The Sunday Salon and Weekly Geeks: Book Trivia!

sheckSo I haven’t done a Sunday Salon OR a Weekly Geeks post in a long time and I just loved this weeks Weekly Geeks theme, so I thought I’d join in! It’s all about putting together a book trivia quiz. So I’m all in. I’m going to spice things up a bit by giving a book away in conjunction with this one. I’m giving away my copy of A Monster’s Notes by Laurie Sheck. I just can’t get into it right now, but it is a really cool book. So I’d like someone to enjoy it! The winner of the book will be the person who gets the most questions correct. Please answer questions by clicking on the “contact me” tab on top of the blog. DO NOT leave answers in the comments, because then you probably won’t win because you’ll be giving all of your answers away :p The person with the most correct answers will win the book!! I may have a second place winner who will win a surprise book too…we’ll see. Once again, click on the contact me link to answer the questions and I’ll get your answers in my email. Here are the questions! Oh, and we’re going on honesty here…please don’t google answers!!

1. In the sequel to Orson Scott Card’s Ender’s Game, Speaker for the Dead, there is a sentient species that are introduced. I’m not talking about the Buggers…the other guys. What are they called? I’ll take the nickname or their real name.

2. Name three books by Haruki Murakami.

3. Name three books by Kate DiCamillo.

4. Neil Gaiman wrote a novella that follows up on Shadow from his fantastic novel, American Gods. What is the name of that novella? (hint: It appeared in Fragile Things, and no you can’t go look at the table of contents in your copy of Fragile Things :p)

5. How did Yukio Mishima, author of The Sound of Waves and Confessions of a Mask among other novels, die?

6. Give me the titles of two of Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Vampire Chronicles.

7. Who is Neil Gaiman currently dating?

8. What blogger wrote a trilogy that sadly remains unpublished called Kesterwood? (hint: it’s a fantasy novel)

9. What is the name of the evil maid in Daphne DuMaurier’s Rebecca?

10. Stephen King’s son writes under what name?

11. Carl’s blog, Stainless Steel Droppings is named after what series written by which author? (2 point question!)

12. What is the name of Clare and Henry’s daughter in the novel, The Time Traveler’s Wife?

13. What is the name of Audrey Niffenegger’s new novel to be published in September?

14. Interworld was a collaborative young adult novel by Neil Gaiman and which other author?

15. Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean have worked on several children’s books together. Name the MOVIE that they collaborated on. And I’m not looking for Coraline by the way…

16. The title of my blog is taken from a quote from which Shakespeare play?

17. Grendel, the tale of the monster from Beowulf was written by whom?

18. A new version of Neil Gaiman’s Sandman: The Dream Hunters will be published soon that features art by P. Craig Russell. Who did the art for the original?

19. Charles de Lint writes stories set in a fictional town. What is the name of that town?

20. Who’s writing the novelization of Where the Wild Things Are?

21. Suzanna Clarke wrote a story in her collection, The Ladies of Grace Adieu set in a fictional city that Neil Gaiman created. What is the name of that city?

22. Give me the names of three John Green characters.

23. Who is the uncommon reader in Alan Bennett’s novella of the same name?

24. There are birds in Nation by Terry Pratchett that offer quite a bit of comic relief. What are the birds called?

25. What is the name of Bod’s guardian in Neil Gaiman’s The Graveyard Book?

26. Nic Sheff wrote a book called Tweak. It’s a memoir about growing up on methamphetamines and other drugs. His father, David Sheff, wrote a book about his son’s struggles from his point of view. What is the name of that book?

27. Comic Book Tattoo is a graphic novel adaptation of which artist’s songs?

28. The book Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman was originally a poem written for who’s daughter? And who illustrated the book? (2 point question!)

29. The Horse Boy by Rupert Isaacson is about a young boy with what disorder?

30. Name 2 books that have moved on in the Nerds Heart YA tournament.

That’s all!! This was so incredibly fun to create!!! I have a feeling it’s too easy, but maybe it’s only because I made up questions that I would know the answer to :p If more than one person gets all 32 possible points, we’ll do a drawing for A Monster’s Notes!

11 Responses

  1. That was easy AND fun 😀 I didn’t get them all, but almost 😛 I love this week’s WG so much…I’ll have to see if I find the time to make a quiz myself.

  2. I love that cover!! I’m not going to try to answer trivia, because I’ve been up for twenty hours and just found out my car has to go to the garage but my family’s leaving on a road trip tomorrow so I could potentially be stuck in the house for four days with almost no gluten-free food. Which means my brain isn’t really up to trivia. (Although apparently it’s up to whining.)

  3. Okay, I didn’t do all that well, but I still thought it was pretty darn fun!!!

    Eva-You’re not whining, sweetie! But I’m very, very, very sorry!

  4. I can answer about 10 of those questions, Chris! That’s not saying it would be right, either! lol And what is the Nerds Heart YA challenge??? I love your quiz, it was very interesting to see a) how much I’ve forgotten about books I’ve read, b)how much you read books I haven’t gotten to yet!!! and c) that I occasionally remember things about books that I haven’t read!!! LOL oh, and that I can get most of the Neil Gaiman ones guessed…..

  5. Well, glad Nymeth thought it was sooooo easy and fun because I don’t know a single one. Well, actually that’s maybe not true. I got discouraged so I only skimmed in the middle. 🙂 Oh wait, I can name three books by Murakami!!!

    Hope you’re having a great day, Chris.

  6. I only know a couple of them, so I’m not even going to try… BUT I just wanted to say that I’m so glad you liked Weekly Geeks this week and joined in the fun. 🙂

  7. Nymeth, Of course it was easy for you :p If only it could’ve been that easy for everyone! I swear we have the EXACT same taste in books :p

    Eva, I’m so sorry to hear about your car and everything else 😦 I hope things get better for you. Isn’t that a great cover?? It was the main reason I bought the book :p

    Debi, You did real well!!! Don’t be silly :p

    Susan, You should officially join in and answer some questions! The Nerds Heart YA tournament is one that Renay put together where we are voting slowly for the best YA books that aren’t that widely known. We’re judging them in brackets and Nymeth and I are judging the finals!!

    Trish, I have a feeling there will be lots of hard feelings agains Nymeth :p Kidding, of course. I’m sure you know more than you think!! Thanks! Hope you had a good Sunday too!

    Suey, It really was a fantastic Weekly Geeks, thanks!

  8. Hello Chris,

    Just popped into your website. Very nice indeed and well structured. Something to learn from. I love the way you talk about books…I can never find the time… Cheers

  9. I only know four answers so I’m not even going to try. Fun quiz though!

  10. Woo-hoo!!! I’m a question!!! Great quiz. I’m really looking forward to seeing the answers once the contest is over. You need to do something like this for the R.I.P. Challenge in the fall. I have some books I could giveaway for it.

  11. oh dear…that quiz is hard. I’ve never even heard of some of the individuals or works you are hinting at. I don’t think I stand a chance of winning (though I think I can get the Neil Gaiman questions correct =P) But the idea of creating a quiz to spice up the blog sounds like a good one! I think I’ll try making one myself one day –

Leave a Reply

