Bad Bloggers: Round 2 Begins!

So I’m going to go ahead and end Bad Bloggers Round 1. And surprise, surprise, the winner (or LOSER) of the first bad bloggers is Nymeth :p Why might she be a loser you ask? Because she is now punished by having not one, but TWO books added to her TBR pile. Of course, that hardly compares to the 18 books that she has not only added to my TBR list, but has actually made me acquire over the last 5 months :p Nymeth, I’m going to be sending you The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine AND The Screwed Up Life of Charlie the Second! Hope you enjoy them…I know you will! Becky, you were a VERY close second with 12 books added to my list…You may just come away with the win next time ๐Ÿ˜‰

So I’m going to start round 2 now which will run through the end of October. We’ll see who makes me bring the most books into my house. Let’s start with these. Keep in mind that these have been acquired over the last 3 weeks, not all in one week :p

Books Bought

2666

13114115

Books Sent for Review

113121

Books Mooched

162433435262728191

badbloggers1

1. 2666 by Roberto Bolano – So I’ve really been wanting this one ever since I heard about it. But then Claire of Kiss a Cloud started a read-a-long of it and she put me over the edge. I had to get the box set that has this monster of a book broken down into three volumes, because I don’t do well with really big books! Point for Claire!

2. Travel Team by Mike Lupica – I saw an ad for Lupica’s new book, Million Dollar Throw in the Shelf Awareness newsletter and knew that I’d found an author that I’d probably enjoy. I love YA books, and I love sports in general, so I’m really looking forward to these! They actually came as a box set that have all three of these books.

3. Heat by Mike Lupica – Part of box set mentioned above.

4. Summer Ball by Mike Lupicaย  – See above…this is also the sequel to Travel Team.

5. Crying Tree by Naseem Rakha – This one was sent to me for review and it looks really cool! I like the cover to this one a lot! It’s an ARC.

6. Amazon Ink by Lori Devoti – I was sent this one by Juno, a really great publisher that focuses on fantasy type books with strong female leads. Looks cool…urban fantasy-ish.

7. Among the Impostors by Margaret Peterson Haddix – Becky will always get the blame for any Haddix book that I read :p I’m so excited about this one! I read the first book in this series during the read-a-thon, Among the Hidden. Point to Becky

8. King Dork by Frank Portman – Another point to Becky! Her review of this one made it go onto my wishlist instantly and I was lucky enough to score a copy of it from BookMooch.

9. True Believer by Virginia Wolfe – For the ongoing Printz Challenge

10. The Dark Hills Divide by Patrick Carman – I want to say I’ve seen reviews of this one before, but I’m not really sure. I found it on Bookmooch though and loved the cover! Don’t think anyone is to blame but myself for this one.

11. Monster by Walter Dean Myers – Another one for the Printz Challenge.

12. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray – This one has been on my wishlist seemingly FOREVER ever since Jenclair reviewed it a long time ago. Point to Jenclair!

13. All Families are Psychotic by Douglas Coupland – Because I love the title and it’s Coupland.

14. Stuck in Neutral by Terry Trueman – Point to Bart for this one! He did an awesome review of this one and while he wasn’t blown away by it, it sounds like something I’d like. I mooched it from him and he sent me some incredible bookplates with it with my favorite Shakespeare quote on them! “We are such stuff as dreams are made on” Hmmm, wonder where you’ve heard that one before? Also part of the Printz Challenge.

15. Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy by Gary Schmidt – For the Printz Challenge.

Phew…that’s it!

If you haven’t done so already, enter for your chance to read Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest here and read all about Books Around the World! Drawing tomorrow!

11 Responses

  1. Yay! My first point round 2! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Have you seen my review of Sprout I think you would really enjoy that one ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. You have a pretty amazing list of books there. I always go to Walter Dean Myers when I have an older boy that is a reluctant reader. Monster is amazing. I’m saddened that Bart didn’t really care for Stuck in Neutral. I thought it was brilliantly written and I recommend this one a lot!! Mike Lupica books do not stay on the shelves…they’re always checked out..Enjoy all these great reads!!

  4. Congrats to Nymeth!! Yay, I’m officially a bad blogger! I hope you enjoy! I’ve finished Part 1, but as you know there is no time limit, just a rough schedule/guide, give or take, so do as you please. ๐Ÿ˜€

  5. “Keep in mind that these have been acquired over the last 3 weeks, not all in one week”…rationalize away, my friend! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Congratulations, Nymeth!!! Enjoy your books! ๐Ÿ˜€

    Like there was ever any doubt, huh? It’s going to be tough for anyone to overcome the lead she’s got in the blame game either, as there’s only a month to go now. But both you and Eva have been coming on really strong lately. You evil, make-people-buy-good-books person, you!

    BTW, in case you’re wondering, I haven’t forgotten the mini-challenge. I’ll e-mail you Monday morning with the winner, okay? Just in case anyone posts tomorrow. (If you don’t hear from me then, give a virtual kick by e-mail to remind me.)

  6. hmmm… I’m not seeing any Pern books in that list!

    (hi baby boy!)

  7. Bart, Indeed! May it be the start of many more points! Or maybe not…that may not be so good for me….:/

    Becky, I did and guess where it went? Straight onto my wishlist! :p

    Staci, I’m really excited about reading Monster now!! I thumbed through it and I really like the layout of that one. And I can’t tell you how excited I am about the Lupica books…I just want to jump into them right now. You have the coolest job ๐Ÿ™‚

    Claire, yes you are!! I need to get started on 2666 to catch up with you all!

    Debi, DEBI!!!! Big hugs…missed you! Yeah, I’m trying to rationalize all of these books :p I don’t think that Eva and I will catch up with Nymeth, lol..I think she’s pretty much sealed the deal! Take your time with the mini-challenge, I’m in no rush…of course, those participating may be ;p

    Deslily, PAT!!! How are you? Are you in FL now??? There are no Pern books on that list because you sent them all to me already! LOL. Getting ready to start Dragonquest though and I’m very excited ๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Both of them? ๐Ÿ˜ฎ Awww Chris, thank you so so much! You’re the sweestest ๐Ÿ˜€ I’m completely sure I’ll love them both!

  9. lol. Nymeth won mine, too… By a lot! You were in second, and she beat you by ten!

    I guess I told you what I thought about your books in an email because I had my email open at the same time! Happy reading!

  10. That 2666 box set is amazing looking – I’m such a sucker for well-designed books ๐Ÿ™‚

    And I’m so jealous that you got a copy of Amazon Ink! I found out about the Juno line a few days ago and was going to include a couple Juno books in my next coveting post.

    Hope you enjoy your reads! And who woulda thunk that Nymeth would win round 1 of the Bad Bloggers ๐Ÿ˜‰ The only thing that would shock me is if she read a bad book (or even a so-so one) ๐Ÿ˜€

  11. Wow, that 2666 book set looks incredible! You know how I loves me a well packaged book! Companies that take the time to do special things like that always make me happy…and tempt me sorely!!!

Leave a Reply

