Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

Once again, I’m not in the mood to do a vlog…sorry guys, so I’m just doing a normal post this week. Here’s what walked into the house this past week:

Books Bought

16

ARCs, Review Copies

23

Mooched Books

334353627282

Library Books

92102112122141

badbloggers2

1. Wetlands by Charlotte Roche – I heard an interview with the publisher of this one and knew I had to have it. My review of it is already up!

2. The Angel’s Game by Carlos Ruiz Zafon – I’m so excited about this! I was jumping up and down when I got an ARC of this one. And the sad thing is, I still haven’t read Shadow of the Wind! Can you believe that?

3. Freewill by Chris Lynch – The first of many Printz books that I mooched. I’m trying to mooch the whole Printz collection :p

4. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer – Another Printz Book…point to Dewey for this one.

5. Postcards from No Man’s Land by Aidan Chambers – Printz book

6. Many Stones by Carolyn Coman – Printz book.

7. JPod by Douglas Coupland – It’s more Coupland…need I say more.

8. Hard Love by Ellen Wittlinger – Printz book and LAMBDA winner.

9. Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta – I bought the audiobook of this one, but I always have a hard time with audiobooks…so I checked this one out of the library.

10. Savvy by Ingrid Law – I’ve been curious about this one, and then Kailana reviewed it and I knew I had to read it…so a point to Kelly.

11. The Tale of One Bad Rat by Bryan Talbot – Nymeth’s fault…

12. Tales from Outer Suburbia by Shaun Tan – I just love Shaun Tan’s work and hadn’t read this one…and Eva reviewed it and it sounded really good…so point to her!

13. Thriteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher – Just sounds really good.

14 Responses

  1. oh my god oh my god oh my god you got Angel’s Way?? I’m so jealous. And you haven’t read Shadow of the Wind???? Get on that.

  2. Sometimes I swear I just get so weirded out by the coincidences that constantly pop up where you’re concerned. It happens all the time with Ana, too, and I just commented to her about it recently. This time, in particular, I’m referring to 1. The Tale of One Bad Rat (which has been on my radar for a while now, but that for whatever reason I just picked up from the library, too) and 2. Many Stones (which I don’t remember even hearing of before yesterday when I was searching our library’s website…Annie and I are studying South Africa this quarter and I was looking for a couple fiction books with a South Africa tie-in and found this and added it to my “pick-up next library trip” list). Yep, just weirds me out. In the very nicest of ways, of course. πŸ™‚

    Anyway, so many awesome sounding books in that pile that I’ve been dying to read! Annie’s been trying to get me to read House of the Scorpion for a long time, but I just can’t seem to get to it, despite the fact that it sounds so good.

    Oh, and I really think you’ll enjoy 13 Reasons Why. I’ve read more than one review where people thought the whole idea of this girl killing herself seemed unrealistic, but I have to disagree. I won’t say more now before you read it, but like I said, I think you’ll appreciate this one.

  3. If it helps you any, I haven’t read Shadow of the Wind yet either. (Although it’s on my TBR pile!)

  4. Thirteen Reasons Why is amazing – I couldn’t put it down.

    I have Tales from Outer Suburbia on my list as well – and Eva’s the bad blogger that got it on my list. πŸ™‚

  5. I dropped everything to read Angel’s Game. I’m partway through it. It is So Good! Are you reading it yet?

    The Shadow of the Wind is excellent. Some of the characters are in both books.

  6. Well, you’ve certainly been busy over at Bookmooch πŸ˜› I pretty much want to read all the books you got, except the ones I’ve already. I think you’ll love Bad Rat. Can’t wait to hear your thoughts.

  7. Lu, Will do!! I was at the bookstore today…should’ve picked it up!

    Debi, I have little weird coincidences like that too :p Like just today after reading your comment I realized that I got “I never saw another butterfly” from the library! And that’s all your fault :p I had never heard of Many Stones either, but I want to read all of the Printz books and it was a Printz finalist one year. And I’m almost finished the Tale of One Bad Rat now…it’s fantastic! House of Scorpions looks good, though I’ve had a little bit of an aversion to it for some reason…don’t know why. And I’m really excited about 13 Reasons Why! That one looks good.

    Shanra, Phew! I’m not alone in that one πŸ˜‰

    Lily, Good to hear! Can’t wait to start it. Tales from Outer Suburbia was excellent! I have my review of it going up on Wednesday.

    Other Chris, I haven’t started it yet! But I’m really anxious to. Do you have to read Shadow of the Wind first? Is it a sequel?

  8. Nymeth, Indeed I have been :p And it’s not getting any better…lol…I’m thinking of putting myself on a bookmooch ban..but it’s free books!!! How do you stop asking for free books?? LOL…I’m asking the wrong crowd, huh? Almost finished One Bad Rat! It’s fantastic.

  9. Oooh, Thirteen Reasons Why IS really good – you’ll enjoy it.

    (And you should totally read Shadow of the Wind, it is fabulous.)

  10. Shadow of The Wind was good, so I’m sure you’ll love the newest one by him. You lucky dog, I’m already looking forward to reading your thoughts. I hope you like Savvy, too; it’s quick and light, but it’s got lots to think about. Sometimes I wonder how far I’ve passed the mentality of a thirteen year old when what she’s dealing with still gets me thinking. πŸ˜‰

  11. I hope you enjoy both Savvy and JPod! Happy reading!

  12. Crap! ok so i put Angels Game on my wish list.. I have Shadow of the wind in my TBR pile but haven’t read it yet either..

    it really is a good thing we don’t live in the same house..we’d never be able to move around thru the piles of books!!!

  13. No, you don’t have to read Shadow first. A couple characters make cameo appearances in Angel’s Game. And The Cemetery of Forgotten Books is in both books. They are different stories running on the same timeline and in the same city. They are both really good though!

  14. I haven’t read The Shadow of the Wind, either, although I have a copy and I got that same ARC. You’ve vlogged? I must have missed it when I was trying to catch up with myself (which never did work, but I kind of gave up on me). I’d love to hear your voice, but you will never see this chick vlogging. Nope, not gonna happen.

Leave a Reply

