Booking Through Friday

Ok….so I’m mixing up two weekly memes here. And it’s a fitting title for what I plan on doing all day tomorrow!

I don’t usually participate in Booking Through Thursday, but I saw this week’s question at Bart’s Bookshelf and thought…well that’s a subject I’d like to talk about. Here’s the question:

What book would you love to be able to read again for the first time?

So many is the simple answer! But there are a few in particular that come to mind.

witchinghour-The Witching Hour by Anne Rice – You know I’ve actually read this one three times in my life and I plan on reading it for a fourth time this year and then maybe reread Lasher and Taltos as well. And me and Nymeth had planned to read Interview With a Vampire once again together. The Witching Hour is probably my most memorable experience ever reading a book. I was so blown away by that novel and it still remains one of my favorites. I’ve never read a book that captured the feeling of a city so well and I remember feeling privileged to live in New Orleans when I first read it. I read that book for the first time while listening to the Cranberries album, Everybody Else is Doing it so Why Can’t We? and everytime I hear that album now, I get that same haunting feeling back. The cool thing about The Witching Hour is that every time you read it, it still gives you that first time feeling.

-The Time Traveler’s Wife – This one just left me speechless. There were moments in this novel that leftttw me feeling like I was punched in the gut and had my heart ripped out or my head turned around 360 degrees. I fell in absolute love with Niffenegger’s writing and with the story she told and I just wish I could have the feeling of discovering that book for the first time all over again. Just fantastic stuff.

thriteenth1-The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield – Definitely needs a reread, though I don’t know if it would be quite the same as the first time I read it. This one just took me by complete surpirse. I didn’t expect to love this book nearly as much as I did. It quickly became a favorite with it’s gothic atmosphere, the beautiful and often bizarre storytelling and characters, and the amazing, amazing ending.

-The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – I read this around the same time that I read The Thirteenth Talehistorian and it’s one of those few moments in life when you read back to back books that just completely blow you away. I didn’t expect to find another book that I’d fall in love with so soon, but I did. This story kept me up in to the wee hours of the morning just hovering on edge. And it creeped me out to no end, and I usually don’t have that emotion evoked so strongly in a book. I remember just feeling that something lurked around the corner waiting for me while reading it. It also made me long to go back to places like Romania where I have never been in reality.

hp-Harry Potter by J.K. Rowling – I still get horribly sad sometimes when I realize that the series is over. I just didn’t want it to ever end, though I know it had to. I clearly remember discovering this book for the first time. A friend of mine was reading it at a coffee shop I worked at and called it “HP Crack” as it’s nickname…once I discovered it too, we referred to it as “HPC” from then til the end of the series :p (Leah, are you reading this? lol). We would ask each other “did you get the new HPC yet?” Okjohngreen…so it may not be that funny to anyone else, but seriously…that series was like crack…so addicting! And I just loved it. Harry’s world is one that I will never forget.

-John Green the author – I just wish I could discover John Green again for the first time in general…it could be any of his books…he’s one of those authors that just made me thrilled when I found him. It was like I was let into a secret society :p The man just rocks. And so do his books.

____________________________________________________________________

Friday Fill-Ins

1. Moving is something that is so exciting! I’m currently moving into my brand new counseling office, though I’m discovering that it’s very expensive to do so :/ We’re also getting ready to move into our brand new house! I need to post an update on that soon.

2. A smile is free. Share it with someone.

3. My best quality is not going to be shared here because I honestly have no idea what it is :p Seriously have never been into self flattery…though I tell all of my clients they should be, lol…and I do believe that!

4. The true signs of friendship are in the details.

5. In nearly 10 years, I’ll be looking back on the last 10 years of my life and hopefully I’ll be happy.

6. Sleep is what I need right now! Probably…but I’ll be up for at least another 2 or 3 hours.

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to a thunderstorm and a book, tomorrow my plans include working in the morning and then enjoying the continued rain and Sunday, I want to probably still be enjoying the rain! It doesn’t take much more than a thunderstorm to make me happy.

18 Responses

  1. WEll I certainly will agree with you about a few of your “first read” books!… Harry Potter didn’t really surprise me that I would love them so much.. my brother was crazy over them, and lets just say..he was the reason I read the Hobbit and Lord of the Rings, so he had excellent taste in books!

    The Historian surprised me.. it’s not “my kind of read” but I certainly liked this book more than I ever thought I could and one day I will reread this book.

    The Thirteen Tale.. *sigh* Again, it was out of my comfort zone and I fell in love with this book. I have already read it a second time and chances are I will read it a third time during Carl’s Halloween Challenge.

    As for Authors.. I would say the big surprise and most consistant “new” author I found is Laurie R King and her Mary Russell books. I do know her other writings are as excellent .. Touchstone is one of the mysteries that is not of that series. One day I will get to her other books!!

  2. as I was publishing my comment I noticed “In your library” and saw Donald Stephensons book The one Tree… did you read the Thomas Covenant books yet???

  3. Wouldn’t it be fantastic to be able to read Nieffenegger and Setterfield for the first time everytime you reread? I am planning to reread The Thirteenth Tale (hopefully) this year! I must say, I reread Neieffenegger at the beginning of the year and I thought the book was just as fabulous as the first time around!

    I really need to read The Historian. Maybe for the RIP challenge!

    Hope you have a great weekend, Chris!

  4. I *really* liked The Witching Hour, but she lost me with Lasher and Taltos. I read them, but I didn’t warm up to them at all. And I can’t stand Mona Mayfair. I may be in the minority there, but she bugs the daylights out of me. When she showed up in the Vampire Chronicles I could have just cried. Ok. Enough whining. 🙂

    Take care, Chris, and have a great weekend!
    Lezlie

  5. Wow, I’m requesting The Witching Hour right now. When it comes in, I’ll really be reading for the first time! I think I checked it out from the library in the past, but the sheer SIZE of it daunted me. Back in high school, I went through an Anne Rice year: Interview with the Vampire, Pandora, etc… But then she sort of lost her appeal or maybe vampires got old, now they’re back! I’m excited to read an Anne Rice novel that’s NOT about vampires.

    Also, thank you so much for recommending Poppy Z. Brite. I’ve never heard of her prior to your New Orleans post. I’ve added Liquor to my request list. Here I think I secretly want to live in New Orleans like you. Jealous….

    I never finished The Time Traveler’s Wife. Perhaps I’ll pick it up again since everyone can’t stop raving about it.

  6. Your answers for this question are great! In thinking about this, I completely forgot the Harry Potter series, but it really would be so lovely to be able to go back and experience the adventure (and the mystery!) all over again for the first time. Pretty much any book that has a twist at the end (such as The Thirteenth Tale, or one I read earlier this year “Gentleman & Players” by Joanne Harris) would make it on the list for me. “Life of Pi” by Yan Martel is another great one, too.

  7. Let me know when you’re rereading The Witching Hour: I’ll reread it with you! 🙂

    I happened to take Time Traveller’s Wife with me to St. Petersburg, so when I was there for two months with only three books, I ended up reading it about 4 times. And every single time, I cried. Craziness!

    Since you mention Romania, I just read an AWESOME fairy tell retelling set there. It’s called Wildwood Dancing, and I’ll be reviewing it next week, but it’s so magical and I think you’d definitely enjoy it. It’s based on the Twelve Dancing Princesses, which I love anyway. 🙂

    Ok, I’ve rambled on waaaaay too long, lol. I think I’d want to read any of my very favourite authors for the first time again.

  8. I really loved the Time Traveler’s Wife and the Thirteenth Tale (that one surprised me how much I liked it). It’s hard for me to think which book I’d like to read again for the first time- often I feel a second read is more fulfilling; I’m not so focused on following plot and characters and get more of the finer details.

  9. Deslily, Your brother did indeed have excellent taste in books! I think I might reread The Thirteenth Tale again too. That was SUCH a good book and it totally surprised me!! Nope, haven’t read the Thomas Covenant books yet…but I’ll get to them eventually…so it goes :p

    Kailana, You have read The Historian??? You have to go get that now!!! I see a bad blogger point coming my way 🙂

    Lezlie, LOL…I just hated Mona Mayfair’s name :p It sounds more like a name that should be in Harry Potter, doesn’t it? I didn’t mind Lasher and Taltos, but I loved The Witching Hour SO much more!

    T.Y., The size of the Witching Hour really is a scary thing, lol…but it’s so good! In fact, it’s so good that you forget about how long it is…it just flies by. Hope you enjoy Liquor! I haven’t read that one yet, but I do own it! And I can’t believe you haven’t finished The Time Traveler’s Wife! You really must 😉

    Steph, I really need to check out Life of Pi! I’ve heard so many great things about that one…I’ll get to it one of these days!

    Eva, That sounds great!! I’d love to reread The Witching Hour with you. That’s awesome that you read TTW 4 times in a row :p Its good to hear that it has so much rereadability. And guess what? I actually have Wildwood Dancing sitting here! I just need to read it now :p And I love rambling comments by the way :p

    Jeane, They both really were fantastic books! I haven’t reread anything in a long time. I don’t do that often enough!

  10. Oh my…will it make you jealous if I tell you I have nearly all those books to look forward to reading for the first time?!! Or will it just make you sigh at how horribly not-well-read I am? This past week you’ve got me just aching to read The Witching Hour…sounds like I am in for quite the treat!!!

  11. I really would love to read Harry Potter again for the first time. I also still get sad that the series is over 😦 All of your choices are great, but the number one book I wish I could read again for the first time is Fingersmith. I hope this is making you want to read it 😛

    Have a great weekend, Chris!

  12. Great list! I really loved The Thirteen Tale, too. The Time Traveler’s, while I wasn’t impressed so much with the writing, it did make me cry buckets, so heartbreaking. The Historian I might just try one of these days. 🙂

  13. Of course, HP.. love the whole series, too. 😀

  14. Debi, yes it makes me incredibly jealous!!! You must read The Witching Hour..and um…I still must read The Stand! Why haven’t I read that yet? I think it’s the same problem that The Witching Hour is for some people…the size of it!

    Nymeth, Fear not, Fingersmith is VERY high on my wishlist 😉 I will be reading it one of these days soon!

    Claire, I think that The Time Traveler’s Wife is one of those books that gets anyone regardless of whether you like it or not, lol. Yes, you do need to read The Historian!!!

  15. Just let me know when we’re breaking out the Anne Rice. 🙂 And since you have Wildwood Dancing, read it! We can do a joint review or something!

  16. Haven’t read Witching Hour (almost picked up a Rice novel yesterday but decided I wanted Fingersmith more), but I would love to re-read The Historian, Time Traveler’s, and Thirteenth Tale. I felt much the same way when I read Time Traveler’s Wife years ago–even thinking about it now brings back some of those emotions.

  17. Good choices! Especially TTW. I’d love love love to read that one for the first time again!

  18. Really good list Chris, and The Time Traveller’s Wife would certainly have been the one I would have gone for if I’d remembered to participate! I read The Witching Hour on a flight back from New York and really enjoyed it, but didn’t like Lasher at all.

Leave a Reply

