Blargy Blarg Blarg

Weird title for a post, I know…but it’s about how I feel right now. This week has been rough. I had a three day migraine from Sunday through Tuesday, a break yesterday, and then another headache today. What am I doing wrong??? On top of that, I think I’m getting sick too…my entire body feels worn out and just tired. So I’m home early from work today and in bed already.

Along with physically feeling bad comes mentally not being all there. Reading has suffered lately. I’m reading Fingersmith and it’s seriously one of the best books I’ve read in a long time. But I still can’t read more than like 30 pages a night. I did get to “the big twist” last night though and I have to say that I saw it coming somewhat…just not how it happened. I think it may have been because I knew there WAS a twist coming so I had thought of every possiblity. It was still a fantastic twist and I’ve heard there are many more to come! Really enjoying this one.

I’m also reading The Book Thief right now and I think it’s going to be a did not finish for me right now. I just can’t get into that book for the life of me and I don’t know why. I know everyone’s loved it so much. I’ll have to just put it aside and I’ll pick it up again at a later time. I don’t want to dismiss a good book based on bad timing.

Sorry I haven’t responded to any comments that you guys have left! I’ve been kind of out of sorts lately. Hoping I feel better soon though and I’ll be back to normal. Happy reading everyone!

24 Responses

  1. I’m sorry you’re migrainy, too. I’ve had a rough week. Maybe there’s something in the air because I sure can’t figure out what’s triggering mine but they’ve been really intense, this week. I’m lucky if I can get the pain under control for a matter of hours. Hope you feel better soon!!!!

    Oh, and don’t worry about The Book Thief. It’s got to be the timing. I think you’ll get into it when the moment is right.

  2. Sorry Chris! I’ve had auras every day this week, but have been able to ward them off for the most part. I’m seriously impressed that you can still read, but I know how gut-wrenching it can be to not get to touch those books! All my best on the migraines. I hope you get feeling better soon.

  3. That’s awful, Chris. I hope you feel better soon. Don’t worry about the comments. We all just want you to feel better.

  4. Sending healthy thoughts your way. I hope the rest and upcoming weekend do you some good.

    πŸ™‚

  5. I really hope you feel better soon, Chris 😦

    And sorry to have ruined your reading experience somewhat with all that talk of a twist πŸ˜› I was thinking of every possibility too and I’d never considered that one, but then again I’m notoriously dim when it comes to these things, lol.

    The Book Thief does take a while to get into, but it sounds like now is not the moment for you. You’ll have to try again someday, though!

  6. really sorry you are having so many migraines! I’ve had some but not like yours.. I do wonder why they’ve never found something that relieves migraines

  7. I do hope you feel better soon. It must be really bringing you down. I love to see what you have been reading and I have read quite a few you recommended, so can’t wait to see you back in action.

  8. Oh, you dear thing. *sends lots of hugs and well-wishes* You just take care of yourself, hun. It souns like maybe it’s a case of bad timing all around for you. 😦 I’m sorry you’ve been having such an utterly crummy week and the migraines came back so.

  9. How’s your weather been down there? It could be what’s behind the migraines… not that you can do anything about the weather. I hope whatever is triggering them goes away, soon.

    The Book Thief takes some reading to get into. At least it did for me but I’m very glad I kept going with it. However, what with the headaches and stuff, it may not be the right time for you to read it.

    cjh

  10. Sorry that you’re having such a rough week. 😦 My dad gave up on The Book Thief too, and I think it was b/c he couldn’t devote large enough chunks of time to it – it has a very unique style and takes a while to get into. Put it aside now (before you start hating it!) and come back to it at a later date … it’s sure to be better then.

    I’m sending you a virtual cup of tea and bowl of soup – hope you’re feeling better soon.

  11. Yeah, I have a cold, so I hear you on the being sick thing!

    How are you making out with THE BOOK THIEF?

  12. I hope next week is better! I’m in a bit of a reading slump myself, so I’m just playing more with my niece. πŸ™‚ *hugs*

  13. Hope you’re feeling better Chris.

    I didn’t manage to get into The Book Thief either.

  14. Stop apologizing! And just start feeling better, okay? Yeah, if only it were so easy as good wishes, huh? But I sincerely hope it happens soon, dear friend! May you have one fantastically incredible weekend to make up for the shitty week you had!

  15. I’m having a terrible week, too… I need some fluff reading. Fingersmith sounds so good but I think I might be heading for a YA streak to try and take my mind off things!! Hang in there! It has to get better at some point, right?

  16. 😦 I hope you feel better soon!

  17. weird so many readers get migraines huh? I can’t imagine a headache that bad. hope things get better for you.

  18. I really hope you start feeling better soon. I like the title you chose, Blarg is my normal response when I feel like crud and people constantly ask “Are you okay?”

    Sorry to hear the Book Thief isn’t working for you, but you shouldn’t feel bad because others liked it. Relax, try to feel better, and pick up something else, or even grab an old favorite to read.

  19. Migraines are the worst ever. I have a ‘neurological condition’ that causes me to have migraines every day. I take herbal supplements and vitamins daily so that I don’t get full on migraines (I classify migraines as insane sensitivity to light, extreme nausea, and of course the head aching part and sensitivity to sound.) The herbal route was recommended to me by a neurologist (pharmaceuticals generally just make me feel worse.) Let me know if you’re interested. =)

  20. and I thought it was just me going through menopause! I’ve been sick too, with the most terrible cold. I hope you feel better, Chris. We know we’re really sick when we don’t even feel like reading or posting!

  21. I hope that this comment finds you feeling better!! I wish I could help you with those horrible migraines!!

  22. Migraines suck!! I’m sorry that you are suffering.
    Anyway, I loved the Book Thief but it did take my a LONG time to get into it. I’ve heard a lot of other people say that same thing. It really is an amazing story…I hope you pick it up again sometime!

  23. I feel the same way about the Book Thief right now too. I’ll go back to it eventually (because I bought it!) but I set it aside for now.

    Feel better πŸ™‚

  24. I know how you feel. I’ve been wanting to read that book for some time now and knowing its subject matter it is just not something I’ve been in the mood for. Perhaps this winter when things are a bit more dark I’ll be in the mood.

Leave a Reply

