Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

No vlog this week guys…sorry 😦 I just have a migraine and I’m a little worn out from the read-a-thon, so I’ll do a traditional Mailbox Monday/Bad Bloggers post. Here we go!

Library Books

152232

Mooched Books

42526181111

Bought Books

7191101131

Just to warn everyone, it’s going to get much worse :p I’ve decided to mooch all of the Printz books and honor books so that I can have my own little collection of Printz books. And they’ve like all been available on Bookmooch! So I have like 20 mooches pending right now :p So yeah, it’ll be bad soon. The good thing is, the books aren’t costing me anything…just taking up space, lol. The four books that I bought from Bookcloseouts.com were only $1.99 each!! Can you believe that? I also picked up 5 books that I’ve loved to give away in the future, so watch for those. They were having a big $1.99 fiction sale…don’t know if they still are. Ok, lets start giving out blame:

badbloggers11. Let the Right One In by John Ajvide Lindqvist – This one is Carole McDonnell’s fault :p When I read Twilight, she asked me if I had heard of this book…she said it’s much better. I’ve started it and boy is it! It’s fantastic!!

2. North of Beautiful by Justina Chen Headley – Becky’s Fault, Becky’s Fault! It’s a YA book that she reviewed and it went right to my wishlist.

3. City of Bones by Cassandra Clare – Sheesh, this one is the whole blogging world’s fault. No one in particular, but can’t wait to read it!

4. True Believer by Virginia Wolff – No one’s fault…just one of those Printz books that I was talking about :p

5. The Vintner’s Luck by Elizabeth Knox – This one’s actually Renay’s fault though she probably doesn’t know it! I found it on her bookmooch wishlist..yes, I’m stealing books from underneath your feet now, Renay :p Looks really good! Can’t wait to read it!

6. Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vita – This one has been on my radar for a looooong time and it’s killing me trying to figure out who’s fault it is!! I know somebody put this one on my wishlist. I didn’t mark it down though 😦 Can anyone help?

7. Girlfriend in a Coma by Douglas Coupland – Did anyone think we could go a whole Bad Bloggers without giving Nymeth a point?

8. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger – I’ve just been dying to read this again. Haven’t read it since high school.

9. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr – This is another one that I’ve seen tons of reviews of and it just sounds really good. No blame for this one.

10. Memory and Dream by Charles de Lint – No one’s fault…it was only $1.99!!! I couldn’t pass it up, lol.

11. The Secret Fruit of Peter Paddington by Brian Francis – Joanne already got a point for this one. The original title is Fruit and I had to return it to the library unread 😦 But I got a copy on Bookcloseouts for $1.99! So now I can read it on my own time.

12. Christ the Lord: The Road to Canna by Anne Rice – I have the first book in this series checked out and haven’t read it yet…don’t know if I’ll want to read this second book, but figured two bucks was a cheap enough price to take a gamble on it.

That’s it!

25 Responses

  1. You are reading ‘Girlfriend in a Coma’! I really hope you like it! πŸ™‚ Nymeth is supposed to read it this month, too!

  2. I was going to say it’s funny you’re blaming me for that book, as I’ve yet to read it πŸ˜› I was going to bed to it in April, but I’ve barely been reading so it looks like it’s going to be May. Maybe we could read it together!

  3. er, GET :shakes head at self:

  4. The Vintner’s Luck! A book I’ve heard of! (And, you know, loved to absolutely bits when I read it. I plan to reread that somewhere nearer the release date of the sequel. It’s a stand-alone, but that’s utterly beside the point. (Any excuse to feel not-guilty about rereading it, really.)

    Actually, I’m fairly certain we’ve had this conversation before. ^-^; I do hope you’ll like it! For the style if nothing else.

    Don’t worry about not doing a vlog. Taking care of yourself is the more important part. *nods*

    And ha! No books to add to my wishlist! (Yet.) *proud of herself*

  5. I’m sorry you have a migraine: I hope you feel better soon! :/

    The idea of owning all of the Printz books is AWESOME: if I hadn’t cut myself off of bookmooch I’d totally join you in that. So I’ll stop doing arithmetic, hehe.

    Oh, and Nymeth, I’m laughing so hard at your first comment. Tell me…how does one bed a book?! hehehe :p

  6. You’re going to need another Read-a-Thon pronto with all of that reading ahead of you. πŸ™‚ Hope you’re migraine goes away soon. (I’ve got one myself. You have my sympathies.)

  7. Yikes – should have written “hope your migraine goes away soon,” not “you’re.” Sorry. Migraine and photo editing all day does not make one a good proofreader of one’s comments.

  8. Your mother is a Saint.

    …. that’s all I have to say. :o)

  9. Let the right one in is at the cinema here at the moment and I hear its very good. Hopefully I’ll get a chance to see it, but I look forward to hearing what you think of it! Good horde!

  10. I’m reading Let the Right One in, at the moment, and am really enjoying it so far as well, but it’s a library book, late back, and someone else wants it, so it might have to go back without me finishing it 😦 Or I could just pay the fine πŸ˜‰

    And Memory and Dreams is currently working it’s way up the TBR pile as well!

  11. Aw Chris, sorry to hear you’ve got another migraine! I’m guessing the read-a-thon doesn’t help when one’s prone to migraines, huh?

    Whew…I’m glad to hear you’ve got 20 or so books on the way. Otherwise I’d worry about withdrawal for you…this week’s 12 just doesn’t seem like enough. πŸ˜‰

    And Nymeth, you must reeeeeeally be looking forward to Girlfriend in a Coma, huh?!! Sorry, I’m so juvenile. πŸ˜‰

  12. The Vintner’s Luck was one of my favourite reads last year. Hands down, it has my favourite last line in a book. Well, second only to the last line in Lord of the Rings.
    I liked City of Bones but it made me want to go and bite rocks a little bit. But then, so did the Twilight books.
    I haven’t read Memory and Dream for years, but good find!

  13. JUST FOR THE RECORD: I love Douglas Coupland, I do, but not enough to want to, er, bed his books. Get your minds out of the gutter, people!!

    That is all πŸ˜›

  14. I think Chartroose might have read Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name by Vendela Vita, but I’m too lazy to go look for you.

    Hope you are feeling better!

  15. Kailana, The point for Girlfriend in a Coma was totally supposed to go to you!!! I completely forgot that :/ I’ve fixed it now in the sidebar! You’re up to 3 πŸ˜‰

    Nymeth, Mmmhmmm, we all know that you want to “bed” Coupland’s books. LOL…seriously, thanks for the laugh…I needed that. BTW, I’m TOTALLY up for reading Girlfriend in a Coma with you in May! Just let me know when you want to start!

    Shanra, We have had this conversation before πŸ˜‰ In fact, I’m so damn excited about this book since you said it’s one of your favorites! It’ll be hard not to just start it right away!

    Eva, The migraine came back today :/ I wish they would just go away!! lol..I’m actually really excited about owning all the Printz books :p I want to like start a Printz shelf, lol. And I’m waiting for Nymeth to write a post to educate us on how to bed a book :p Ok…maybe that wouldn’t be appropriate….

    Betty and Boo’s Mommy, Thanks! I hope yours goes away soon too…they’re really no fun at all 😦 And you’re right! I am going to need another read-a-thon!! I could benefit from about 20 of them, lol.

    Deslily, Boy is she! lol…I got 4 more in the mail today too :p She liked to have a shit fit!

    Mariel, I can’t wait to see the movie! It’s out here on DVD but I’m going to finish the book first! It’s fantastic so far!

    Bart, Pay the fines, pay the fines! lol…This is one that I couldn’t imagine turning in only half read. Memory and Dream looks great! Thick, but great!

    Debi, Isn’t that sad when 12 books into the house is unusually low :p I think the read-a-thon really did do a number on my head. But I’d do it all over again to be honest with you…what can I say, I’m a glutton for punishment :p And Nymeth’s comment had me losing it! She cracks me up.

    Maree, Ok…so now you don’t KNOW how bad I’m dying to read the last line of The Vintner’s Luck, lol. But I won’t! I’ll save it for when I actually read the book :p

    Nymeth again, Stop making excuses :p

    Care, You’re totally right! It was Chartroose!!! Thanks so much for the reminder πŸ™‚ I’ve given her her point that is due to her!

  16. i’m sorry, but anne rice should have stuck with vampires! i could NOT get through her religious books to save my life (or soul). hope you have better luck!

  17. Oh, dear… Now just watch you dislike it because I love it so much… *nervous*

  18. I loved Let the Northern Lights Erase Your Name. I like hazy books like that.

  19. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Wicked Lovely and Let the Right One In! I love Wicked Lovely and really want to read Let the Right One in!

  20. Hahaha, you sneak! That’s funny, though. Maybe you can read it first and vet it for me! πŸ˜€

  21. Book, Line and Sinker, I have a feeling that I’m going to agree with you completely, lol…Anne Rice was one of my favorite authors for a long time…and then she went and got all holy roller on us :/ I heard an interview with her the other day and she said she’ll never go back to the Vampire Chronicles/Mayfair Witches…that made me sad 😦

    Shanra, LOL…I’m sure I’ll end up loving it…it’s very rare that I’m not in love with a book :p

    Claire, Score! Can’t wait to read it!!

    Amy, I’m really looking forward to Wicked Lovely! I’ve heard so many great things about that series. I’m about halfway through Let the Right One In and it’s so good! It’s very graphic though…she’s not shy like Stephanie Meyer is, that’s for sure :p I tend to like graphic though :p

    Renay, I know!! I felt horrible when I mooched it, lol…like I was stealing it from you..I’ll let you know how it is though πŸ˜‰

  22. Can’t wait to read what you think of City of Bones as I loved it – can’t wait to read City of Ashes. I bought Wicked Lovely too this week.

  23. Well, if you ever mooch it back out, feel free to poke me. MOOCHES BETWEEN FRIENDS are awesome! πŸ˜€

  24. I loved Girlfriend in a Coma! It went straight to the keeper shelf.

  25. Wicked Lovely was great. I just read it about a week ago. AND I thought North of Beautiful was a very good book as well.

    Sheesh Chris. It’s not like I’m trying to take credit for anything, but I’ve been trying to get you and Carl to read Memory and Dream for over a YEAR!

Leave a Reply

