The Sunday Salon – Read-a-thon and Reading Update

First off, Happy Easter to all of you who celebrate it! We had a nice Easter at my Gram’s house with lots of food and family. Nice to see everyone again.

I said in my last post that I wasn’t going to make a pile for the Read-a-Thon this year, but apparently I lied :p I can assure you that I won’t read all of these books, but it would be really nice if I could! Maybe Kailana and Nymeth could, but it’s not happening for me :p Anyway, here’s the list:

readathonbooksFrom top to bottom, they are The Reluctant Fundamenatlist, Marcello in the Real World, The Love We Share Without Knowing, Ratha’s Creature, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Silk, The Penelopiad, The Hourglass Door, Lux the Poet, Among the Hidden, and Skim.

I’m so SO excited about the Readathon and about all of these books! I wish there were more than 24 hours in the day and some magic to keep me awake to be able to finish all of them. They look fantastic!

As for my current reading, I finished Dean Young’s poetry collection, Embryoyo and really wasn’t too fond of it. So I won’t really be reviewing that one. There were a few poems in the second section that were good, some that were funny, but overall I wasn’t a big fan of the poems in this collection. They seemed extremely pessimistic and angry and while that is absolutely a valid emotion and type of expression, I wasn’t nuts about the way he portrayed those emotions. But, to each his own. I’m sure others would love this seeing as he was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

I also finished reading Peter Beagle’s short story collection, We Never Talk About my Brother. There were stories that I absolutely loved and stories that I wasn’t nuts about. That’s pretty much how ever short story collection is for me. They always have their ups and downs. Beagle really is a fantastic story writer though and the book starts off very strong. He has a gift for making the unbelievable seem very believable and sets his stories in our world rather than in a fantasy world…you can almost believe his fiction despite their fantasy nature. Definitely worth a read though. I read it a few stories a night and that worked perfectly. I don’t think it’s meant to be gobbled up in one chunk, but to be enjoyed one story at a time. One thing that drove me nuts though was the size of the print. It was so damn tiny! That’s a pet peeve of mine…tiny print. Turns me off of reading a book most of the time. But I got past it for this one, so I guess that’s saying something.

And that’s probably the extent of the review I’ll write for Beagle’s book too. I’ve been feeling so lazy lately! I haven’t been blogging, commenting, anything. And it’s not that I’m in a funk, because I’m not…I don’t know what’s up. But I’m feeling more in the blogging spirit today! In fact, I think I’ll sign off now to go catch up on all of those Google Reader posts 😉

23 Responses

  1. I love your list! The Reluctant Fundamentalist is a fast read. I have Barrico’s Without Blood on my read-a-thon list. I suggest you blog when you feel like it for now. Don’t worry about the rest. Have a great week!

  2. Good luck on the catching up on your blog reading! Sheesh, I’m so far behind it’s not even funny. Think I’m going to have to pull the old “mark all read” lever soon…and I so hate doing that.

    Anyway, I love your pile there! I could be wrong, but I think I’ve had The Reluctant Fundamentalist on my read-a-thon pile the last two times…and still haven’t read it. Wonder if I should try again. I haven’t actually made my pile yet, but I was sooooo bad today and bought eight new books today, using the read-a-thon as an excuse. ‘Cause you know, I just have nothing to read here in this house. Ha. Yes, I am so pathetic. And you, my friend, are a BAD influence. 😉

  3. I am very excited for the read-a-thon as well. This is my first time and while I no I won’t manage to finish half of what I have planned to read, it will sure be fun to try.

  4. Vasilly, Is the Reluctant Fundamentalist any good in your opinion? I’ve heard mixed reviews of it, but it’s short enough to check it out myself! And thanks for the encouragement on blogging when I feel about it! 🙂

    Debi, I hit the mark all as read button :/ Oh no! But I remember a Good Stuff post that you did that I have to comment on!! Must fix that. I think you have had The Reluctant Fundamentalist on your list for the last two 😉 That’s possibly how it made it onto my list, lol. I can’t wait to see what you bought!!!!

    Molly, It’s going to be so much fun! And I’m sooooo thrilled that you’re participating this year 😀 Have fun!

  5. Okay, you have a great pile. I’ve read the Penelopiad (excellent, excellent, manages to be both funny and poignant), The Reluctant Fundamentalist (just try putting it down), and Absolutely True Diary (hilarious, and extremely quick read).

    I’m sure the time will pass quickly with all of those books!

  6. I like your list! I think you’ll enjoy Marcelo in the Real World and Absolutely True Diary and of course the Barzak one as well. The others I admit are new-to-me, we’ll have to see how persuasive you are in your reviews to see if they stay that way 🙂 I want to get to The Hourglass Door. And I just noticed–silly me–you’ve got Among the Hidden on your list. I’m curious to get your opinion on this one. I love Haddix and she’s bit of a marathon-inspiring author. Once I started, I didn’t want to stop. 🙂

  7. I love pictures of book stacks. Especially really large ones like this that I can geekily peruse up close ha ha. I’ve read Silk and The Penelopiad, but the rest I will have to check from your posts during the read-a-thon. I made a list, too, but will be adding more, so I’ll post my stack later on in the week, or right before the read-a-thon starts. Good luck good luck!

  8. Kim, Yay! I’m even more excited about all of my books now 😀 And I’m thrilled to hear that The Reluctant Fundamentalist is an addictive read…that’s the one that I was most nervous about 😉

    Becky, Marcello is all your fault! So I’m sure I’ll like it 😉 Robin gave me Absolutely True two christmases ago and I still haven’t read it! Isn’t that horrible? Did you get The Hourglass Door too? It looks really good, doesn’t it? I can see how Haddix is an addiction. I’ve been dying for the new Missing book to come out!! So good!

    Claire, I like pictures of book stacks too 🙂 I don’t do them nearly enough. I can’t wait to see what your list is for the read a thon!!! Hope you have some good stuff planned…I’m sure you do 😉

  9. There are things about The Reluctant Fundamentalist that I think most readers had problems with. I loved the abrupt ending but a lot of others had a hard time with it. I didn’t like the intensity of the protagonist’s feelings for a female friend while others didn’t seem to mind it. Another complaint that some people had was that the story was “too” political.

    Either way, it is a short and mostly satisfying read.

  10. Hefty haul! I’d like to read The Reluctant Fundamentalist for the longest time. I’m settling for another similar book (don’t have the title here now) because I can’t find a copy here. But I’m looking forward to your review (if and when you actually read it).

    Goodluck on the Read-A-Thon! Marcelo in the Real World! The Penelopiad! Lovely, hefty haul indeed!

  11. Sherman Alexie’s novel is great…as usual. I just read it a couple of weeks ago. Looks like a great list!

  12. Love your read-a-thon pile! The books you’ve got there that I’ve read are all excellent, and I think they’d all make great read-a-thon picks.

    I’m hoping to start Peter Beagle’s collection next week. Since I tend to enjoy short stories more than you, hopefully there’ll be less misses for me.

  13. Yeah, I don’t think I could read all those books in 24 hours, but thanks for the vote of confidence! lol I hope you have fun with your reading next weekend. 🙂

  14. I’ve never heard of Skim. Is that by Japanese? From your list I’ve read Penelopiad and it’s pretty good. I have Reluctant Fundamentalist on my mental list for a while and haven’t got around it. I have Silk on my physical shelf.

  15. I think I’m gonna have Silk on my pile for the read-a-thon too 🙂

  16. Okay, I just browsed Skim on Amazon, got all the info that I wanted. Sorry I kept coming back with very few lines at a time..

  17. Good luck with your stack–looks like a nice selection!

    I’ll be serving as a cheerleader for my first time participating in the read-a-thon. Can’t wait!

  18. Nice stack of books! Thanks for reminding me of Skim and The Absolutely True Diary…, I’m adding them to my list now.

  19. Vasilly, Thanks! Abrupt endings and me get along very well 🙂 I like non-traditional endings, so I’ll probably enjoy it. And politics don’t bug me too badly unless they’re extremely heavy handed. Looking forward to this one!

    Lightheaded, Thanks!! I can’t wait for the read-a-thon! It’s going to be so much fun 🙂 I wanna see what you’re reading now! lol

    Becky, I’ve heard that about it! Can’t wait to dig into it!

    Nymeth, I think you’ll be a really big fan of Beagle’s collection. There were only maybe about 2 or 3 stories that I wasn’t nuts about. But most of them were really fantastic! Hope you enjoy it!!

    Kailana, You so could read all of those books in 24 hours :p I guarantee it!

    Mee, I’m glad you found out about Skim! Doesn’t it sound great? I can’t wait to read that one! And Silk looks fantastic and perfect for the readathon! Hope you have fun 😀

    Melissa, Thanks! That’s awesome that you’re going to be a cheerleader!! That should be fun 🙂

    Tanabata, Skim looks really cool, doesn’t it? I love the cover to that one…it’s fantastic! Hope you have fun!

  20. Okay, where’s the pile for the second 12 hours? 😛

  21. Bart, Seriously, there probably will be one, lol. Nymeth already added two to the list that aren’t shown that I forgot to add…Perks of Being a Wallflower and Sweethearts.

  22. Ah, Perks, great book and an excellent choice for the Read-a-thon!

  23. Good luck reading all those books.

    It is sad, but the majority of Americans never read one book, and most people if they do read don’t make it past the first chapter.

Leave a Reply

