May Round-Up

May completely sucked numbers wise, but the few books that I did read were fan-f$#@ing-tastic! Here they are:

45. The Eternal Smile by Gene Luen Yang and Derek Kirk Kim, 2009, 170 pgs., 4.75/5
46. The Screwed Up Life of Charlie the Second by Drew Ferguson, 2008, 263 pgs., 5/5
47. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan, 2009, 320 pgs., 4.5/5
48. Glass Houses by Rachel Caine, 2006, 256 pgs., 3.75/5
49. Voodoo Season by Jewell Parker Rhodes, 2005, 275 pgs., 4/5
50. Crazy Hair by Neil Gaiman and Dave McKean, 2009, 32 pgs., 4/5
51. Starfinder by John Marco, 2009, 326 pgs., 4.5/5

That’s a whopping 7 books and 1,642 pages…or the worst month so far this year…how ever you want to look at it :p I think my reading slowed down due to burn out this month. But as you can tell by my more regular posting lately, I’m back. So hopefully June looks much better!

I think my favorite book that I read this month was Drew Ferguson’s The Screwed up Life of Charlie the Second…Though The Forest of Hands and Teeth was a really close second. All of them were great really and each has it’s own merit.

How was your reading?

Most exciting news of the month…the Nerds Heart YA Tournament!!! It officially began yesterday…I’m judging the final round with Nymeth, so I have to wait until the end to get my turn to judge :p If you don’t know about this amazing tournament yet, hosted by the best thing since sliced bread (AKA, Renay) you can go read all about it on Renay’s YA blog, YA Fabulous.

In other news, I’m totally in for BEA 2010.

16 Responses

  1. 7 books is bad?? Dang. You guys read so much more than I do.

    I’ve already started my “Stephanie Must Go To BEA 2010” Fund. I still don’t know if it’s doable or not, but it can’t hurt to get the ball rolling now!

    I’m super-excited about the Nerds Heart YA Tourney! All the books look fantastic, and I’m going to try to get them all in this year sometime. I’m a second round judge, so I’ll be up pretty quick. And knowing Kailana and Becky, I’m sure to get a good one!! Actually the 4 books that could come my way all look great!!

  2. If I make puppy dog eyes at you, will you tell me what BEA is, Chris? I mean, without trying to google it. I’d probably just get information on the Dutch royal family with my google skills.

    I don’t think 7 books is bad!

    And I need to follow me that tournament. It’s already put one book on my wishlist just from looking at the titles. *hopeless, but happy with it* (Hm, I suppose on second thought I might need to stay far away from it, but where’s the fun in that?)

  3. SO EXCITED about Nerds Heart YA. Plus, you and Nymeth, teamed up! YES.

    Also, I also started my BEA 2010 fund. I am trying to talk a friend into going with me, too, but wow! It would be awesome to meet everyone. πŸ™‚

  4. Sometimes it is hard to keep the reading momentum going. Seven books is great. I have just received Voodoo Season in the post, after reading about it on your site.

  5. if you think your 7 is bad.. try 2 !.. not worth posting even!!

    sure love seeing pern on the side bar!!!

  6. Seven definitely is not a bad month…especially when you consider how much you loved some of those books! And of those ones you read, you already *made* me buy one…with at least a few more to be bought in the future. So, if emptying the pockets of your friends is a part of your “reading success equation” I’d say you’re doing better than okay!

    So, you’re really going to BEA? For sure?

  7. I say seven books isn’t so bad as long as they were seven really awesome books – and will you look at that, they were! I wish I were so lucky with my reading.

  8. I think you did wonderful! Just remember it’s not about the numbers, it’s about the experience and enjoyment.

    How did I not notice the Nerds β™₯ YA Tourney? It sounds awesome!!

  9. Okay, then. You and I are traveling together, if I go in 2010. Got that? You’re flying out of Jackson but you can park on my driveway.

    So, reading month . . . uh. I read 19 books, but a lot of them were short, so don’t hit me. I’m so booked in June and July that I’ve stopped signing up for tours *completely*. It’s weird having to squeeze in my own posts, some weeks. I’ll have to squeeze in my wrap-up this weekend, I guess. I’m particularly jealous of The Eternal Smile. Very, very envious. Must find (haven’t located it, locally).

  10. It was a good reading month rating wise, but seriously, you seem to rate everything over 4. lol I was the one that asked how you are ever going to pick favourites at the end of the year! haha Aren’t I nice?

    Anyway, I meant to post my wrap-up today, but haven’t got around to it yet. I did mow the lawn, though…

  11. Steph, Last year, 7 books wouldn’t have been bad at all…but compared to other months so far this year, it is :p I hope to God you can go to BEA 2010!! It would be so fantastic to meet you finally!! Looks like I may be flying there with Bookfool πŸ˜‰ And I don’t think we can go wrong with any of the Nerds ❀ YA books! They all sound so good!

    Shanra, It's Book Expo America! I keep forgetting that not everyone knows what I'm talking about :p Sounds fun huh?? You should travel down here for it next year :p And you definitely should NOT stay away from the Nerds Heart YA tournament…it'll be great fun πŸ™‚ But I agree…dangerous!

    Renay, I'm excited too!! I wish I had more time…I'd just read along with the judges. I want to read them all! So excited that you're saving up for BEA! I really hope we all get to go!

    Vivienne, Oh fantastic!! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did πŸ™‚ I thought it was a really great book and there are certain scenes that are just amazing…like all of the voodoo ceremony scenes!

    Deslily, I actually just started Pern tonight :p But I put it there because it worked it's way onto my bedside. Great so far!!

    Debi, I love that I "MADE" you buy one, lol. Can't wait to see what else you get! They were all really good actually. As for BEA, it's not a definite yet, but it's like an 80% chance and counting that I'll be going. I deserve a true vacation and can't think of a better one! You're coming too, right? πŸ˜‰

    Memory, They really were 7 awesome books!! I wish that happened more often. Not every month is that good…though I do tend to love everything I read :p

    Joanne, You didn't know about the YA tournament?! I'm glad you do now πŸ™‚ Follow us on twitter @nerdsheartYA. We'll have updates there!

    Bookfool, Oooooh,that's a deal! I'd be so excited to finally meet you! And think of all of the wonderful birds you have around your house that would poop on my car while we're gone, LOL. That sounds perfect! I hate traveling alone :/ You always read so much! Seriously, between you and Kailana, I could knock my TBR shelf out in a year! Actually, at that rate, you alone could almost knock it out in a year :p I hope you can find The Eternal Smile! It's so good…worth ordering on Amazon πŸ˜‰

    Kailana, LOL…my reading months are always good rating wise :p It's true…I just love everything that I read. Yeah, it's definitely going to be a rough pick for favorites of the year…my favorite book of the year always seems to be the last one I read :p Good job on mowing the lawn :p And on having a beer after…I saw that on twitter πŸ˜‰

  12. I really hope it’s doable. The flight won’t be so bad, it’s the cost of a room in NYC. Plus the BEA fees and such. Of course, who knows what a year will bring? But, I already started saving, so cross your fingers!

  13. I don’t think seven is all that bad, either. The BEA does sound like a good time and I hope you get to go, Stephanie.

    cjh

  14. I think you’ll get more mold and pollen than poop on your car, but we’ll see. πŸ˜‰ And, you could walk into my house and be immediately frightened and awestruck by the quantity of books. Boy, that would be a sight. I’d love to see your face when you walk into my living/dining room!!!

  15. I deserve a true vacation and can’t think of a better one!

    I know that bit wasn’t aimed at me, but yes. Yes, you do deserve a vacation. A real and proper vacation. With lots of books and lots of rest and relaxation. Don’t forget to include the relaxation bit whilst you’re off at that book expo!

    (I’ll have to pass on the half-invitation, though. You should just come to the Frankfurt Book Fair instead! ^-~ And thanks for explaining what the BEA is. It does sound like a lot of fun. Er not that that’s hard to do, it involving books and all. ^-~ *crosses fingers* Oooh, I hope that 80% creeps up throughout the year and becomes more of a certainty!)

  16. My January, February, and March must look absolutely pitiful! πŸ˜‰

    “fan-f$#@ing-tastic!’…so they were good then? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

