Read-a-Thon Update #6

Currently Reading: Marcelo in the Real World by Francisco X. Stork

Total pages read: 91

Total pages read cumulative: 586

Total books read: 4 (Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix, The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, Skim by Mariko Tamaki, Silk by Alessandro Barricco)

Time spent reading: 1 hour 5 minutes

Total Time Spent Reading: 5 hours 50 minutes

Caffeinated drinks consumed: 3 and working on 4!

Money going to Free Arts For Abused Children from me: $58.60

We’re getting close to that halfway mark and I’m really not that tired! Though I was a few minutes ago…but then I read the ending to Silk and well…that woke me up ๐Ÿ˜‰ Fantastic book by the way. It’s a beautiful love story about a silk worm merchant, his wife, and a woman in Japan. Actually, it’s much more than that, but a beautiful story.

We’ll be eating dinner in the Howard household around 6:00, so I’ll probably take another break then. Until then, it’s time to start Marcello in the Real World!

I have to send a HUGE thanks to Robin at A Fondness for Reading! I’m sorry if you didn’t want this broadcast Robin, but I thought it was so incredibly sweet. She’s decided to match me in my contribution to Free Arts for Abused Children! You totally rock Robin!!! ๐Ÿ˜€

And now, here’s me with my coffee from PJ’s…inspired by Bethany at B&B Ex-Libris (click to see her coffee pic :).

coffee

10 Responses

  1. Look at you! You have read a TON, and now I want another something to drink. The library is a great place to be, but I am really not supposed to have food. I have a little, but just little snacks that wouldn’t make a mess..shhhh!

    Yah for you, and that is SO AWESOME that Robin is going to match your givings ๐Ÿ™‚ That is such a great cause too.

    Keep going strong!

  2. Yay! Chris you’re doing such a great job and for an amazing charity. How super sweet of Robin to match you on that too. And you’re wearing the cool reading shirt!! I wanted to wear mine today too, but it was in the laundry – me+laundry=epicfail ๐Ÿ˜›

  3. First of all, you look like a rock star or something in that picture, lol.

    I started laughing a lot when I read “Though I was a few minutes agoโ€ฆbut then I read the ending to Silk and wellโ€ฆthat woke me up.” I know just what you mean! And I’m so glad you loved it. ๐Ÿ˜€

    You’re up to four books already: you’re awesome! And Robin’s awesome for matching you in contributions! The read-a-thon is so full of awesomeness. ๐Ÿ˜€

  4. Thanks for your sweet words, Chris. It is such a good cause, and we’ve been such a great team in memory of Dewey. Thought I ought to just keep that going! I love the photo…Here’s Hollywood! Keep up the good work! I’m making note of those books you’re reading. They sound really good and all new to me!

  5. That is very cool of Robin to do that. I’ve got an update about our charity choice but I’m saving it for tomorrow. You’ll see then how I can be so stupidly giddy about it. It takes very little to entertain me.

    Keep up the reading!!!

  6. I see you’re in Marcelo! I hope you’re liking it ๐Ÿ™‚ I am happy to say that I am *almost* finished with The Bone Doll’s Twin–though I haven’t picked it up today–and the second and third books came today! I’m loving that book so far ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Great news about the extra donation!

    Keep having fun with the reading Chris!

  8. WOW…how awesome of Robin!!!

    Love the picture! And I loved Skim! And I love how many books you’re whipping through, even if it does make me feel a tad pathetic myself.

  9. Great news about Robin’s match! Great photo and I hope your liking all you reads.

  10. Oooh, that’s fantastic of Robin!

    And I’m glad you’ve enjoyed Silk!

Leave a Reply

