Can I Do A Sunday Salon On Monday?

Technically I guess I can’t because that would be impossible…so we’ll do a Monday Salon…how’s that sound? I just felt like blogging but don’t really have much to say. So I’ll just chat your ear off. Feel free to ignore this.

2009Neil Gaiman won the freaking Hugo award for The Graveyard Book!!!! I’m so happy for him. He deserves all the acclaim he’s gotten for that book and then some. I loved his twitter response to having won…cracked me up:

“Fuck! It won!”

Followed by:

“Also the Hugo is really heavy this year. Also fuck!”

Not quite as good as when he won the Newbery, but still quite entertaining :p

News part 2 is that Debi is coming to freaking see me and I’m more freaking excited about this than Neil Gaiman winning the freaking Hugo! I’ve never met a blogger friend before, and let me tell you that Debi is so much more than just a “blogging friend”. As are so many of you. She can’t get down here soon enough. And she’s bringing Rich and Annie and Gray and Max too! I’m so excited. Too bad Baker has to stay home 😦 I just wish that everyone could come here and we could have one big book blogger party. I say we have a book blogging convention in Portugal very soon πŸ˜‰ What say you all?

News part 3 comes from Peter Beagle’s email newsletter. I had heard awhile ago that they were trying to make The Last Unicorn into a graphic novel. Well it looks like it’s going to happen now! But not only are they making The Last Unicorn into a graphic novel, but they’re also going to do A Fine and Private Place!!!! That is such an amazing book. Nymeth gave it to me as a gift last year and I read it in January and fell in love with it! I seriously think that it’s going to be my new favorite GN :p

And finally, for News part 4: We have a date for the October Read-a-Thon! The Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-A Thon will be held on October 24th/25th..mark your calendars!


14 Responses

  1. I say HELL YEAH. You can all camp in my backyard πŸ˜€

  2. how great that you are going to meet Debi and her family!!! I have met a few people from the computer and have never been disappointed, and I know you won’t be either!
    Take Pictures!!!!

  3. I read how excited Debi was and the excitement has flowed over here. I hope you have a fabulous time in New Orleans.

  4. Yay for meeting blogger friends.

    Hey, I read Voodoo Dreams a couple of days ago (will post review in a few weeks, I’m *so* behind) and it was incredible. I know that you and Vivienne have read and reviewed Voodoo Season, so I can’t wait to get my hands on that one and begin reading it. Especially if it was anything like Dreams.

    Cheers.

  5. I can’t find Voodoo Dreams or season to read yet! lol They are top of my list…..I’m so excited for both of you that you get to meet! and I’ll come camp in Nymeth’s backyard anytime! we’ll have to bring her lots of books that she can’t get over there πŸ˜€

    I hope you and Debi have a fabulous time. I regret not being able to meet the bloggers in London that I had tentatively arranged to meet, due to unexpected Xmas things. Next time I’m anywhere a blogging friend is, I’m going to meet them! And I am going to get to New Orleans one day, Chris!

    And wow for Neil πŸ˜€

  6. I’m so freakin’ giddy I can hardly stand it!!!! I swear I can’t think about anything else!!! My mom called this morning to tell me they would watch Baker while we were gone, and I told her we were now going to New Orleans, too. I told her I was really excited because I was going to meet one of my blogging friends in person. And she said, “You’re going to get to meet Chris?!!” LOL…even my mom knows all about you!

    And that is definitely one camp-out I wouldn’t miss for the world!!!

  7. Sweet news about the read-a-thon. I definitely want to do some R.I.P. tie in, especially since it didn’t happen with Once Upon a Time.

    I’m so jealous of you getting to meet Debi and her family. I’m thrilled for you as well. You guys are all going to have so much fun!

    I was really pleased that Gaiman won the Hugo. Not that there weren’t other great books that it was up against, but The Graveyard Book is one very special book and it really deserved the honor in my opinion.

  8. I really need to read The Graveyard Book. And every other book published by Gaiman besides American Gods and Stardust, the only two I’ve ever read. I think next up is Neverwhere….

  9. I’m up for at trip to Portugal! Have so much fun!

  10. Awesome news about The Last Unicorn as a graphic novel, that would be amazing! I hope Peter gets to do the artwork too. Have fun with Debi and Annie and I would so go and stay in Nymeth’s back garden! One day I will get out to New Orleans… Thanks for the read-a-thon dates.

  11. I saw those Neil Gaiman tweets. Pretty funny. Maybe I should read The Graveyard Book, next.

  12. You can do a salon post any day you please. I’ve done Wahoo on the Wrong Day, many times.

    I’m all for a get-together in Portugal. I’ve still got my husband’s pic of the countryside up as my desktop background. It’s a beautiful place.

    Very cool about Debi’s visit!

    Also, thanks to you and Bart for the response to my question. I’ll try to resubscribe to his blog, tomorrow. You’ve given him so many Bad Blogger points that I’m determined to figure out how to read his reviews!!!!

  13. So Cool you get to meet Debi. I’m totally jealous!! I did see that Gaiman won the Hugo. Totally deserved it too!

  14. That’s exciting about meeting Debi! I got to meet a blogger friend when I was in Montreal for WorldCon, and it was the highlight of my weekend. πŸ™‚

    I was very excited when Neil Gaiman won the Hugo! I was lucky enough to be there, and it was funny – he went up to the lectern and said something like – “First off, no swearing.” He seemed totally surprised that he won, too – but I of course wasn’t. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

