June Wrap Up

Can you believe that we’re halfway through the year already?? I certainly can’t. I’ll have to start my Christmas shopping soon! June seemed like a really low-key month for me, but it really wasn’t too bad reading wise. That’s probably because I read a whole graphic novel series that was WONDERFUL! I’m happy to be at 63 books for the year so far too! I’m on track to hit over 100 for the first time ever in a year. Not that it’s about the numbers…it’s been a great reading year in quality so far too. So here’s what I read this month. You can click on the links for my reviews…and get a sneak peek at tomorrows review by clicking on the Lost at Sea link!

52. The Chronicles of Vladimir Tod: Eighth Grade Bites by Heather Brewer, 2007, 180 pgs., 4/5
53. Love Begins in Winter by Simon Van Booy, 2009, 256 pgs., 4/5
54. Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2004, 168 pgs., 5/5
55. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2005, 200 pgs., 5/5
56. Willow by Julia Hoban, 2009, 336 pgs., 4.5/5
57. The Dead Girls Dance by Rachel Caine, 2007, 256 pgs., 4/5
58. Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2006, 192 pgs., 5/5
59. Scott Pilgrim Gets it Together by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2007, 216 pgs., 5/5
60. Scott Pilgrim Vs. The Universe by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2009, 184 pgs., 5/5
61. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins, 2009, 391 pgs., 5/5
62. Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger, 2001, 224 pgs., 5/5
63. Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley, 2005, 160 pgs., 5/5

That’s a total of 12 books and 2,763 pages. Not too shabby. As for favorite reads, you can see that it’s hard to pick a favorite :p Though I truly truly loved Catching Fire and all of the Bryan Lee O’Malley books! Can’t pick a least favorite this month..sorry.

It’s also time to wrap up the Once Upon a Time Challenge! It seems like I read more horror than anything, but I’m still counting it as fantasy :p Just watch, I’ll end up reading all fantasy for the RIP Challenge. Anyway, here’s what I read:

1. Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary by Brandon Mull
2. The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin
3. We Never Talk About My Brother by Peter Beagle
4. The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood
5. Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist
6. Tales from Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan
7. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan
8. Glass Houses by Rachel Caine
9. Starfinder by John Marco
10. Eighth Grade Bites (Chronicles of Vladimir Tod book 1) by Heather Brewer
11. The Dead Girls Dance by Rachel Caine

My three favorites of the above books were Let The Right One In, Forest of Hands and Teeth and Glass Houses. All were fantastic books that I can see myself going back to. I was happy with mostly all of the books I read for this challenge. The only one that I wasn’t nuts about was George R.R. Martin’s The Ice Dragon which really surprised me! Once again Carl, you’ve done an absolutely amazing challenge. This is one of my favorites and it always will be. Can’t wait until RIP IV!! 4??? Really?? That’s crazy, huh??

10 Responses

  1. If you read 63 in the first six months I think you’ll definitely reach 100! Go Chris!

    I so want to read Let The Right One In for RIP. Please kick me if I don’t 😛

  2. You know what I think I’m most jealous of? The amount of 5/5’s you had!!! That was one quality month…good for you!

  3. I’m always amazed at how much you enjoy the books you read! I wish I could manage that, but somehow I always seem to pick up books that I’m either indifferent to or just rather like.

  4. Nymeth, I’m thinking that I’ll hit 100 books too 😉 At least I hope I do! Consider yourself kicked! If you don’t read it that is 😉 You’d love that book, I swear!

    Debi, :p I just like everything I read, lol.

    Memory, The thing is, I’m not much of a discerning reader :p Or maybe I am, but I just only read books that I know for sure that I’ll like. Every now and then there’s a doozy thrown in there though!

  5. What a reading month!! Only awesomeness! 😀 I can’t wait to get my car back so I can go get Scott Pilgrim, lol. Wouldn’t it be awesome if libraries had a deliver service?!

  6. P.S. I apparently use awesome too frequently. How about, wouldn’t it be wonderful if libraries had a delivery service?

  7. My library has Let The Right One In! I almost got it but remembered I was banned until I finished some review books. SAD TIMES. At least it’s there, though! 😀

  8. It looks like this is your year for the numbers Chris.. but then it should be! It’s not like you don’t have any books to choose from! *laughing*

  9. Wow, you had a great month! Look at all of those 4 and 5 ratings!

  10. Great list of books, Chris! I am officially very very far behind on my blog readings at the moment!

Leave a Reply

