Every Man For Himself ed. by Nancy E. Mercado

everymanfEvery Man for Himself: Ten Short Stories About Being a Guy ed. by Nancy Mercado
154 Pages
2005
4.25/5

As I was strolling around in the Young Adult section of the library the other day, I came across this book and though “that sounds cool” so I picked it up. It’s a thin book, but packed with huge awesomeness. Nancy Mercado gathered together 10 male authors and asked them to each write a short story about…being a guy. The result is fantastic!

All of these stories feature guys in their adolescence during that age where we start shifting from a boy to a man. And we discover all of life’s amazing gifts and all of it’s cruel tricks. In this short collection, the authors give us glimpses of first love, having to be the man of the house at too young an age, getting bullied, questioning and learning our own sexuality, and pig rearing. Yes pig rearing, but it’s tied to first love…not that way! Get your head out of the gutter people!

The stories are all presented through various points of view and through various genres. All hold a young adult feel to them, but there are those stories that are realistic, one that’s sort of sci-fi feeling, and one that’s told through a graphic novel form. The list of contributing authors is fantastic! The ten authors are: Paul Acapora, Edward Averett, Ron Koertge, David Levithan, David Lubar, Walter Dean Myers, Rene Saldana Jr., Craig Thompson, Terry Trueman, and Mo Willems.

So go ahead and pick this one up if you happen upon it. It’s a nice little read that speaks to everyone in my opinion, not just guys.

9 Responses

  1. lol, that’s an interesting cover πŸ˜› And I like the list of contributors. Thanks for telling us about this one, Chris! I hadn’t heard of it until you mentioned it.

  2. Sounds like a book my son Marc would totally enjoy!! I’ll be on the lookout for it!

  3. Sounds great! I’m been picking up books lately for my boys to read over summer holidays and this one will be a cool addition to the pile πŸ™‚

  4. Interesting idea for a book… Glad you enjoyed it!

  5. 4.25 yeah yeah yeah.. 4.25 yeah yeah lol..
    as long as you enjoy the book it can’t be bad!

  6. This would be such an interesting peek into y’alls minds! :p But I hate that cover…as a girl, it just makes me go “ewwwwwwwwww” lol.

  7. Nymeth, Isn’t it a great cover? :p I love it for some reason, lol. I think you would really like this one…if you find it, check it out!

    Staci and Joanne, Definitely pick this one up for your boys! Its a fantastic read and I wish it would’ve been out when I was younger.

    Kailana, I thought it was an interesting idea too! Very cool book

    Deslily, I know, huh? lol! I laughed at myself…I’m trying to be more discriminatory and honest, but I can’t! I should just change it to a 5 :p

    Eva, You should peek! lol…it’s a fantastic book. And personally I like the cover :p It made me pick it up!

  8. I’m afraid I’m with Eva on the cover thing. Maybe I just have to clean up too much boy pee. Yeah, that was a lovely thought to share, huh? πŸ˜‰ Anyway, I really think I’d like to read this. Like Eva said, “an interesting peek into y’alls minds”…and it wouldn’t hurt me to have a clue with two boys headed in that direction one of these days.

  9. “Packed with huge awesomeness”?

    Then how an I possibly resist? On the list it goes, darn you. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

