Better Late Than Never, Right?

So I woke up late 😦 It looks like I’ll be doing a 23 hour read-a-thon. But coffee is in hand and so is book! Ready to go. I skimmed through everyone’s opening posts real quick and I’ll start commenting as we go. Just need to get started. Not sure how often I’ll update…we’ll see. I wanted to take a second to remember Dewey. Somehow it felt a little empty going into this readathon without her. She was so wonderful, such a community builder, such a kind kind spirit who really inspired me in everything she did. And she was so down to earth and approachable to everyone. Needless to say, I was hurt by her lost as I know so many of us were. But as I started scrolling through everyone’s posts today and seeing the excitement build last night, I realized that the empty feeling I was having started to fill. In fact, she’s left so much of herself down here with us. And this is one of those things. So I’m doing this for you Dewey, and I’ll have a blast!! Good luck everyone..and most of all, have fun! And drink lots of coffee….

Here’s the first mini-challenge:

Where are you reading from today? I’m reading from my house and I’ll most likely be found either under the porch, on the sofa, or in bed…but not sleeping there!

3 facts about me … Hmm…I’m bad at these. I hate healthy food :/ Seriously, I try, but that stuff just doesn’t taste good. I’m a slow reader…about a page a minute. I’m a creature of comfort in every sense of the word!

How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours? 11…yeah, I know I won’t get all of those read :p

Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)? My goal is to read 1,000 pages again. 1,500 would be nice, but not gonna happen.

If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, Any advice for people doing this for the first time? Have fun! Read short books! Drink lots of coffee! If a book is putting you to sleep, put it away! And once again…have fun!

15 Responses

  1. Well since you got an extra hour sleep you’re well-rested for a reading all-nighter, right? πŸ˜› Good luck!

  2. I was wondering where you were, mister!

    I know just how you feel *hug* I miss her a lot, but wow, look at what she inspired.

  3. Happy reading today, Chris! I’m here cheering you on! We were supposed to go visit the Grandboy this weekend, but he’s got a nasty cold so we postponed our trip until he feels better. *disappointment!* But it gives me time to be a real cheerleader. So, cheers to you!

  4. Well, some readers have decided to start a little earlier, so I suppose technically you could cheat and make your Read-a-Thon last an hour longer… ^-~

    Good morning! (Never mind it’s afternoon for me. ^-~)

    Enjoy your reading! *waves pompoms* May you be pleasantly surprised by your page count by the end of the 24(23) hours!

  5. I’m glad you got up, even if a little late! Like Nymeth, I was wondering where you were at first. πŸ˜€

    I totally sympathise with your thoughts on Dewey…I’m glad to see so many people honouring her today, though!

  6. (((((HUGS))))) I have to admit I’m having a harder time getting going on this read-a-thon than I thought I would. I just hate it, but my heart is not in it. I don’t know why I’m being such an idiot, why I can’t focus on what Dewey’s given us all. All I seem to be able to do this morning is miss her. Thanks for this post, Chris! Love you!

    And hey, I think you stole those three facts from me!

  7. Happy Read-a-thon Day! Enjoy …

  8. You can always just chalk the extra hour up to a nap, and at least this way you’ll be all set for the wee hours of the morning. Happy reading day!

  9. I’m not good with the 3 facts either πŸ˜‰ And I’m also a slow reader. Good luck!

  10. hi! I haven’t read your post but wanted to come by and wish you a good start – or whereever you are in the time line! Also, when you need a quick tech bread: can you update the link so when you comment (unless it’s only me?!) I can click back and get THIS your new blog? just an idea – not a criticism or chastisement!!

    Sis Boom Bah!

  11. tech BREAK!!!!! a break! not a bread. unless you’re already hungry.

  12. Sara, lol..we’ll see about that!

    Nymeth, I’m here, I’m here! I’m having a great time by the way.

    Robin, Well I’m sorry you’re missing the grandboy today, but I am thrilled that you’ll be here πŸ˜‰

    Shanra, hell no! lol..I’ll be lucky if I make it the whole 23 hours, trust me :p

    Eva, I’m here!! Your video really touched me this morning by the way.

    Debi, I know how you feel 😦 I couldn’t get into it either and I’m still not in it like I was last couple of times. Lets have fun though!!! Come on Debi!! πŸ™‚ Hugs to you.

    Betty and Boo’s mom, Thanks!

    Christina, Very true!! Though I may end up taking another nap later anyway :p

    Other Chris, I hate sharing facts about myself, lol…they’re always so random

    Care, For sure! I totally forget to do that on blogs 😦 That way you won’t have to fish through all of my many blogs :p And yes, I would like some bread.

  13. A toast to Dewey!

  14. Yes, hard to do this without thinking of Dewey. Looks like you’re off to a great start, though, even if you did oversleep. πŸ™‚

  15. Turns out I’m a slow reader too. I never really thought so until this morning, but I’m pretty steady at a page a minute as well.

Leave a Reply

