April Round-Up

I must say that April has been one HELL of a month for reading! I got so much more read than what I ever would’ve imagined…but has the TBR pile shrunk? Hell no…it’s grown :/ Here’s what I read…click on the title for the review:

27. Antediluvian Tales by Poppy Z. Brite, 2007, 114 pgs., 2/5
28. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins, 2008, 374 pgs., 4.5/5
29. Every Man For Himself: Ten Short Stories About Being a Guy ed. by Nancy Mercado, 2005, 154 pgs., 4.25/5
30. The Ice Dragon by George R.R. Martin, 2007, 112 pgs., 2.75/5
31. Embryoyo by Dean Young, 2007, 105 pgs., 2/5
32. We Never Talk About My Brother by Peter Beagle, 2009, 219 pgs., 3.5/5
33. The Horse Boy by Rupert Isaacson, 2009, 357 pgs., 5/5
34. Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson, 2009, 278 pgs., 5/5
35. Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix, 1998, 153 pgs., 4.5/5
36. The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, 2005, 199 pgs., 3.75/5
37. Skim by Mariko Tamaki and Jillian Tamaki, 2008, 143 pgs., 5/5
38. Silk by Alessandro Baricco, 1996, 91 pgs., 3/5
39. Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork, 2009, 312 pgs., 4.75/5
40. The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi, 2004, 341 pgs., 5/5
41. Wetlands by Charlotte Roche, 2008, 229 pgs., 4.75/5
42. Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist, 2004, 472 pgs., 5/5
43. Tales from Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan, 2008, 96 pgs., 3.75/5
44. The Tale of One Bad Rat by Bryan Talbot, 1995, 136 pgs., 4.5/5

That’s 18 books!! And 3,885 pages!!! Yep yep yep…April has been my all time reading record! Go me 🙂 Favorites…that’s a tough one this month..so many good books. I LOVED Let the Right One In. It’s everything I look for in a vampire novel..or just in a novel in general. Skim was an incredible graphic novel…really loved that one. Marcello in the Real World is fantastic YA that I’d recommend to anyone. The Horse Boy is the best non-fic I’ve read in years. Just an incredible story. Wintergirls: Wow. The Hunger Games: Wow. Every Man For Himself was a great short story collection that I liked as a whole and I usually don’t like short story collections in their entirety. Wetlands just kind of rocked my mind…in a good way, though slightly disturbing..just slightly 😉

As for least favorites..hmm..I was really disappointed by Antedelluvian Tales and I so didn’t want to be. The Ice Dragon wasn’t my favorite story ever, though I read it during a very stressful time…and I didn’t fall in love with the poetry in Embryoyo. Can’t wait to see what fantastic things May has in store!!

As for the winner of my mosaic giveaway, that’s going to be Lily 🙂 I’m super impressed with her. She actually did research on this and got 10 out of 12 correct!! Wow! Here are my answers:

mosaic5203201

1. First name? That would be Chris
2. Favorite food? Cheese!! Not hamsters….
3. What high school did you go to? Brother Martin
4. Favorite color? Blue
5. Celebrity crush? Evangeline Lilly…A man can dream, right?
6. Favorite drink? Newcastle Brown Ale (if we’re talking alcoholic)
7. Dream vacation? Osaka, Japan
8. Favorite dessert? Cupcakes! Preferably chocolate with vanilla icing.
9. What do you want to be when you grow up? A counselor 🙂
10. What do you love most in life? Friends.
11. One word to describe you. “zany”
12. Your flickr name. chrisa511…though I had to search as “chris a 511” to get something for this (that wasn’t entirely obscene) I knew no one would get that one :p

How some of these pictures relate…I have no idea :/

Send me your snail mail address Lily at chrisa511(at)gmail(dot)com and I’ll get your copy of Four Letter Word out to you!

12 Responses

  1. Cool I got a few right although I didn’t leave a comment. What a great reading month, may your May be excellent in a Bill and Ted kind of way 🙂

  2. Great reading this month. Eighteen books – very impressive.

  3. wow that’s a lot! I don’t seem to see Pern in there anywhere hmmmm… and we are 6 weeks into the challenge hmmmm…

    I had a poor showing for April.. but they were all really enjoyable so I can’t complain!…
    very impressive baby boy!!

  4. Actually, if we’d have used our brains, we should have easily gotten your flickr name…or so it seems in hindsight anyway. And I was dying to know what that hockey picture was about…I would have remembered if you EVER mentioned being a hockey fan so I knew that couldn’t be it. Can I ask a really embarrassing question–who is Evangeline Lilly? She’s absolutely gorgeous, but I’ve never heard of her. (I know, I know, get out the cave once in a while, Debi.)

    And now…WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! WOW! What a reading month, my dear friend! And the best part…so many winners! And so many I now want to read. 😀

  5. what, what a month!

    and, so many good books too. loads of 4.5, 4.75 and 5s! excellent 😀

    and yeah, if dominic monaghan can get with her then you definitely stand a chance!

    “let the right one in” looks particularly good. is it scary? or is it more fun-gothicky?

  6. I’m sooooo glad you enjoyed Persepolis! It’s definitely become one of my favorites!

  7. Chris, you won, check here.

    And, btw, congratulations on finishing 18 books last month, wow. 😀

  8. Wow, Chris, you had an awesome reading month! 🙂 Very impressive!

  9. Rhinoa, I like that 🙂 I may have to start using that one, lol. Thanks!

    Vivienne, Thanks!!

    Deslily, :/ I swear I’m going to get to Pern, lol…I’ve been overflowing with library books lately! That’s all I’ve been able to read, lol.

    Debi, Nope…I know absolutely NOTHING about hockey, lol. We don’t have a hockey team down here, so I don’t really follow it :/ Evangeline Lilly plays Kate on LOST! She’s definitely not my favorite character, but I do think she’s a great actress and she is gorgeous!

    JP, Evangeline Lilly dated a hobbit?! I didn’t know that! I miss Charlie on LOST though…he was a great character. Oh, and Let the Right One In is definitely scary! It’s not a happy go luck, teenage love vampire book, lol.

    Matthew, Same here! I thought it was an amazing book…I have to see the movie now!

    Claire, I just saw that!! So excited..thanks 🙂

    Kailana, I know! I felt like you this month, lol.

  10. Congrats on having such a great reading month! There ain’t nothin’ bad about a month when you knock back that many books with such high ratings.

  11. where were you hiding under a rock? you didn’t know Evangeline and Dominic Monaghan were an “item” for a long time! sure.. I know… turn the other way.. hard to think she’d choose a hobbit over you huh?

  12. O_O Chris, you read a lot. O_O Where do you find the time?!

    The Ice Dragon is an oddness little thing for me. I’ve read it twice now and I never know quite where to put it or what to do with it. I like it, but… Oddness little thing. As a question, since it’s only short and you said you did read it at a stressful time for you, do you think you might reread it at some point in the (far) future to see if your reaction is the same then? I know I’ve had that with at least one book before.

Leave a Reply

