The Weekly Geeks Answers Post

I loved this weeks Weekly Geeks! I did my own trivia post and didn’t have a lot of players 😦 But it was still fun. Even though not many people answered, there was still a strong need to know the answers! So here are the questions and their answers along with my commentary :p

1. In the sequel to Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Speaker for the Dead, there is a sentient species that are introduced. I’m not talking about the Buggers…the other guys. What are they called? I’ll take the nickname or their real name.

The real name of the little guys were Pequininos, but they were also called Piggies since they looked like little pigs.

2. Name three books by Haruki Murakami.

Here’s a link to the Amazon search for him. I think everyone needs to read Norwegian Wood by the way!

3. Name three books by Kate DiCamillo.

Here’s a link to the Amazon search for her. Can’t wait for The Magician’s Elephant to come out!

4. Neil Gaiman wrote a novella that follows up on Shadow from his fantastic novel, American Gods. What is the name of that novella? (hint: It appeared in Fragile Things, and no you can’t go look at the table of contents in your copy of Fragile Things :p)

The Monarch of the Glen. Fantastic story!

5. How did Yukio Mishima, author of The Sound of Waves and Confessions of a Mask among other novels, die?

Seppuku, it’s a form of suicide…ritual japanese suicide. Here’s a wikipedia article on it.

6. Give me the titles of two of Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Vampire Chronicles.

The Rest Falls Away, Rises the Night, The Bleeding Dusk, When Twilight Burns, As Shadows Fade…fantastic series!

7. Who is Neil Gaiman currently dating?

Amanda Fucking Palmer!

8. What blogger wrote a trilogy that sadly remains unpublished called Kesterwood? (hint: it’s a fantasy novel)

The lovely Pat! AKA, Deslily!

9. What is the name of the evil maid in Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca?

Mrs. Danvers…I need to read that again!

10. Stephen King’s son writes under what name?

Joe Hill…and I wished I liked him more than I do 😦

11. Carl’s blog, Stainless Steel Droppings is named after what series written by which author? (2 point question!)

The Stainless Steel Rat series by Harry Harrison! It’s a really fun pulp sci-fi series.

12. What is the name of Clare and Henry’s daughter in the novel, The Time Traveler’s Wife?

Alba!

13. What is the name of Audrey Niffenegger’s new novel to be published in September?

Her Fearful Symmetry…I can’t tell you how excited I am about this one!

14. Interworld was a collaborative young adult novel by Neil Gaiman and which other author?

Michael Reeves…it was meh

15. Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean have worked on several children’s books together. Name the MOVIE that they collaborated on. And I’m not looking for Coraline by the way…

Mirrormask! And if you haven’t seen it, you should!

16. The title of my blog is taken from a quote from which Shakespeare play?

The Tempest, my favoritest of his plays!

17. Grendel, the tale of the monster from Beowulf was written by whom?

John Gardner…yuck!

18. A new version of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman: The Dream Hunters will be published soon that features art by P. Craig Russell. Who did the art for the original?

None other than the amazing Yoshitaka Amano.

19. Charles de Lint writes stories set in a fictional town. What is the name of that town?

Newford!

20. Who’s writing the novelization of Where the Wild Things Are?

David Eggers…and there’s a furry version!

21. Suzanna Clarke wrote a story in her collection, The Ladies of Grace Adieu set in a fictional city that Neil Gaiman created. What is the name of that city?

Wall..I’d like to visit there sometime.

22. Give me the names of three John Green characters.

You can read Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, or Paper Towns to find out!

23. Who is the uncommon reader in Alan Bennett’s novella of the same name?

The Queen of England, Elizabeth.

24. There are birds in Nation by Terry Pratchett that offer quite a bit of comic relief. What are the birds called?

Grandfather Birds 😀 Loved them.

25. What is the name of Bod’s guardian in Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book?

Silas! One of my favorite Gaiman characters.

26. Nic Sheff wrote a book called Tweak. It’s a memoir about growing up on methamphetamines and other drugs. His father, David Sheff, wrote a book about his son’s struggles from his point of view. What is the name of that book?

Beautiful Boy…I actually own it, but haven’t read it yet.

27. Comic Book Tattoo is a graphic novel adaptation of which artist’s songs?

Tori Amos! It’s amaaaaazing.

28. The book Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman was originally a poem written for who’s daughter? And who illustrated the book? (2 point question!)

Once again, Tori Amos and it as illustrated by Charles Vess…seriously, is there any better combination than that?

29. The Horse Boy by Rupert Isaacson is about a young boy with what disorder?

Autism, and it’s an amazing story.

30. Name 2 books that have moved on in the Nerds Heart YA tournament.

Renay just wrote a post here telling all! Please go tell her she’s not a terrible person…

So how’d you do??

9 Responses

  1. Aha! You read Grendel and didn’t enjoy it? I have it on my shelf; I found it at a thrift store. Me thought since I spent countless hours reading and writing papers about Beowulf that I would enjoy this one. Thoughts?

    I’m sure you’ve seen this, but in case you haven’t: Happy 4th!

  2. How did I do?

    I’m afraid the answer to that is on a “need to know” basis, and nobody needs to know! 😉

    Good quiz though.

  3. I didn’t even see “that question” as I knew I am rotten to the core with trivia, know you’ve read many MANY books that I have not and so I didn’t read past the first few questions..but i did see your answers…and thank you, I needed it…i barely slept last night, very upset and will call a doc tomorrow. (just not feeling good) so I needed to hear i mattered..thank you! I told you I’d be your patient if I lived near you! lol

  4. Wow I got 11, at least, ha ha. I didn’t attempt answering it before because I wasn’t terribly confident of my answers. But, wow, Pat wrote a trilogy??? Have you read it??

  5. Thanks again, Chris! This was fun.

  6. Thanks for posting the answers, Chris…this really was such a fun quiz!!! We were gone for the long weekend and I totally missed out on Nymeth’s. But whew…that’s actually a good thing, as I didn’t know many of hers at all. 😦

  7. Christina, Yeah, I wasn’t a big fan of Grendel 😦 I was really disappointed too because I absolutely loved Beouwulf! I read the Heaney translation. But Grendel just really fell flat for me…sucks 😦

    Bart, That’s how I feel about Nymeth’s quiz..that was hard!

    Deslily, 😦 I hope you’re feeling a little bit better. Did you get your doctor’s appointment? I sure wish that we could get your book out there. Like I’ve told you before, that book has stuck with me more than so many other books that I’ve read lately!! I just loved it 🙂

    Claire, She did! And it’s fantastic!! I think I’m the only blogger to get to read it and I absolutely adored it. It’s such a great story and I wish she could find someone to publish it! More people need to read it 🙂

    Nymeth, You’re quite welcome! You rocked it1

    Debi, Glad you liked it 🙂 I missed you!!! Good to see you back 🙂 Yeah, I did pretty bad at Nymeth’s too 😦

  8. Claire: well let’s face reality here.. of course Chris read the books, “Chris likes everything!”.. can’t get a safer bet than that for an opinion! LOL…

    don’t worry it’s a good thing baby boy!

  9. I didn’t realize that Gaiman had gotten a divorce. That’s really sad.

Leave a Reply

