Random Bulleted Post

Inspired by Lu from Regular Rumination, I thought I’d bullet out some thoughts that are flying through this fuzzy migraine infested head.

  • I love you Relpax. Seriously…if you have migraines and nothing works, you have to ask your doctor for this wonder drug. Relpax is the only thing that gets rid of my migraines and it’s kicking in as we speak. I don’t know what I’d do without this thing! And it’s non-narcotic/habit forming!
  • Like Lu, I’m loving the weather right now. It’s very spring like outside these days, yet that hazy summer sun is out. It’s just beautiful.
  • Lately I’ve been unable to read just one book at a time. Right now I’m in the middle of three…Peter Beagle’s We Never Talk About My Brother, Rupert Isaacson’s The Horse Boy, and Dean Young’s Embryoyo.
  • I forgot how much I love poetry. Thank you National Poetry Month!
  • Paid vacation is the best thing ever invented. I’m off through next Wednesday and it’s just wonderful! I spent the whole day sipping coffee, going to the library, and reading The Horse Boy.
  • Have I mentioned lately how ecstatic I am about the upcoming Dewey’s 24 Hour Read A Thon?? No? I CAN’T WAIT!!! I haven’t picked out books yet for the read a thon and I don’t know if I will…I may just read on a whim during the thing.
  • I love all of you bloggy people.
  • The Horse Boy is one of the best non-fic books I’ve ever read. Review should be coming up in the next couple of days. Seriously, get this one the day it comes out…April 14th. It’s just amazing. It’s also being made into a documentary/film. Here’s the trailer:
14 Responses

  1. I’m so glad you were inspired! Great post πŸ™‚

  2. Oh, I remember migraine medicines back in high school. One that I took had me calling my mom at work to tell her how fascinating it was that when I heat the keys on the laptop, letters showed up on the screen. hehehehe

    I’m super-excited about the read-a-thon too! And have yet to get books…I think I’ll definitely get a graphic novel or two, but other than that I think I have enough short-ish books to not worry about anything else. Maybe a scary one to stop me from wanting to turn out the light…

  3. Wow, you’re amazing through a migraine! Relplax made me feel like I was having a heart attack. Seriously! I’m so glad it works for you though. Thanks for sharing.

  4. ouchie.. i am sorry you have another migraine !

    people need more than one or even two weeks off a year.. it’s not enough time to destress.. not really.

  5. Sorry about the migraines! I’m glad replax is working for you, though. As for the read-a-thon, you should make a gigantic list! That way, you’d still be able to read by whim, and we’d get the fun of seeing a list πŸ˜›

  6. Glad your meds are kicking that damn migraine’s butt!

    After reading your post, I went to see what The Horse Boy was about…it looks really interesting. Can’t wait to read your review! I just started George and Sam last night. Haven’t gotten far, but what I have read is really good! I know it’s already on your to-read list…and I have a feeling I’ll be telling you to move it to the top.

    I haven’t dug out a pile for the read-a-thon yet either. I think that’s one of my favorite parts of the whole experience. πŸ™‚ Despite the fact that I pile up 35 books and only manage to read two of them. But hey, it’s two I wouldn’t have gotten read otherwise, right? Just a little over a week to go!

  7. I can’t seem to read just one book at a time either, which is so strange for me! So now I’m in the middle of three books…
    So excited about Read-a-thon too! I took the weekend off on purpose, I’m really looking forward to it!!!

  8. I totally agree…Relpax is absolutely amazing!

  9. So, you know our buddy read, I am very happy you haven’t started it yet, because I haven’t either… Would sometime after the end of this coming week be okay? I am trying to get my library pile down and it isn’t a library book… Email me if there is a problem!

    Also, I think I will have to add The Horse Boy to my list…

    And, totally should decide what I am going to do about the Read-a-thon!

  10. Migraines to an avid reader is like diabetes to a chocolate lover. I really do feel for you. I also dread the signs of an oncoming headache, especially when I am reading a good book.

  11. What a coincidence. I was just looking at the press releases for the Horse Boy this afternoon, and wondering if I should read it.

  12. I’ll have to tell my brother about Relpax. His headaches are very debilitating!! You have me intrigued by Horse Boy!! Must go check that out! enjoy your PAID vacation πŸ™‚

  13. Lu, Thanks! I had fun writing this πŸ™‚

    Eva, That’s hilarious! LOL…my headache medicine hasn’t done that to me yet! A scary book is a good idea for the wee hours of the night!! I’ll have to find a good one! I’m also reading a graphic novel..Skim..may throw another one on the pile too though.

    Becky, I’m not always so good with a migraine πŸ˜‰ This one was going away as I typed this post. Relpax tightens my jaw, but that’s all…I can deal with that.

    Deslily, I totally agree! I tend to take a week off of work every 4 months. It keeps me sane :p

    Nymeth, I made a pretty gigantic list :p I pulled at least 10 books for the read-a-thon and I’m POSITIVE I won’t be able to read them all…but it’ll be fun πŸ™‚ I’ll post the list on Sunday!

    Debi, I want to read George and Sam so bad! It sounds fantastic. The Horse Boy is so good!!! I really can’t wait to finish it and review it. I never get excited about reviewing books, but I seriously want to tell everyone about this one. Such a sweet and heart warming/breaking book. I managed to make a big pile of books today for the readathon! I can’t wait to see what you pick!

    Valentina, I just happened to have the weekend off this time, but last time I took off of work too for the read a thon πŸ˜‰ I’m now up to 4 books! Lord!

    Matthew, Yay! Another fan, lol. Sorry you have to use it though 😦

    Kailana, No problem! I have plenty of other reading to do in the meantime…just let me know when you want to start! Probably a couple of days before you start so that I can catch up πŸ˜‰ Definitely add The Horse Boy to your list! It’s fantastic.

    Vivienne, They truly are a curse. I can never read when I have a bad migraine. I just have to sit in darkness until it goes away! Luckily, this one didn’t last long!

    Dark Orpheus, Oh it’s so good! I hope you read it…If you like horses, the subject of autism, Mongolia, shamanism, buddhism, or alternate healing methods, you’ll enjoy it! And I think you’ll enjoy it πŸ˜‰

    Staci, Relpax is a wonder drug! Seriously, have him try it out. I tried everything else including Imitrex and nothing worked. This does. And the Horse Boy is fantastic! Hope you read it. I shall indeed enjoy my vacation πŸ˜‰

  14. Glad the meds are working for ya! I have had one migraine in my life and I still remember how much it sucked.

    Oh man, I need to participate in the Readathon sometime. I’m always having stuff come up and get in the way. Boo!

Leave a Reply

