Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers Vlog #2

Ok…so here’s another Mailbox Monday/Bad Bloggers vlog. A couple of quick notes…

  • Sorry for the total rambling
  • Debi, I swear I can say your name :p I kept wanting to say Debri for some reason :p
  • Nymeth, I can’t say your name :p I have to say Nim-eth, not Nye-meth, but we’ve already had this conversation and since we agreed that that’s ok, I’m sticking with it.
  • I swear that The Screwed Up Life of Charlie the Second is about more than “just a teenage boy and he’s horny all the time”
  • To The Story Siren, I hope your name’s Kristy because that’s what I just told the world >>
  • Please excuse the hair sticking up in the back…just woke up from a nap :p

So enough ramble, here’s Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers for the week!

17 Responses

  1. great vlog! šŸ™‚ as always of course. You are reading some pretty fun stuff! Keep it up yo.

  2. i think i’ve just fallen in love

    with your bookshelf. and i love your vlogs! keep them coming šŸ™‚

  3. Bethany, Thanks šŸ™‚ I had lots of great books come in this week!

    Lena, LOL…I have to do bookshelf closeups one day. There’s nothing I love more than staring at peoples bookshelves! Glad you enjoyed it šŸ™‚

  4. I second the bookshelf love – they’re gorgeous and all filled up!

  5. Lily, And there’s another one that you can’t see that’s also full…plus the giant bookshelf in my room that is my TBR bookshelf which is overflowing…and then there are the piles on the floor of course :p

  6. First reaction to the vlog? Books!!!

    Debi is going to get a lot of points for I Never Saw Another Butterfly, I think. I knew I’d forgotten to order a book…

    3:30 You have Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell? It looks like it; you’re sitting in front of the big black volume there and it keeps taunting me when you move away going “You can’t read the text on my spine, but I look like it! Neener, neener, neener!”

    One day I’m going to attempt finishing that book again. (I’ve tried twice now and can’t get past the second chapter, but it took me years to be able to read more than a page of Pratchett’s work, so I’m hopeful this will follow the same pattern.)

    Book avalanche? (Also, Chris, I have to ask. What kind of microphone do you have? I’ve seen you and various others all doing audible vlogs and I’m a little jealous. I suspect it’s just one either built-in or attached, but… yes, curious.)

    They all sounds very interesting books! ^-^

  7. Aww, so sweet of Rich! I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Head Cases.

    I love your Poppets! And also the other two little guys. And I vote yes to showing your shelves up close next time!

  8. OMG!! I saw those poppets and I too fell in love with the reading poppet!!! (but I couldn’t buy it).. too darn cute isn’t it?!!! Obviously it is you bought it hahahaha..

    ok ummm… loved the vlog. I liked the other one too! loved watching you and hearing you do the books!! so cool!.. I don’t know that I deserve the point but I did read and talk about In the Woods but it was quite some time ago.. from that Cath read it and reviewed it too. but I know others did also, maybe kailana??? can’t remember now either.. anyway there was more than one! That was a good book!… almost as good as the pern books! (have i put a guilt trip on you yet???? sheesh.. and this isn’t even the third book which is the best of them!)

  9. Another great vlog!!! I seriously love these! And I seriously love your bookshelves, too! *swoons*

    You know what…call me “Debri” all you want! I’ve always hated Debi, but I think Debri sounds kinda cool. šŸ™‚

    Awww…that reading poppet. I’m in love.

  10. The poppets are so cute! I love those bookshelves too.

  11. That was really fun! I really like vlogs, but I am STILL not doing one! lol I am starting our buddy read book today. I guess you are ahead of me at this point! I’ll have to try and catch-up. Busy weekend so I didn’t read as much as I had planned. And, I so want the poppet reading, but I usually leave it at that.

  12. Argh! I only saw about 2 minutes worth and then the vlog went haywire and started speeding up and then gave me an eerror message. I loved what I saw. You do not have a trashy accent, Chris!!! Love the bookshelves!

  13. Chris –

    So first, I’ve been reading Nymeth just like you: Ny-meth. Now I find out it’s really Nye-meth? Really? LOL.

    Great vlog (your accent is totally cute, btw) and great book selections.

    I read In the Woods last year and really enjoyed it. Let me know what you think of the ending. Also, Voodoo Season is moving right up to the front of my TBR pile. I will have to see if the library has that one in.

  14. Shanra, Oh if only that were all the books I had :p There are SO many more where those come from :p Yes, that is indeed Jonathan Strange that you see in the background. I absolutely LOVED that book, though it is one that’s very slow paced and I can see some people having a hard time with it. The last third of it isn’t slow paced at all though! I loved it…definitely finish it up someday šŸ™‚ As for the microphone, I just have the normal microphone that’s built into my macbook. It’s decent though I wish it were a little louder…of course, I could talk louder, but that’s me talking at a normal volume :p I don’t want to yell, lol.

    Nymeth, Isn’t Rich the greatest?? I can’t wait to read Head Cases!! It’s been on my wishlist for SO long! I’ll definitely show the bookshelves in a closeup sometime…I just got my new camera so that may be an excellent opportunity! Aren’t the poppets and little figurines great??

    Deslily, It is you!!! I’m so glad you reminded me!!! I keep a running tab of who’s to blame on my Amazon wishlist but then I delete them off the list when they come in the mail like a jackass and can’t remember who the point goes to :p But it’s definitely yours! Looking forward to reading that one! I couldn’t pass up that poppet when I saw it, lol…it was too great!

    Debri, :p I will indeed NOT be calling you Debri, lol. I love your name! I can’t picture you as anyone else but Debi…and I love the spelling šŸ™‚ I know a couple of people who spell it Debbie, but I like your spelling much much better!

    Other Chris, Aren’t those poppets great?? I fell in love with them when I saw them!

    Kailana, You should splurge on a reading poppet :p And you should do a Vlog!! lol…I’m 200 pages into Forest of Hands and Teeth and I really like it, though it reminds me a little of the movie The Village. Take your time with it..just let me know when you’re ready!

    Bookfool, Well why the hell did it do that?! lol…I’m glad you don’t think my accent is trashy :p I do, lol. There’s poppets at the end Nancy! Poppets!

    Christina, Yay! Another person that says Nymeth like me!!! lol…I can’t wait to read In the Woods…I think it sounds really good and I love a creepy book!

  15. The most bemusing thing about Jonathan Strange for me is all the people going “If you like Austen, you’ll love this!” (Substitute Austen with a writer of your choice from the same period, if you prefer.) and all the people going “I liked one of the two, but not the other! You lie!” It’s one of the most a/bemusing discussions I’ve ever seen. I’m firmly in the last camp right now, but we’ll see. ^-^

    You have a very good built-in mic. ^-^ (And you really have to let go of this notion that your accent is ‘trashy’, you know. It isn’t.)

  16. I know Steph did a review of In the Woods not too long ago:
    http://www.stephandtonyinvestigate.com/?p=1514

    She also wrote one about its sequel, The Likeness:
    http://www.stephandtonyinvestigate.com/?p=1582

  17. I must have missed your other bad blogger vlog–really enjoyed this one. I always want to say nimeth also. Actually, I’m going to continue to do so šŸ˜› and I think it’s totally hilarious that you made a video with bedhead (although it doesn’t look it). Kudos to you. šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

