Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

First of all, depending on when you’re reading this, a happy belated Mother’s Day to all of you wonderful mothers out there! Your children are all so lucky to grow up surrounding by books and I can vouch for every one of you that I know that is a mother that you’re truly a fantastic one 🙂 I know I’ve been blessed with an incredible mother and I hope that everyone had a nice day!

So I’m doing this post early, and I may have to do another one tomorrow depending on what I get for my birthday :p I don’t think I’m getting any books though, lol. My family hates the amount I have right now. So here we go:

Books Bought

None this week!!

Library Books

10112

Books Sent For Review

79

Books Sent as a Gift

8

Books Mooched

1322314156

And now, it’s time for the bad bloggers:

badbloggers

1. Willow by Julia Hoban – Point to Becky for this one. I’m SO excited about it. I’ve been waiting ever so patiently for it to come in for me at the library.

2. Plenty Enough Suck to Go Around by Cheryl Wagner – Another one I’m really excited about! I saw this one at the book tent at Jazz Fest and almost bought it. Then I found it at the library. It’s a memoir of a girl living in one of my favorite areas of New Orleans called The Marigny. It’s a very artsy part of town. Of course it covers the Katrina times too. Looking forward to this one.

3. Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow – How cool does this one look?? Penguin Teen was kind enough to send me a copy of this for review!! Comes out in June.

4. An Edible History of Humanity by Tom Standage – Isn’t that cover just awesome? I just love illustrations like that. It reminds me of old time encyclopedias. So does the whole book!! I’m really excited about this one…like Nymeth, I’ve been on a non-fic kick.

5. The Willoughbys by Lois Lowry – Ok…so if we’re going to talk about awesome people, let’s talk about Jessi from Casual Dread. She won this book from me a long time ago when I had my wishlist giveaway and she actually sent it back to me because she knew I wanted to read it! How sweet is that? Point for Becky for this one…I’ve been wanting to read it for a long time!

6. The Lost Painting by Jonathan Harr – Point goes right to Robin for this one! I’m a huge fan of Caravaggio’s artwork. His paintings have always amazed me…he had a way of painting so realistically and I have to catch my breath everytime I see a painting of his. So I’m excited about this book that’s all about him!

7. The Wild Wood by Charles de Lint – I’m almost positive that this point is for Robin too…though it’s been a long time since this was on the wishlist :p Am I crazy Robin? Did you read this one Robin? lol

8. Shakespeare: The World as a Stage by Bill Bryson – Eva gets a point for this fantastic looking slim volume all about the bard.

9. Sometimes my Heart Pushes my Ribs by Ellen Kennedy – Point to Bookfool for this one!! It’s a short volume of poetry that just looks fantastic. She really liked it too!

10. Microserfs by Douglas Coupland – Point for Kailana. I think…right? Didn’t I see that you read this one or am I crazy?

11. A Northern Light by Jennifer Donnelly – For the Printz collection.

That’s all! And that’s a lot of blame!


23 Responses

  1. Gotta love Bill Bryson! You have so many good books, Chris, that I’m feeling envious (in a good way!). However, I disagree with your family; one can never have enough. Thanks for your sweet sentiments about motherhood. I assure you, sometimes I don’t live up to them. For example, when my mother asked if I was having a graduation party for my son and if so, what would I serve? I replied, “His nuts on a platter.” Now, is that any way for a mother to celebrate? 🙂

    By the way, when is your birthday?

  2. Bellezza, LOL! You crack me up :p I think that your humor (or is it? lol) makes you an even better mom. I hope you enjoyed your day! And my birthday is tomorrow! May 11th! I’ll be a ripe 28 :/

  3. Happy early birthday Chris! LOL, a “ripe 28”, huh? I’m just now getting comfortable being 31. And what do you know, will be turning 32 in the next month. 😛

    Cheers!

  4. Happy Birthday, Chris! I’m glad The Willoughbys got to you in time for your special day. 🙂

  5. Hey, Chris! Thanks for the Bad Blogger points! I think you’re going to like both those books. The Wild Wood was my first de Lint, and I really liked it. And if you like Caravaggio, you’ll love The Lost Painting. It reads like a mystery, but is non-fiction. So good. I didn’t write a review of The Willoughbys, but I listened to it on audiobook (read by Arte Johnson, who was the perfect narrator for the story) and laughed all the way through it. You’ve got some enjoyable reading ahead of you!

  6. Strange Angels by Lili St. Crow is a new series by Lilith Saintcrow, one of my favorite authors. I’ll be interested in your review.

    I remember those ‘ripe ol’ ages of 28’… especially now that I am approaching the incredibly young age of 50. I hope your day is as nice as you, sir.

    cjh

  7. Christina, Well happy very early birthday to you too :p I stopped really counting birthdays now :p After 21 they just mean you’re getting older, lol.

    Jessi, Thanks again!!! I was so excited when I opened that! You should’ve seen me, lol. I had totally forgotten about it!

    Robin, So it was you…good 🙂 I remember now that it was your first de Lint! Glad you’ve enjoyed him so much ever since. The Willoughbys does look like one that would be fantastic on audiobook. And I’m SO excited about the Caravaggio book!! It looks really good!

    CJ, You’re so so sweet 🙂 Thanks for the birthday wish. And I had no idea who Lilith Saintcrow was! I’ll have to check out some of her stuff!! You should email Penguin and see if they’ll send you a copy of this one! They’re really nice. And 50’s not old at all! My mom just turned 55 and she’s still as young as they come 🙂 Age is just a number…I need to learn that, myself, lol.

  8. First of all, happy birthday, Chris!!! I hope you have a wonderful day 😀

    An Edible History of Humanity does sound awesome! And I love the cover. I hope you enjoy Microserfs. You should read Eleanor Rigby (and Girlfriend in a Coma along with me 😛 ) first, though…Microserfs was the only Coupland book so far that disappointed me. It’s nowhere near bad or anything, but it’s my least favourite of his by far.

    And that was indeed very sweet of Jessi!

  9. Happy Birthday, Chris!

    And, nope, haven’t read Microserfs, yet. I second Ana, you should read Girlfriend in a Coma with her. Very good idea!

  10. Actually, scratch that. Kailana’s comment made me realize I somehow confused Miscroserfs with Shampoo Planet! Miscroserfs is very good. But still, read Girlfriend in a Coma with me first 😛

  11. You know, I could do a book coveting post every Monday after reading about your new acquisitions! Looks like some seriously good stuff there. The Edible History of Humanity has me especially intrigued. And I’ve been wanting to read A Northern Light for quite a while, but luckily that one I don’t have to buy as I can just raid Annie’s shelves. Oh man, sooooo many books…

  12. Happy birthday!

    A while ago I read The Turk by Standage about a chess-playing automaton. It was outstanding! I hope you find Standage as engaging in this other work.

  13. I’m reading Willow right now and I LOVED A Northern Light!! All of them look delicious!!! And I’m hoping that your birthday brings you many more reads!! Happy Birthday!!

  14. Happy birthday Chris! 🙂

  15. Happy Birthday, Chris!

  16. I was going to say, Ana. You told me you disliked Shampoo Planet. You told me I should read Mircoserfs. I was reconsidering reading it! I have it on the May pile.

    OH! Chris, do you want to read Mircoserfs with me after you read Girlfriend in a Coma with Ana? I think that sounds like a good book for us. Once we review The Forest of Hands and Teeth. I am actually visiting again to see if you have your review up or not. 🙂 Are you doing tomorrow instead?

  17. First of all… HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!! (here’s hoping your family surprise you with lots of books!)

    Had Willow on my wishlist for a bit now ever since Clare reviewed it.

    & I’ve had the Bill Bryson on my shelf for a ages, really must get around to reading it!

  18. Nymeth, LOL…good to hear that Microserfs is good! I’ll definitely read Girlfriend in a Coma with you!! Let me know when you’d like to aim for. I get so confused with all of these Coupland titles that have entered my house latel :p And thanks for the birthday wishes!

    Kailana, It’s a deal…we’ll read Microserfs after I read Girlfriend in a Coma with Nymeth. And yes, I am scheduling Forest of Hands and Teeth to post today, but it won’t post until 8 pm :p I wanted to give people time to read this first…but it’ll be up later on!

    Debi, You’re so lucky to be able to pull stuff off of your daughter’s shelves :p I have a feeling I’d have a field day going through Annie’s shelves!! I need to do my book coveting post soon. I’m loving seeing everyone’s posts! This has been a great mini-challenge! Doesn’t edible history of humanity look great?

    Lily, thanks! Really looking forward to the Standage 🙂

    Staci, Thanks a bunch 😀 I’m really looking forward to both of those!

    Lena, Thanks!

    Becky, Thank you too 🙂

    Bart, Thanks man! No books, but I surprised myself with a couple 😉 Willow looks great, doesn’t it? Why do I have a feeling that Bryson will sit on my shelf for a while too? :/

  19. Oh, really! Off to throw post together, then! I have no idea what time it is here when it is 8 there, but I think I have a couple hours. 🙂 I had a busy day!

    And, I am so incredibly excited that you and Nymeth are reading Girlfriend in a Coma! That’s pretty much my favourite Coupland… then, there is the fact you might not like it… hm… Now, I am nervous! lol

  20. Squeeeee! I got a Bad Blogger point! I’m so happy. 🙂 You are a mooching king, feller.

  21. ooh, that edible history of humanity sounds sooo good! IF there’s one thing I’ve learned from those food books it’s that food is behind all great discoveries and explorations. Will definitely love to hear what you think.

  22. I’m a week behind, but, happy birthday! Lots of good books this week – I really, really enjoyed The Lost Painting, given that I know just about nothing about art history. I also got a copy of An Edible History of Humanity, which I’m excited about… hopefully I’ll get a chance to start that tonight!

  23. Dude, somehow I missed your birthday and I feel like a right bastard! 🙂 I am so sorry. I hope it was a happy one and that you celebrated and were celebrated properly. All my best wishes for a wonderful year my friend!

Leave a Reply

