The Sunday Salon – Bitching About Good Stuff

Because sometimes you just need to bitch even about good stuff. I have to say this first. I’m not a complainer. Though you would never know that if you read this blog. I’m actually a really laid back, take it easy kind of guy, but this is my place to vent when I am feeling stressed. So unfortunately, you all see this side of me more than people who know me face to face do. Sorry about that :/

I’m a firm believer that all stress is stressful. Whether it’s good stress or bad stress, it wears you down and we all need to be mindful of that. I’ve had lots of good stress lately and I’m very tired and achy due to that right now, but I’m also extremely excited and thankful. It’s an odd mix of emotion. I’m moving into my new office for my private practice! I painted the walls all day today and then shopped more than a man ever should shop. I am sore. Very sore. I hate to see how I feel tomorrow! Sadly, I’m going to need to paint more tomorrow as I bought cheap rollers and the paint streaked :/ Oh well, shit happens.

The paint is a really great color. It’s a Laura Ashley color called Old Gold #5 and I love it! It’s a very warm color and it’s just beautiful with the lamps. I can’t wait to show everyone pictures. I plan on bringing the camera tomorrow so that I after I finish painting, and putting the furniture that I bought together, I can show you all some of it! I’m really pleased so far. Today I bought two chairs from Pier One, a beautiful table from World Market, two end tables from World Market, matching floor lamps and table lamps from Lowes, an incredible lamp from Thailand that I found at Christian Street Furniture, and a mini fridge (but in black) and iPod player from Target! Yeah…spent a lot of money (my credit card company loves me), but there’s still more that needs to be spent. I need to move in my bookshelves still (the all important bookshelves!) and I still need to buy a desk and a sofa. I’m thinking of going with a desk from World Market and I still haven’t found a sofa that I’m in love with….

Aside from that, I’m anxiously awaiting Debi and her family! Though I’m nervous now too because there’s tropical storm Ana in the Atlantic that’s looking like it’s heading towards us and it looks like it’s scheduled to make landfall right about when Debi gets here! Personally I think it’s karma. I kept harassing Ana (Nymeth) to come over seas when Debi came down here and visit with us. Now…is it just coincidence that a tropical storm named “ANA” is scheduled to arrive from overseas on the same day as Debi gets here?? I think not πŸ˜‰ Anyways…keep an eye on the tropics Debi 😦

I’ve finished a book! And it’s for Nerds Heart YA! On August 15th, halfway through the month, I finished my second book of the month, My Most Excellent Year. So with that, it looks like I’ll probably read about 4 books this month :p Oh well, beats last month by one. I really REALLY liked it! I thought it was a little too Leave it to Beaver at times, but aside from that, it was excellent. My review will be up shortly!

I also had a reply from Allison Burnett, author of Undiscovered Gyrl, on my review of her book! Go check it out! I just loved her response. I already thought that everyone should read that book, but now that she’s made the comment that she has, I think so even more. There’s some great discussion going on in the comments over there. In fact, if you’d like to read Undiscovered Gyrl, let me know in the comments and I’ll draw a name to win a copy! See, I was sent an ARC and had pre-ordered a copy as well, so now I have two copies :p And someone else should read it as well as me! So just let me know if you want to read it. As always, my giveaways are open to everyone worldwide.

Hope everyone’s having a great weekend! I may continue to be a stranger for a few more days unfortunately while I continued to get settled in, but I’ll be back soon, I promise. I miss everyone!!!

25 Responses

  1. I’d love to read the book! Count me in on the giveaway! πŸ™‚

  2. I can’t believe you are actually getting you own practice together. You know…that just sounds so grown-up!! I can’t wait to see pictures of your office. I love World Market!!

    I had to laugh about Tropical Storm Ana. I saw it on the news last night. My daughter’s name is Ana. And she is definitely a tropical storm!! Tell Debi and Co. I said Hi!

  3. LOL! As soon as you mentioned hurricane Ana, I thought of Nymeth, and then in your next line…

  4. well this is a case of good news bad news.. sheesh.. I hadn’t heard about “Ana” but I will be sure to watch the news for it and hope to heck it misses your area so you can have a great visit with Debi and her family.

    Your own practice.. so.. well.. did you have cards made up? and if so why haven’t we seen one of these professional cards? Will you still have your other job for a while until you have built up some clients? That would most likely be the smart thing to do but it would mean “we” wouldn’t have you very much and I haven’t been “happy” with you gone so much.. I love seeing you around, be it here or commenting on blogs or twitter.. so I hope you don’t get too overwhelmed.. in your line of work, you need “outlets” everybit as much as your patients ..maybe more!.. so you take care of yourself baby boy. I am looking forward to seeing your office! Wish I lived closer, I’d be using it! :o)
    btw: I got a piece of furniture myself.. it’s a loveseat that opens to a twin bed… so now if you are ever in this area you have a place you can stay at! I just didn’t want to offer “the floor”.. but now it’s cool lol.

  5. Congratulations and good luck with setting up the new practice…very exciting! And I know how addictive furniture shopping can be! Hope if all goes well.

  6. You should never underestimate the power of coincidence πŸ˜‰ In all seriousness now, I really hope the storm doesn’t get too bad!

    I’m looking forward to those pictures of your office. When’s the grand opening? Like Stephanie was saying, you’re all grown up now, and we’re proud πŸ˜€ (Says the younger adopted sister :P)

    Oh, and I think you’re totally right that even good stress IS stress. Sometimes I get as anxious about good things as I do about bad ones, lol.

  7. No wonder you haven’t been around. Busy sounds like a major understatement! And you’re so right…even “good” stress is stress, and it takes a toll. But wow…HOW EXCITING!!!! Things are really coming together! You will show off your office while we’re there, won’t you?

    When I first heard about tropical storm Ana, I laughed so hard. Not that it’s funny in the least, of course! But all I could think was that this was my answer to me telling myself and telling Rich 150 times, “The only thing that could make this trip better would be if Ana came to New Orleans, too.” OKAY, YOU STUPID STORM GODS…THIS IS SO NOT WHAT I MEANT!!!! I’m still hoping she falls apart or decides to head off in a direction where no one will be majorly affected. If we have to miss meeting you, I’ll be so incredibly sad!!! 😦 But what I obviously want more than anything is for everyone down there to be safe! (And Rich already promised that if we don’t get to meet you now, we’ll come down in January!)

  8. I’m so happy and impressed that you are opening your own practice, Chris! Will it be patients referred from the hospital that you are working at now? Will it be part-time at first? Or will other doctors refer patients to you? I can hardly wait to see pictures of your office! The Laura Ashley paint sounds gorgeous. I think I relaxed while I read the colour! lol

    I saw on the news this morning about TS Ana! One way or another Ana was meant to be there! (Are you listening, Ana?? πŸ˜› ) I hope Debi can make it and you have a fab visit. And as for 3 or 4 books read – when everything is done, you’ll be back to reading and I know you’ll pass me in books read this year! lol

    I’d like to have a copy of the book to read, so please enter me in the draw!

    PS you have sent your weather up here. We’re so HOT! If ever you want to come up for a visit, August is a good month, you won’t be homesick! lol

  9. Like everyone else, congrats on your new practice. That’s very exciting, and yes, a good stress indeed! I know taking care of advertising, building up clients, etc. takes time, patience, and love. How does the insurance companies work in LA? I know here in FL it takes years before they even recognize you as a possibility. Curious if that’s a state decision or nation one.

    Upon waking up this morning, I heard about the three storms brewing in the waters. I hope that TSAna dissipates just like TSB and TSC.

  10. Congrats on setting up the practice! As for Hurricane “Nymeth”, she may be powerful, but I have to believe she’s gentle, too. I so had to laugh out loud when I read about this coincidence! Hope that the weather cooperates for a great touring with Debi and fam.
    And yes, I want that book! Your comment thingy captures my email, right? πŸ™‚

  11. Old Gold sounds really lovely. In our old house I painted most of the walls some shade of yellow and I loved it, but we’re in a rental now so it’s hospital white. Yuck!

    And if it makes you feel any better, last night on the 15th I finished my first book of the month. Isn’t looking good…I’m trying not to think about it so it doesn’t stress me out. I’ve heard of “good” stress, but I don’t think it really exists. πŸ˜›

  12. Hey, Chris, bitching about the good stuff is also called bragging and you deserve a ton of it! You’ve come along way and you deserve to be proud of it.

    Have a great visit and I hope the weather minds its manners.

    cjh

  13. Congratulations on your new office and private practice – that’s awesome! Decorating (or redecorating) is exhausting, so you have my sympathies.

  14. You can count me in for the book giveaway, Chris, but EEEEEEEEE! You’re getting closer to having your private practice! *glomp* I know it’s a lot of stress to set up right now (if mostly because you’ve just told us why and how much), but I’m sure it’ll be totally worth it in the end. ^-^ *huggles* Congrats on that and much, much luck wished with it! You’ve always sounded so excited about it that I hope it’ll be everything you dreamed it’d be and then some.

    *just managed to pull a muscle* Ow.

    And your book reading count is going up! (Even if that ends up being only one book, that’s still a book more. Don’t feel bad about it and about life interfering with your reading abilities. Please?)

    I hope you and Debi (and families) will have a fantastic visit! You focus on settling in and relaxing when you can, Chris! We’ll be here when you get back. ^-^

  15. You chose some gorgeous stuff for your office! It sounds like it’s going to be a really warm, welcoming place. Good luck with the rest of the preparations, and have fun with Debi and her family! I hope the storm doesn’t give you grief.

    (And no need to enter me in the giveaway. I’ve got too many TBRs as it is).

  16. Congratulations on the practice/office/shopping/etc! that is so exciting. Hope the hurricane(s) don’t bother you. Or the whole of LA, as i don’t feel like giving my apt a big clean for an invasion of my relatives. And there better be NO problems during Labor Day weekend as i’m finally getting some time off to head down to Breaux Bridge, eat some Cajun food and check out a ULL game!

  17. Congratulations! I can’t wait to see the photos. Are you going to continue working at the hospital as you build up you client list? Have a great visit with Debi, I’m sure Ana will pass right by.

  18. Austenfan, You’ve got it!

    Steph, Thanks πŸ™‚ I feel all grown up but at the same time I still feel like a big freaking kid and terribly intimidated by all of the therapists who are around me. lol. I feel like they’re all big whigs (because they are) and I’m just little old me :/ My mom’s name is Camille so we give her a rough time all the time during hurricane season :p

    Bart, Seriously…leave it to Ana :p

    Deslily, Are you getting slammed by Claudette right now?? I don’t know where Vero beach is exactly…is that on the Atlantic side or the gulf side? I do have cards made up for my private practice!! I’m going to have to mail you a few of them πŸ™‚ I like them…they’re green and have a tree on them πŸ™‚ And yay!! You got a bed for me to sleep on πŸ™‚ LOL. Next time I need a getaway, you’re my place to come. We can go book shopping and maybe go spend a day at the beach. That sounds so good to me right now! It would be so great to meet you Pat!!

    Mariel, It really can be addicting furniture shopping!! It’s the first time that I’ve ever really done it. I usually cannot STAND shopping, but this is a different story…I had to make myself stop, lol. Very happy with everything so far!!

    Nymeth, It’s looking like we’ll be ok…right now they’re predicting it to hit us :/ But it looks like it’ll come as a depression, not a tropical storm or a hurricane. I had to laugh my ass off though when I saw that Ana was coming to New Orleans at the same time as Debi though, LOL!! I’m thinking that the grand opening of the office will be around September first because I still have a LOT to do!! But it shall get done. Like I told Steph, it’s making me feel grown up too, but I still feel like a big kid and very intimidated by all of the other therapists around me :p They’re all really super nice though!

    Debi, Oh, so you actually want to see?? LOL. Seriously, I was putting everything together and thinking “I really want to show Debi my office when she gets here!!” But then started thinking that this was your vacation and I don’t want to bore you all with that :p LOL. I should’ve known better though. Don’t worry, I couldn’t stop laughing either when I heard about tropical storm Ana..same spelling and everything! Cracks me up. I really hope to god that the thing doesn’t come here, but it’s looking like it will. Good news is, they’re saying that it may break up into just a tropical disturbance and we’d just get some rain if anything at all!! I don’t think I can wait all the way until January to see you all now! LOL…though of course I would if I had to :p

    Susan, Thanks!!! No, it won’t be patients from the hospital. Sadly, we can’t refer from the hospital over to the private practice. They don’t allow it. Most of my patients will come by word of mouth. I’ve given other therapists cards. Most people here don’t see adolescents and that’s who I want to work with, so I have a feeling I’ll get a decent amount of business!! It’s going to stay part time for a long while. I’m evening supervisor at the hospital, so I’m staying full time there and just seeing patients in the building next door when I’m not working. So it’ll be like 60 hour weeks :/ I’m really hoping that Ana stays away for once in my life, lol. I really want Debi to come down here!!! Now if the REAL Ana would like to come down, I’d love it πŸ˜€ And as for coming to visit you, it’s already on my list πŸ™‚ But it would be during a cold month!!! I hate the heat so much!! I would love to see snow!!

  19. Christina, Thanks!!! Luckily, I’m not on insurance panels yet! So I don’t have to deal with that. I actually don’t have my licensure yet…I’m going through my supervision to get my licensure. So I can’t accept insurance. It has to be cash, or a check made out to my supervisor. My supervisor just registered with the insurance companies though and it’s really not bad at all!! He registered with all of the big companies about 2 months ago and he’s already getting referrals. Though honestly, most of the therapists down here don’t take insurance…it’s cash only. And it works!

    Care, Hah!!! Hurricane Nymeth! You just cracked me up πŸ˜€ You know, I can’t help but think of TS Ana as a friendly storm whenever I see it, lol. Just because of how sweet of a person Ana is πŸ™‚ And I’ve got you entered in the giveaway!!

    Trish, I’m sorry you’re surrounded by hospital white 😦 I hate that color. That was the color of the walls in this office when I first rented it and I knew right away I was going to have to paint it. The Old Gold color isn’t really yellow…it’s more brown, but it does have some slight yellow undertones. A friend of mine has her office painted this gorgeous warm yellow though and I just love it!! With the dark furniture and some red accents…it’s beautiful! I’m sure your house was gorgeous too! Yeah, I don’t know if good stress really exists either, but I at least like to pretend it does :p I like to rationalize things to make them better in my head :p

    CJ, Well thank you very much my dear friend πŸ™‚ I’m not used to bragging, so I’ll just call it bitching, lol. You always put a smile on my face CJ and I really appreciate that! I hope the weather behaves itself too 😦 New Orleans is a place that’s meant to be seen from the outside and it would be ashame to have to spend the whole trip indoors 😦

    Alyce, Thanks!! I know!! I’m so sore it’s crazy! I really wasn’t expecting that. But I guess that from painting a whole room and lifting furniture and all that stuff I managed to end up like this :/ Oh well, it’ll pay off in the end!

    Shanra, My dear Shanra! It really will be worth it in the end, but I need to be reminded of that sometimes, LOL. I can’t wait to just get started. I’m so damn impatient. I want the paint to be finished NOW, I want the furniture to be built NOW, I want my sofa picked out NOW…you get the picture πŸ˜‰ I really am excited about it now that it’s a reality! Oh no! Hope your muscle is ok 😦 I love your optimistic point of view!! Even if it’s only by one book, my book count is indeed going up! Thanks for all of the positive thoughts and advice Shanra πŸ™‚ Hugs right back to you!

    Memory, Thanks! That’s what I was going for…I wanted the furniture and the walls and everything just to be really warm. I’m going to have a lot of hyper kids, so I want them mellowed out a little bit as soon as they walk through the door! LOL I feel you on the too many TBRs!

    Melanie, I hope they don’t either! You’re coming down here? Well, to Breaux Bridge at least? Awesome!! You should drive a couple more hours and come visit me πŸ˜‰ And bring some of that cajun food! I can’t wait for college football!!!! So freaking excited!!

    Gavin, Thanks so much! I’ll still be working at the hospital for sure! My private practice will be on the side. So I’ll be full time at the hospital as the evening supervisor and probably about 15 hours per week in private practice. That’s the ideal at least! We will indeed have a great time!

  20. Congrats on your own place! That’s a huge step, and really exciting for you! Also, I’m totally jealous that you get to hang out with debi. Damn, you guys are going to have fun, as long as tropical storm Ana doesn’t show up πŸ™‚

  21. Well no wonder you haven’t not been playing darts lately…you’re so busy!

    It sounds lovely. And so grown-up. πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to see the pictures!

  22. All good things come to those who wait, Chris. ^-~ But I know the feeling, and I don’t blame you for wanting it all now. I’d probably feel the exact same in your shoes! Soon, very soon!

    (My muscle is fine now, thank you. ^-^ I just twisted myself wrong. I’m not the most agile creature out there.)

    You’re going to keep your job at the hospital too? I didn’t realise this. Chris, you are a hero, you know that?

  23. I’m so looking forward to seeing those pictures, Chris, and congrats on your new office digs! You’re obviously deservedly excited and I am excited for you. And yes, good stress can sometimes where you down even more than bad stress. Here’s hoping that as the decoration comes to completion that you’ll be able to really nest in there and have a relaxing, less-stress environment.

    Oh, and ANA? Be careful what you wish for, eh? Fingers crossed and prayers prayed for a merciful hurricane season.

  24. I know the feeling about good stuff getting you down! I’ve been traveling a lot, to see family and friends, and moving all at once. So now I’m just an exhausted mess who never wants to leave her bed again. End of story. Can’t wait to see pictures of your new office!

  25. I can’t wait to see your review of My Most Excellent Year! I just picked it from the library so I hope to get to it soon.

Leave a Reply

