Bad Bloggers 7/13/09

Hey everyone! Ok…so I’m actually going to host this event like I’m supposed to every week. Sorry I haven’t been doing a regular post for everyone to link to guys! But if you are participating in Bad Bloggers!, please feel free to leave a link to your post in the comments. As always, if you want more details on what Bad Bloggers is, you can click on the Bad Bloggers icon in my sidebar. That’ll bring you to a link in my old blog explaining all! And here we go!

Books For Review

6

Books Mooched

1

Books Bought

2345

badbloggers

1. The Rapture by Liz Jensen – I don’t even remember being asked to review this one or requesting it, but it sounds damn good! And I love that cover, isn’t it cool?? It’s about a psychiatrist and her patient who’s been charged with murder and seems to have some sort of paranormal/psychic twist to it. Sounds good! Not sure if it’s YA or LitFic, but if I had to guess by the cover, I’d guess YA.

2. Boy Girl Boy by Ron Koertge – I just found this one one day on Amazon on one of those “If you liked this” lists and it sounded really cool! So I added it to my wishlist and now here it is!

3. Codependent No More by Melanie Beattie – Don’t think many people will be interested in this book or the next one…they’re just books that I’ll use for counseling with my clients.

4. Get Out of Your Mind and Into Your Life by Steven C. Hayes – Another book that I’ll use for counseling. This one is actually really cool and really good though. It’s a sort of therapy for a more advanced person, or high functioning person, and I really like it. The book is reasonably priced and is actually a workbook, so if you think you might be able to benefit from the title, I highly suggest you pick it up! It’s all about our own thoughts being our worst enemy and learning to recognize those thoughts and committ to changing them…or at least acknowledging them! Ok…I’m sounding like my job now :p Feel free to ignore me…

5. Zeitoun by Dave Eggers – I’m so excited about this book and so sad about it. Amazon recommended me this one too. I loved the cover as soon as I saw it and knew instantly that it was about New Orleans just because of the cover. Then I saw that it was Dave Eggers writing about New Orleans…and it’s about Katrina. A non-fic story of a family that lives down here. I was sad about it because Dave Eggers came to one of my favorite independent bookstores on Thursday to tour it…and I didn’t get to go meet him 😦 Stupid work….

6. Crash Into Me by Albert Borris – This one is The Story Siren’s fault. She wrote about it awhile ago and I thought it sounded interesting. It’s a YA book about a group of four kids that all survived suicide and how they go on. I do have to say that I hate that ridiculos fake tattoo on the guys arm and it better have some relevance in the book or else I’ll call shenanigans on them for putting that on the cover….I’m just saying….

11 Responses

  1. I got a copy of The Rapture last week, had no recollection of requesting it either. But I was up all night reading it! Very engaging story, not YA though – I would say it’s more of a psychological/science/thriller.

  2. I’m very interested in finding out that the “get out of your mind” book is useful..thanks for the recommendation.

  3. Joanne, Ooooh, glad to hear it’s so good!! I can’t wait to read it now 😀 I’m thinking that maybe it came from Shelf Awareness?

    Melanie, Awesome!! I’m glad that someone took my recommendation! I hope more people do.

  4. Haven’t heard about Zeitoun before. I’ve been too preoccupied with waiting for Wild Things. I love Eggers’ books, especially the ones that deliver a message, like What is the What (about the Lost Boys of Sudan). This, being about Katrian, is another of the kind. Just added it to the wishlisth, thanks.

  5. When I first heard of Zeitoun I immediately thought of you. It sounds like it will be amazing, but also very sad. I’m sorry you didn’t get to meet Dave Eggers, btw 😦

    Crash Into Me sounds good, but yeah, I’m not crazy about that cover.

  6. I hate admitting it, but I could probably use #4 there. And if you seriously do recommend it, I might just have to pick it up. You’ve also left me wanting both Zeitoun and Crash Into Me (despite its dorky cover).

    I just awarded a few points, too. Here. But I’ve actually been pretty darn good lately. 😀

  7. You have some great books on your list Chris. I received The Rapture too and thought the premise sounded really great!! Enjoy!

  8. Claire, I’m DYING for The Wild Things to come out!! I just know that it’s going to be a fantastic book! This will actually be my first Eggers book! So it makes it that much better 🙂

    Nymeth, Not only did I miss him once, but twice now!! This Thursday is a different appearance! Technically I could make it because he’s going to be there at 2 and I go into work at 3…but then I’d be late :/ I may try to figure something out…

    Debi, It really is a great book Debi! I’m super impressed by it and I’ve actually been using it for myself. I’d highly recommend it. It would be great to do just a couple of the exercises every day. Zeitoun and Crash Into Me both look great!

    Staci, The Rapture really does sound cool..I’m thinking I’m going to be digging into it soon!

  9. I stalled on Bad Bloggers, too. I have been to the library, but didn’t award any points. I will have to get back on track with that! Enjoy your books!

    Did you finish THE BOOK THIEF? How are you liking GENERATION X? That was my second Coupland read. I don’t think I loved it, but it was several years ago now and I can hardly recall what happened. I keep thinking I should reread it, but we all know how hard it is to reread!

    I have the Sarah Waters you are reading, too. I should really get around to reading more of her…

  10. I got The Rapture, too. I’m pretty sure it’s a Shelf Awareness book.

  11. I was totally nosy about that codependent book until I saw you use it for counseling. 🙂 lol

Leave a Reply

