Music Munday – The Inaugural Post

musicmundays

Yes, I realize that Munday is mispelled, but that’s just fun, isn’t it? lol. So I know that the internet needs another weekly meme like I need a hole in the head, but I’m starting one anyway :p It’s not book related though (though it can be) so that counts for something, right? This idea was inspired by Nymeth of Things Mean A Lot after she did her books meet music post today which is fantastic if you haven’t read it yet!

My other love aside from books is music. Not a moment goes by that I don’t have music on when it’s feasible. Always listening to music in my car, listening to my iPod, listenting to music when I’m on the computer…you get the picture. I started my love of music when I was young. So much so that I wanted to be able to create my own, but was never very good at it. I started playing keyboard when I was young, but my left hand and right hand don’t like to work in sync. In 6th grade, I started playing saxaphone and played all the way through high school. I can still play, but don’t anymore because I lost my sax in Katrina 😦 And then I picked up guitar when I was in high school and stuck with that more than anything…until Katrina ate my 1982 gorgeous cherry red Gibson Les Paul 😦 I was heartbroken. I even played in a few bands which is just embarassing when I look back on it. But the point of all this is that music has always been a part of my life, as has reading.

So each week I’m going to feature an artist that I love and share a video of their’s. And to start it all off, I figured I’d go with somebody that I’ve been in love with since I first discovered her music, Tori Amos. If anyone’s music can be tied to books, it’s hers. She creates more than just songs…her songs take on lives of their own, she’ll tell you that herself! She sees her songs as beings. She’s inspired by fairies, by fairy tales, by fantasy as is evident in all of her songs. Her lyrics are like novels, sometimes strange, but always fascinating and filled with strong emotions, strong tales, strong memories that are shared.

amos-1I’ve seen Tori Amos in concert twice in my life and the first time I saw her was the only time I’ve ever cried at a concert. She just completely blew me away. She’s such an approachable person, yet she seems otherworldly at the same time. To watch her play the piano is something that is a true gift to witness. It’s like magic. It’s obviously more than just an instrument to her…there’s a deep connection there.

And she is tied to books in so many ways! A fantastic volume called Comic Book Tattoo was recently released. It’s a collection of short comics that are adaptations of her songs and it’s beautiful. Neil Gaiman also recently released a book called The Blueberry Girl which is illustrated by Charles Vess. Blueberry Girl is a poem that Neil wrote for Tori Amos and it’s just beautiful. One of my favorite songs of Tori Amos’ is Tear in Your Hand. It’s off her album, Little Earthquakes. There are so many songs on that album that still take my breath away after all of these years. Winter, Silent all these Years, Precious Things, Little Earthquakes, and of course, Tear in Your Hand. I think Tear in Your Hand has some of the most gorgeous lyrics I’ve ever read. Here they are:

All the world just stopped now
So you say you don’t wanna stay together anymore
Let me take a deep breath babe
If you need me
Me and Neil’ll be hangin’ out with the dream king
Neil says hi
By the way I don’t believe you’re leaving
Cause me and Charles Manson like the same ice cream
I think it’s that girl
And I think they’re pieces of me you’ve never seen
Maybe she’s just pieces of me you’ve never seen well

All the world is all I am
The black of the blackest ocean
And the tear in your hand
All the world is danging…
Dangling’…Danglin’ for me darlin’
You don’t know the power that you have
With that tear in your hand
Tear in you hand

Maybe I ain’t used to maybes
Smashing in a cold room
Cutting my hands up every time I touch you
Maybe maybe it’s time to wave goodbye now
Time to wave goodbye now
Caught a ride with the moon
I know I know you well
Better than I
Used to haze all clouded up
My mind in the daze of why it could’ve never been
So you say and I say
You know you’re full of wish
And your “baby baby baby babies”
I tell you they’re pieces of me you’ve never seen
Maybe she’s just pieces of me you’ve never seen

All the world is all I am
The black of the blackest ocean
And the tear in your hand
All the world is dangin’…
Dangling’…Danglin’ for me darlin’
You don’t know the power that you have
With that tear in your hand
Tear in you hand
With that tear in you hand

And yes, that’s Neil Gaiman that she’s talking about. Here’s a video of her performing it:


Tori Amos has a new album coming out tomorrow called Abnormally Attracted to Sin. What I’ve heard so far is fantastic! Sadly, she’s not coming to New Orleans for her tour 😦 You can visit her website at www.toriamos.com and follow her twitter updates here.

26 Responses

  1. Oh, you all are going to force me to join the 21st century yet, aren’t you? I loved, loved, loved this post, Chris! It was absolutely beautiful. And yeah, I do like “Mundays”

  2. I love this new feature! Tori Amos is a great artist to debut with, too. She’s one of my absolute favourites. I can’t wait for the new album.

  3. I Love This Idea!! Even if the specific song or artist isn’t directly related to a book – the song/lyric writer is just as appreciable as the writer of books/essays/poetry. The definition of literature is:

    “class of writings distinguished for beauty of style or expression, as poetry, essays, or history, in distinction from scientific treatises and works which contain positive knowledge”

    So really music is literature ihmo πŸ˜€

  4. Oh, what a great idea! This could be a way to get the c.c. to guest post on my blog! And, well, we could blog together… hm…

  5. She isn’t coming here for her tour either 😦 In fact, she has played here a total of zero times, lol. I’ve come to accept that if I want to see her, it’ll have to be abroad. I just hope the day when I can afford to travel to go to shows comes before she retires πŸ˜›

  6. Chris.. chris.. chris.. Tear in Your Hand is my most favourite Tori Amos ever, and one of my top fave songs of all time. It always makes me cry.. I didn’t know her Neil was Neil Gaiman, how cool. I wasn’t acquainted with Neil then. πŸ˜€ (I’m reading The Graveyard Book right now.)

  7. Chris –

    What a great post and great idea. I’ve never listened to Tori Amos but the song has beautiful lyrics. I intend to check it out.

    And, I’m going to jump on this bandwagon (pun intend!)

    cjh

  8. I truly enjoyed this post Chris!! Rock on for Mundays!!

  9. Debi, I’m glad you enjoyed it!! And Tori definitely isn’t just 21st century πŸ˜‰ She’s been here since the early 90’s! So I’m bringing you into the 20th century, lol!

    Memory, I know! I’m really excited about her new album too!!! I preordered it on iTunes, so I should get it at midnight!

    Joanne, You’re so right on! I never looked at it that way, but I will now look at my music as literature πŸ˜‰ Glad to see you did your own post too!

    Kailana, Oh that would be fun! You should indeed get the charming comedian to blog!

    Nymeth, That’s so sad! So you’ve never gotten to see her? We have to make a deal…next time she comes here which will probably be in like 3 or 4 years (hopefully) you should fly to New Orleans to see her πŸ™‚

    Claire, How cool! Its my favorite song of hers too…so good! And I think it’s fantastic that your reading Gaiman as I threw that bit of info at you πŸ™‚ They’re really good friends.

    CJ, I think that Tori Amos is one of those artists that nearly anyone can enjoy. Her music is just fantastic! And her lyrics are all really good!

    Staci, Glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚ I’m already thinking of all kinds of future posts!

  10. Wow, what a great idea and a terrific post! How utterly horrible about your sax and guitar. It makes me want to sob, thinking about those poor instruments floating around in a flooded house. You were flooded, as opposed to having a roof blown off, right?

    The Neil-Tori connection is interesting. I remember your review of Blueberry Girl and the photo of her with her child. I thought it was so touching.

  11. Nancy, Glad you liked it! I was so sad when my sax and guitar got lost 😦 My sax was on top of the bed and I thought it was high enough to not get water, but no 😦 and then it sat in water for weeks because we weren’t allowed back…so all the pads were ruined and it was starting to rust..so sad. My guitar was a total surprise…I had forgotten to pick it up because it was in a place that I didn’t even think to check when we were picking everything up 😦 So I came home and just wanted to collapse when I found it 😦 Yep we flooded…no wind damage except for a broken window. I love the Neil and Tori connection! They go together perfectly..it seems right that they’re friends πŸ™‚

  12. wow…that was a lot of smiley and sad faces, lol

  13. This is a great idea. πŸ˜€

  14. What a wonderful post!! I love Tori Amos. I can’t tell you how many times I have put in Little Earthquakes when I’m feeling down.

    I didn’t know you played the sax!! I started Alto when I was in 5th grade, and played Tenor through most of high school!! (oh, I did about a year on the flute too!) I never played the guitar, but I always wanted to learn. I played the piano for about 14 years. I haven’t since I’ve been out on my own. I would really love to start playing again though. I really miss it! Sorry that Katrina ate your instruments. That has to be rough.

  15. I started playing keyboard when I was young, but my left hand and right hand don’t like to work in sync

    You’re not alone in that, Chris! Mine hate it too. (Actually my body hates all forms of multitasking except writing/singing, which I’m passably good at provided I don’t start them at the same time.) I’m so sorry to hear about your instrument loss, though. *hugs* Start saving for some new instruments to play with! It sounds like it makes you very happy.

    And Tori Amos is wonderful, isn’t she? ^-^ Winter is one of my favourite songs and I think the first of hers I’ve heard was Silent All These Years.

    And now I feel like singing. Darn you, Chris! I can’t sing! ><

  16. Maybe next week I will interview him… That’s sort of like he is blogging, right? Now, to begin making him think it’s a good idea! Baby steps, right? lol

  17. Renay, Glad you like it! You should do one πŸ˜‰

    Steph, Tori always makes me feel better too when I’m feeling down. I had something really bad happen to me in high school and I spent the whole day listening to Under the Pink. She’s helped me a lot πŸ™‚ And I didn’t know that you played the piano! I’ve always wanted to play….I think the piano may just be my favorite instrument…so beautiful.

    Shanra, LOL…I’m glad I’m not alone in not being able to make my left hand and right hand work at the same time :p I really should start to save for a new guitar, but I don’t know if I’d play that much anymore 😦 Winter is an amazing song! You should see her play it live, lol…Go ahead and sing…no one can hear you πŸ˜‰

    Kailana, Tell him that another guy blogger said that eh should indeed do it!

  18. *sad noise* Why wouldn’t you play so much anymore? Time-problems?

    Well, apart from my parents and all. It’s okay. I’m currently drowning the urge with Arabic music. It’ll last just as long as it takes me to want to sing one of those along for the sake of it, I’m sure. (Because, you know, singing in languages I don’t understand a bit is my greatest dream and everything. *sigh*)

  19. Great first pick for the Music Mondays. Tori is wonderful. I’ve seen her twice in concert as well and was fortunate enough to be with a friend who got backstage passes due to RAINN donations and got to meet her at both concerts. She is ethereal and lovely in person and makes can connect with you in a matter of moments in a way that is lovely. Cool to see the video of what is probably my favorite song of hers. Love the lyrics, love the tune. Its going through my head now, and it is wonderful. Thanks. This is a great idea Chris!!!

  20. Yep, you used a lot of smiley and sad faces, all right! LOL I understand why. We had three rooms of this house flooded because my husband tried to build a raised garden in our front yard and inadvertantly ended up screwing up our drainage. I know how complete the destruction is, when you have a watery disaster. It must have been a crushing blow to find that guitar. Hope you’re able to replace it, someday.

  21. I LOVE Tori Amos. It wasn’t until Nymeth’s post on The Blueberry Girl the other day that I realized she and Neil had a connection. Nymeth mentioned Tear in My Hand and I had to listen to it immediately to hear what she was talking about. And then I listened to all of Little Earthquakes (my favorite Tori album) and then all of In the Pink (my second favorite), etc. etc. I haven’t listened to any of her new stuff, but I’ll be keeping my eye open for the new album.

    Great feature, Chris–and the hole in my head is only slightly larger because of it. πŸ˜› And sorry you lost so much stuff to Katrina–did you stay through the storm?

  22. Shanra, Haha! You cracked me up with singing in different languages :p I try to sing in Japanese occasionally and I think it would crack a Japanese person up!! LOL…What are you listening to Arab music wise?

    Carl, I’m so jealous that you’ve gotten to meet her!! One of these days I’d just love to meet her…she’s fantastic. Everyone I know who’s met her says the same thing.

    Bookfool, I think I remember that…didn’t that happen not too long ago? Or am I just losing it :p

    Trish, I love the Tori-Neil connection! Isn’t it a cool one? Under the Pink has gotten me through quite a few hard times in life! What a great album, huh? Yeah, Katrina sucked…I didn’t stay through the storm…we evacuated, but were out of our house for months…still haven’t finished rebuilding actually! We lived in a hotel, a cruise ship, a trailer, an apartment, and now we’re renting a house. We’re almost finished rebuilding though finally 4 years after! When we came home though, the house was just completely ruined…covered in mold 😦 It’s getting better down here now though!

  23. Laughter’s good! (I pretty much gave up on singing along Chinese actually. I am fail.) Mmm… I have two compilation cds. One’s more traditional and acoustic and the other’s with more western influences as well. Very, very pretty. Not that I can tell the difference between the two terribly well.

    Oh, Chris… I didn’t know that about your house. *hugs* I’m glad to hear that you’re almost finished rebuilding, though! That must be a relief.

  24. Saw New Orleans listed as one of the top 10 cities people are relocating to. That’s got to be a good sign, right? I’m sorry about your home, but hopefully the rebuild will be just as nice. To answer your other other question–yes, loved The Historian. So I guess I should stop being a wimp and at least try Anne Rice πŸ˜‰

  25. By the way, Chris, in reference to my intro…

    I call ’em as I see ’em.

    cjh

  26. […] that an awesome graphic?Β  Chris from Stuff As Dreams Are Made On has started a weekly meme called Music Mundays.Β  His inaugural post about it is here. In […]

Leave a Reply

