Read-a-Thon Update #5

Currently Reading: Silk by Alessandro Barrico

Total pages read: 143

Total pages read cumulative: 495

Total books read: 3 (Among the Hidden by Margaret Peterson Haddix, The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, Skim by Mariko Tamaki)

Time spent reading: 50 minutes

Total Time Spent Reading: 4 hours 45 minutes

Caffeinated drinks consumed: 2

Money going to Free Arts For Abused Children from me: $49.50

Alrighty! So I’m almost up to 500 pages. Just finished Skim and it was just amazing. One of the best graphic novels I’ve read. Has anyone else read this one yet? Can’t wait to review it! Now that I’ve finished that one, that’s three books that I can now return to the library!! Cool, huh? Thanks so much to everyone who has been leaving comments!! I really appreciate it…it keeps me going πŸ™‚ No I’m going to take a 30 minute break and go get some coffee. See everyone in a couple of hours probably!

While I’m gone, here are my answers for the current Library Mini-Challenge:

What is the name of your local library? What city is it located in?

My library has a rather boring name..it’s the East Bank Regional Library. It’s located in Metairie, LA which is a suburb of New Orleans.

How often do you go to the library? If you’re a regular, do the staff know you?

I go to the library at least once a week. If the staff know me, they sure don’t show it!!! Our librarians are rude, mean, and cranky…isn’t that sad?

Do you browse while you’re there or just pick up items you have placed on reserve?

If I have time I’ll browse for a little while…most of the time I just pick up what I have on reserve. I almost always check the popular fiction shelves though to see what goodies I can score!

What is your favorite thing about your local library?

My favorite thing about my library is the size of it! It’s huge! We have the largest public library in our parish (we call them parishes instead of counties in Louisiana). And the YA section is really, really good!

11 Responses

  1. It seems like you’re having a great day so far. I haven’t read Skim, but I am looking forward to your review. I really haven’t read very many graphic novels at all besides Maus–which you so need to get to, by the way! I’m on my second book of the day, but we’re not getting along all that great :/ I’m trying to decide if I should start something else or push through this one.

  2. I hope you enjoy Silk: I loved it! πŸ˜€

    I think I’m going to take a lunch break soon…although I’ve been stuffing Chex Mix in my face so much, I’m not sure I’m hungry! lol

  3. Oh! Oh! Do leave a quick note on how you enjoyed Silk! It’s one of the (very!) few books I’ve come across in the Read-a-Thon that I’ve actually read!

    At least your library has a name beyond “Library”, though. ^-~ Although my mum’s cousin works there, so that’s a point in its favour. One of the highlights of kiddie library visits was seeing if said cousin was working at the time and chat a bit.

    *waves pompoms in enthustiastic and virtually possible movements to procrastinate* (^-~)

  4. The only graphic novels I’ve ever read were Maus and Maus II, so I’ll have to check out Skin. I’m trying to read more books outside of my comfort zone.

    Our librarians are rude too; they’re so not helpful. Must have something to do with librarians in southern suburbs.

    I hope you enjoy Silk. You’re only $100 away from your goal; I think you can do it.

  5. Wow! Nice job so far!
    Lezlie

  6. Thanks for recommending that graphic novel! I’ll need to check it out. I have an increased hunger for them after reading American Born Chinese.

    You are doing so great!!! Almost 500 pages πŸ™‚ for sure you will get to 1500 pages. Keep it up!

  7. I loved Silk, hope you enjoy it.
    How sad that the librarians are moody, ours seem to change each week, though I visit on a Sunday mainly and most of them seem like school kids but they’re friendly.

  8. Enjoy your coffee Chris, you’re going great!

    Hope you enjoy Silk, I read it last read-a-thon and really enjoyed it.

  9. My goodness, but you’re kicking some reading ass here, my friend! Ooooooh, and guess what…previously undisclosed info: I picked up a pile of books at the library the other day (even though I semi-promised I wouldn’t)…guess what one of them is!!!! Come on, come one, guess. Yep, Skim! I think you just picked my next read for me! πŸ˜€

  10. Atwood huh? Love her but I haven’t read The Penelopiad yet. Congrats on nearly 500 pages!!

  11. Nice job! Looks like you’re holding steady. πŸ™‚

    I have thought about teaching Among the Hidden; I really like Haddix.

Leave a Reply

