For Dewey…

Eva’s hosting a mini-challenge this hour that focuses on our memories of Dewey. I have to do this one even though I just said I’m going to bed.

I was just telling Nymeth on the official read-a-thon blog that the first time I interacted with Dewey was during the first read-a-thon that she hosted….the first one there was. I had so much fun just following everyone’s progress, so I decided that I’d join in the fun in my own little way and I probably read about 4 books in 8 hours. I still remember that day. They were mostly kids books.  Anyway, I was just rambling along and Dewey stopped by my blog and told me that I should register for prizes even though I hadn’t officially signed up. I didn’t. lol. And then she kept coming back all day to see how I was doing and checking on me. I remember feeling special for some reason. Dewey had a way of doing that. She made everyone that she came in contact with feel special. She was so warm and giving….Let’s just say thank God this isn’t a vlog right now because I wouldn’t be a pretty sight. This one has been quite a roller coaster of a read-a-thon for me. It was put together so well, but I just miss Dewey so much and I thought about her a lot today. And when it comes down to it, I think that’s a good thing. She’d want us to be continuing on like we are. I know it. Where ever you are Dewey, know that you are loved and missed.

14 Responses

  1. *hug*

    It’s been a bittersweet 24 hours, hasn’t it? I know what you mean about how she mad every feel special – valuable, respected. She never ever treated anyone like they didn’t matter.

    You deserve some rest now. Sleep tight, Chris. You did great.

  2. Beautiful, Chris.

  3. very nicely written, chris!

  4. *hugs* One of the things that always amazed me was that she was so important in the book blogging community, but she treated everyone as her equal. This post brought tears to my eyes, so I’m sure a vlog would have had me breaking down.

  5. Oh Chris, you just said that sooooo perfectly…she had the most amazing gift for making everyone feel special. Everyone! This truly has been a roller coaster day. For those first couple hours, I didn’t even know if I could actually go through with it. I glad we all stuck it out though, for Dewey, for ourselves, and for each other. (((HUGS)))

  6. Chris,

    What greater tribute than to remember somebody’s first kindness toward you? Nice post about Dewey, and congrats on making it this far in the read-a-thon!

  7. That’s a lovely memory Chris. Sleep well!

  8. What a beautiful post of very special memories. This read-a-thon was an incredible tribute to her. Rest well, Chris.

  9. I definitely agree with you. Dewey had a way of warming up with other people when they met her even just online.

    I missed her entries in her blog….

  10. Beautiful post, and you have some special memories of Dewey. She did make everyone feel special.

  11. Hey Chris, I am off for the day, so I just wanted to stop by and say hi! I’ll be back for a proper visit tomorrow! Hope you have a great day!

  12. I’m so glad you decided to share that instead of going to bed. You definitely honor Dewey with your remembrance of her and I can certainly see why this was a difficult read-a-thon for you and for everyone else who was close to her. I’m sure she’d be thrilled with all the great books read, community activities participated in, and money raised for charity.

  13. you ROCK!! WOO HOO (I had this problem last year – I couldn’t turn off the cheerleading thing, put down the pompons….)

  14. I totally understand what you mean when you said Dewey could make everybody feel special.

Leave a Reply

