The Reading Meme

I saw this at Kailana’s blog and had so much fun reading her answers…and I have no idea what to post…so I’ll do this :p

1. What author do you own the most books by?
For sure, that would be Orson Scott Card…I own over 40 books by him :O

2. What book do you own the most copies of?
The Hobbit…I have SO many copies of The Hobbit :p You can tell that I love it…I still don’t have the one I want the most though and that would be the gorgeous edition that Alan Lee illustrated. One of these days I’ll get it. My favorite current edition of the Hobbit is one that I got from Barnes and Noble on their clearance rack…it’s an Annotated Hobbit! And it has all kinds of cool stuff in it!
3. Did it bother you that both those questions ended with prepositions?
Nope…trust me, I have no right to correct anyone else’s grammar :p

4. What fictional character are you secretly in love with?
I wouldn’t be too upset if I bumped into Victoria Gardella from Colleen Gleason’s Gardella Vampire Chronicles πŸ˜‰ And I thought Keri (or is it Kerry?) from Martin Millar’s The Good Fairies of New York was a really cool girl πŸ™‚

5. What book have you read the most times in your life?
I’m sticking with Kailana’s answer here…A Wrinkle in Time…though the Hobbit would be a close second.

6. What was your favorite book when you were ten years old?
It would either be A Wrinkle in Time or The Indian in the Cupboard…remember that book?? I LOVED it!

7. What is the worst book you’ve read in the past year?
Probably Antediluvian Tales by Poppy Z. Brite…which is really ashame because I like her stuff and it was a book of short stories about New Orleans 😦 I did like the last story in the book though!

8. What is the best book you’ve read in the past year?
Good Lord, I have to choose one! Let’s go with Looking for Alaska by John Green…or The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman…or Four and Twenty Blackbirds by Cherie Priest…or The Book of Flying by Keith Miller…or A Fine and Private Place by Peter Beagle…or…you like how I’m sneaky like that, huh?

9. If you could force everyone you tagged to read one book, what would it be?
American Gods by Neil Gaiman

10. Who deserves to win the next Nobel Prize for literature?
Give it to Neil Gaiman!


11. What book would you most like to see made into a movie?
American Gods by Neil Gaiman…with the right director…


12) What book would you least like to see made into a movie?
American Gods by Neil Gaiman…with the wrong director

13. Describe your weirdest dream involving a writer, book, or literary character.
Mmmm…nope…don’t think I have one off the top of my head.

14. What is the most lowbrow book you’ve read as an adult?
I don’t like this question so I’m not going to answer it :p

15. What is the most difficult book you’ve ever read?
Probably some crap that I’d never want to read again that I was forced to read in high school….like delving into every single little tiny piece of symbolism in The Scarlet Letter…can’t we just enjoy our books instead of tearing them apart?

16. Do you prefer the French or the Russians?
The French, though to be fair, I don’t know the Russians all that well. I took French as a language from first grade all the way through college though, so I’m partial to them! J’adore France!


17. Roth or Updike?
Haven’t read either….

18. David Sedaris or Dave Eggers?
100% Sedaris! Though I have read nothing of Eggers…but he can’t be better than Sedaris whom I love.

19. Shakespeare, Milton, or Chaucer?
Considering that the title of my blog is taken from a line in The Tempest, I have to go with Shakespeare :p


20. Austen or Eliot?
Definitely Austen, though I’ve only read Persuasion

21. What is the biggest or most embarrassing gap in your reading?
I’m with Kailana here…classics. They just don’t interest me all that much :/


22. What is your favorite novel?
Speaker for the Dead by Orson Scott Card. Though American Gods is really tied with that.

23. Play?

The Tempest


24. Short story?
Hmmm…I always really liked Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper even though everyone else hates it…I like just about any Neil Gaiman short story as well…and there’s one by Orson Scott Card where a baby gets flushed down a toilet and comes back to haunt the father that’s really cool, but I can’t remember the name of it :/ It’s the first story in Maps in a Mirror.

25. Epic Poem?
Haven’t read many, so it’s really tied between Homer’s The Odyssey and Seamus Heaney’s translation of Beowulf…would have to go with Beowulf if forced to choose!

26. Short(er) poem?
I don’t really have a favorite poem persay…but I love most all of Whitman’s Leaves of Grass and I used to be a big Sylvia Plath fan.

27) Work of non-fiction?
Oh no…another one of these questions…What it Takes to Pull me Through by David Marcus or (:p) Dream Homes by Joyce Zonana….or The Horse Boy by Rupert Isaacson!


28. Who is your favorite writer?
As a whole, I have to go with Neil Gaiman


29. Who is the most overrated writer alive today?
Ok…I worry too much about other people’s feelings, so I’m not going to answer this one :p

30. What is your desert island book?
Can I have a desert island suitcase???? Seriously I think I might just end it all if I was given this scenario, lol.

31. And … what are you reading right now?

Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist and about to start Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris…right Kailana? πŸ˜‰

14 Responses

  1. well now.. you own the most books by Orson Scott Card, but your favorite author is Gaiman… looks like Gaiman has some catching up to do!

    I haven’t seen the copy of the Hobbit that you want.. now I will keep an eye out for it so I can see the art work!

    I was trying to think of the book I’ve reread the most.. I’m guessing that would be the first 3 Pern books…oh..wait.. now that my coffee is kicking in… that would be “kesterwood”! gee imagine that! edits will do that! hahahahaha

  2. thats a really fun meme!

    i’m so with you on all your gaiman points. especially on the right director thing. thankfully old neil seems to be something of a name in hollywood these days, so i can’t see a film getting made without a lot of involvement and endorsement from him.

  3. I always really liked Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper even though everyone else hates it

    Seriously? I don’t think I’ve ever encountered anyone who hates that story! I love it, myself.

  4. Oh, yeah! I remember ‘Indian in the Cupboard’! It was never a favourite, but I did read it. πŸ™‚ My answer to that questioned resulted in a big debate because apparently I could not have read V.C. Andrews when I was ten, and when I said I had in fact, it turned into the many reasons why ten-year-olds should not read her… Anyway, yes, on the Charlaine Harris question!

    This is a fun meme, huh? And, I probably should’ve worried about people’s feelings, but I answered the question about the overrated author anyway!

  5. Fun meme, I just saw it on another blog. I’ll have to steal it.

    You may have convinced me to pick up a copy of American Gods πŸ™‚

  6. I may have to steal this as well. As for American Gods _ I don’t know about a movie, but I think it’s episodic enough to make an awesome TV series. Once again, in the right hands.

  7. *yes* I loved The Yellow Wallpaper and ended up writing a paper on it in college. On the other hand,I didn’t really care for Herland.

    I loved the Ender’s series and devoured them in college. How’d you feel about Bean? I actually met Card while in the middle of reading the series. He was a very fun and charming man. In fact, I think he even laughed at my inappropriate humor.

    Cheers!

  8. So I was confused on whether or not you like American Gods…? lol j/k I will have to look that book up. Fun meme!

  9. OOh!!!! “Let The Right One In” is a book I definitely want to read.

    Also want to read “Mrs Palfrey at the Claremont” by Elizabeth Taylor. (Although from what I read the book is a little less sweet and has more emotional complexities than the movie.)

    No matter: a good movie makes me want to read the book. Only way I ever really start reading fiction.

    Persuasion, definitely! The Russians, of course! (Although I too adore the French. But the Russians are just so damaged and stressed.)

    No Updike? Try Self-consciousness. It’s non-fiction but it’s my favorite of his books.

    Hope all is well. And love the photo/avatar. -C

  10. […] for a meme! (Pinched from Kailana, Chris, Maree and Book […]

  11. I didn’t know you took so much French! That’s so cool. πŸ˜€ Did you study abroad in France in college?

    (Do you like how out of all those fascinating book0ish questions and answers, I manage to zero in on the non book thing?! lol)

  12. Loved your answers to #11 & 12. I’m off now to make sure American Gods is on my wishlist.

  13. This was so fun to read! I have to admit that I probably couldn’t answer half of them though.

    It is soooo fun watching (well, watching isn’t the right word, but I’m sure you know what I mean) Rich read American Gods! Every morning we have to talk about what he read the night before (because I always fall asleep before he does). I loved it the other morning; he was so excited, “I finally get it…they’re American gods!” It was just so cute. And then this morning he asked, “Do you know what tumescent means? I looked it up, but it wasn’t in my dictionary.” I said, “I think it means “swelling.” And he goes, “Yeah, that makes sense. That Gaiman guy is even more warped than I am.” LOL But I do believe we’ve got another fan on our hands. πŸ™‚

  14. […] 30, 2009 in meme, reading I saw this months ago at Stuff As Dreams Are Made On, who got it from Kailana; I’m finally getting around to posting my […]

Leave a Reply

