Scott Pilgrim by Bryan Lee O'Malley

Scott Pilgrim Volumes 1-5 by Bryan Lee O’Malley
2004-2009
960 Pages (Cumulative)
5/5

2512219110152

So I discovered this amazing thing during my forced internet break called Scott Pilgrim. It’s a graphic novel series that is the brainchild of Bryan Lee O’Malley. My journey with Scott Pilgrim started with just the first book, Scott Pilgrim’s Precious Little Life. But I realized as soon as I finished this first book that I had to go out and buy the rest of them IMMEDIATELY! Luckily, they seem to be getting popular again beause they were once hard to find anywhere in the US and now you can find them on Amazon or if you’re lucky like me, at your local Borders.

Scott Pilgrim is a 24 year old Canadian guy who lives (and shares the same bed) with his gay roomate, Wallace. He’s dating a 17 year-old high school girl named Knives, and she’s a cool Asian chick. But Scott soon stumbles upon Ramona Flowers, this uber cool rocker chick who delivers for Amazon.ca. She has cool hair, listens to cool music, she’s mysterious, and wears roller blades all the time. Scott becomes infatuated with her and realizes he has to drop Knives so that he can go after this girl that’s way out of his league. Funnily enough, Ramona takes him up on his offer of a date even though at this point, Scott seems a little crazy. Scott is soon to find out though that in order to date Ramona, he must defeat her seven evil exes.

This series literally couldn’t be any more perfect. Scott is known as one of the best fighters around, but that’s mostly due to his huge video game addiction. So he sees life as a video game most of the time, including the fights with the seven exes. There are little things (like references to Final Fantasy and extra life heads) that O’Malley puts into the series that are just perfect. Scott also plays in a punk band with his friends Stephen Stills and Kim and has a mad obsession with the Smashing Pumpkins. There are quite a few scenes throughout the series where Scott is sporting a shirt with a Smashing Pumpkins logo on it, or his Zero shirt. To top it all off, you can tell that O’Malley is a huge Pumpkins fan due to the fact that the third novel in the series is entitled Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness.

The series is incredibly smart, witty, charming, cute, and it’s actually quite deep during certain parts. Scott is at that stage in life where you start to realize that you’re not a teenager anymore, but you’re not quite ready to be an adult. When we meet him, he has no job and as I said earlier, shares his bed with a gay man. He has no game. As the series progresses, the series starts to tackle more adult issues while still maintaining it’s fun, lighthearted feel.

All I can say about this series is *gush gush gush*. Go find it! It’s so freaking good. I can’t wait for volume 6 to come out! Sadly, I think it will be the last book in this series. He does have another novel out though called Lost at Sea that Nymeth reviewed awhile ago and I’ve been dying to read it ever since!

23 Responses

  1. I haven’t been much of a graphics novel kind of girl (not that I don’t like that, just that I haven’t always gone out of my way to read them), but this one sounds like a hoot. Maybe I’ll have to see if there’s an issue at my local Borders.

    Thanks for the great review.

  2. These really do sound like fun. Will I be lost if I don’t know anything about gaming though?

    Can I say again how great it is to have you back?!!

  3. They do sound fun. I wonder if my library has them. If they do, I believe that makes you a “bad blogger,” yes?

  4. This sounds so cool! I’ve become something of a graphic novel junkie lately, so this is a great recommendation.

    (Hi, how’ve you been?)

  5. Seriously, what was I thinking letting you guys TALK ME INTO reading Graphic novels? I mean, I have a hard enough time resisting regular books. Now you throw this lot into the mix. I’m doomed, I tell you!

    As soon as I get my 26!! books from the library whittled down (it WAS 27, but I finished 2, only to have Dylan Fontaine come in!), I’m going to try to find this series!

  6. Ann-Kat, It’s tons of fun!! I really can’t see anyone not liking this one…hope you check it out!

    Debi, You must read it!!! You won’t be lost as a result of the gaming references I promise…they’re actually just a little background gimmick. The story is first and foremost. Such a great series. I’m in love with it!

    CBJames, Indeed it would make me a bad blogger! And I’d gladly accept that πŸ˜‰

    Scott, Yeah, I’ve been going through a graphic novel phase myself lately. I’ve always read them, but it seems like they’ve become much more prolific these days! Anyway, this series is fantastic! Hope you check it out!

  7. wow you sure are making up for lost time with posts !! :o)

  8. Okay, you’re back two minutes, and you start dumping books on my wishlist.

  9. Right! Who nicked the smilie? There was meant to be a πŸ˜› tacked on the end there!

    (Because, I can’t have forgotten to type it out…) 😳

  10. I already put the first one on hold, but now I’m extra excited about it coming in. πŸ˜€

  11. Deslily, That’s because I have so much to catch up on! LOL

    Bart, Sorry about that πŸ˜‰ But you do it too…

    Eva, Awesome! I think you’ll love them!

  12. I knew you’d love this series! And I’m so glad you did. Although I have been going through mine at a snail’s pace and still have to get to Volume 4. I’m dying to read Lost at Sea, too!

  13. I swear I commented on this earlier. And yet, my post isn’t here. Hmmmm…sleep deprivation must be getting to me!!

    Sounds like something I would love! When I get my library pile whittled down a bit, I’ll have to try and find them. My luck, I’d get them right away..then they’d need to be back!

  14. You read all FIVE of them! Jealous. Even though he is a Canadian author, the library only has two of them. So, I have read the first one… I read Lost at Sea, though. It was good!

  15. I’m totally sold!! I’ve got to try to get my hands on these books!!

  16. Those don’t sound like my thing, but I had to comment because I’m just so happy, happy, happy that you’re back. You may hear that repeatedly, for a while.

  17. Hello?? This is try number 3 to post. If this doesn’t work, I’ll just assume you are blocking me Chris!!

  18. Darla,Must go find Lost at Sea ASAP!!! You’ll love the rest of the series…it’s so great!

    Kailana, I did indeed πŸ™‚ It’s about time that I beat you at something, lol. But of course you beat me to Lost at Sea :p Can’t wait to hear what you think of Scott Pilgrim!!

    Staci, I’m so glad I sold you on them! They’re great.

    Bookfool, LOL…I’m so happy to be back and glad to be able to talk with you again! You might be surprised if you tried these…Honestly, I can’t see anyone not liking them.

  19. Hee, hee. Now I’m SPAMMING your post!! Thanks Chris!! πŸ˜‰

  20. Scott also plays in a punk band with his friends Stephen Stills and Kim and has a mad obsession with the Smashing Pumpkins. There are quite a few scenes throughout the series where Scott is sporting a shirt with a Smashing Pumpkins logo on it, or his Zero shirt. To top it all off, you can tell that O’Malley is a huge Pumpkins fan due to the fact that the third novel in the series is entitled Scott Pilgrim and the Infinite Sadness.

    HOW COME I DID NOT KNOW THIS?!?!?!?!?!

    This series has just moved from “really, really want” to “MUST HAVE SOON OR ELSE I WILL EXPLODE”. Thanks a lot, Chris πŸ˜›

  21. Steph, SPAMMER!!!! :p

    Nymeth, Can I tell you a secret? I actually put that bit in there just to get you to read it….mwuhahahahahahaha!! No but seriously, I did :p

  22. Okay I’m needing to read this series now!! I really loved Lost At Sea but when I saw Scott Pilgrim at the library I assumed they were comics for young kids. This is why I should not judge by covers alone πŸ˜›

  23. These sound so much fun! I love idea of defeating her 7 evil exs. I wish now I had set my husband on some of my exs before we got married πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

