Music Mundays – Radiohead

musicmundays1

Here we are with the second week of Music Mundays. I want to thank everyone who participated last week!! I was really surprised by the turnout!! I thought it was going to be just me, and that’s fine if it was, but it turns out there are tons of music fans out there 🙂

Radiohead Download Study

This week I bring you what I would probably consider my favorite band (though I have so many of those :p), Radiohead. I don’t think there’s anyone else who’s music touches me like their’s does. Radiohead continues to push the boundaries and reinvent themselves while still remaining what they have always been. Some would consider them the biggest underground band out there. I’ve only gotten to see them in concert once, for the Hail to the Thief tour and it was by far one of the best concert experiences of my life.

Radiohead merges art and music, creating a sound that no one else can imitatie. There are the stunning and unique vocals and lyrics of Thom Yorke mixed with the amazing guitar skills of Johnny Greenwood, one of my favorite guitarists. All of their songs create their own little worlds that just take me away like some of my favorite books. I hopped on the Radiohead bandwagon with OK Computer. I had heard “Creep” before, but that was it. Then I heard Paranoid Android for the first time and new I had found a new favorite band and that has continued with albums like Kid A, Amnesiac, Hail to the Thief, and their newest, In Rainbows.

I’m always looking forward to what these guys do next. And I hope they never stop playing music. Here’s one of my favorite songs off the new album, In Rainbows. It’s called Reckoner:

And here’s Paranoid Android for those who have never seen it:

Feel free to post a link to your Music Munday post in the comments if you’re participating!!

17 Responses

  1. I love Radiohead!! And guess what?? I did my own post today!! http://stephaniesbooks.blogspot.com/2009/05/music-mundays-loreena-mckennitt.html

  2. I’m playing this week, too. Mine’s here:
    http://justaddbooks.blogspot.com/2009/05/music-munday.html

  3. I want to do Music Mundays, but I could also just sit back and let you cover all my favourite bands, since we have almost the exact same taste 😛 Excellent post!

  4. I’m bringing you a little English band, yet to be famous but great live
    http://katrinasreads.blogspot.com/2009/05/music-mundays.html

  5. Another one I haven’t listened to, except for here. What a great source for new music!

    cjh

  6. Radiohead is awesome – good choice! I did a post this week, too! 🙂

  7. […] Chris saved me from having to scrape up what was sure to be a lame post today with his new feature, Music Mundays. Like the others taking part in Music Mundays, music is an integral part of my life. Some of my […]

  8. This is fantastic, Chris! I wanted to take part last time ’round, but didn’t get the chance, so…Here’s my post.

  9. Steph, I had a feeling you’d be a radiohead fan 🙂 And I loved your post!! Thanks so much for doing your own post…loved it!

    Maree, I had so much fun reading your post!

    Nymeth, LOL…You know of a lot more bands than I do! I’m constantly discovering new stuff by the bands you meniton!

    Katrina, Sounds good! I’m heading over there now!

    CJ, I’m learning that this really is a great source for new music! I’ve found so many cool bands already from it!

    Jessi, I figured you’d like radiohead 🙂 Thanks for doing a post! I’m heading over there now!

    Chelle, Really liked your post..The Pierces are great!

  10. Radiohead is pretty good!!! I like Music Mundays…it introduces me to music that I haven’t listened to before and that’s always fun!!

  11. I used to listen to Radiohead but it has been a few years! This is a fun meme idea. 🙂

  12. Like you I had heard Creep and liked it but didn’t jump on the bandwagon until OK, Computer. I love Radiohead, but I admit I have to be in a mood to listen to them–usually a pensive or even somber mood. Great work music for me, though.

  13. Radiohead are one of my top bands, Creep is my favorite song, but I really love that I can put a Radiohead CD in and listen/enjoy all the songs – with most bands there are always 2 or 3 songs on a CD I can’t stand.

    I agree with what you said on my post that Travis Tritt is a bit too twangy but I made an exception for those songs – lol – I haven’t even heard anything else by him 😛

  14. I never really listened to Radiohead, although Amanda Palmer does an awesome version of Creep, but Talk Show Host from Romeo & Juliet is one of my favourite songs – go figure 🙂

  15. Radiohead is one of those bands where I’ll hear a song and think, ‘yes, I’ve heard that and I like it’ and yet I won’t realize or remember it was them. Good choice for week 2, Chris! I love that this idea is taking off because for the past several years my new music loves have come primarily from the internet, from Youtube and from posts just like this one. I love it! Such a great way to discover and share music.

  16. Radiohead is fantastic! I’ve liked them ever since they hit the scene. I think my favorite song is High and Dry, but Creep and Karma Police. Great post.

  17. I meant to say Creep and Karma Police were also on up there. But clearly I forgot to finish my thought. 😛

Leave a Reply

