Seriously. Yes, because of the incredibly sweet things you said about us. But even more because I’m missing you sooooo much!!!! We had an incredible vacation, but no question, hanging with you was by far my favorite part of it all!!!!!!!! Love you!!!!

Leave a Reply

