Phew!

I’m still here. Sorry I’ve been REALLY bad at commenting on everyone’s blogs lately…I’m still reading, just haven’t been commenting :p Things have been super hectic at work this week. Don’t know why…don’t know what’s going on with people, but it happens. So I haven’t had much time for blogging/commenting/tweeting lately. But I have this marvelous weekend off now and I couldn’t be happier. The weather is beautiful and I have TONS of books waiting to be read.

I went and picked up 4 new books from the library today and added them to the 6 I already have checked out…I swear I’m going to get around to reading them eventually :/ Do you ever feel just overwhelmed at the amount of books that you think will be really great waiting for you to be read? That’s how I feel right now. Every one of the 20 or so books I have on the nightstand are one’s that I’m dying to read, so I’m a tad bit overwhelmed, lol. Which is the reason why I’m in the middle of four books right now. I usually don’t do that…I try to stick to one book at a time, but I can’t help myself.

I’m still reading Peter Beagle’s We Never Talk About My Brother and it’s pretty good so far. I’m reading that one in small doses….mainly just on the weekends, but I’m enjoying his short fiction. I’m also in the middle of The Hunger Games which is FANTASTIC! Seriously, I didn’t think I was going to like this one as much as I am despite all of the glowing reviews. I can tell that it’ll be getting really sad soon though. Hey Scholastic! I really wouldn’t mind at all if you wanted to send me an ARC of the next book πŸ˜‰

I’m also in the middle of a really great library find called Every Man for Himself. It’s a book of 10 short stories by various male authors about being a guy…and it’s a Young Adult book. Really enjoying this one. It has stories by David Lubar, David Levithan among others. And finally, I’m reading a review copy of The Horse Boy which is really fantastic! It’s about a young boy and his horse…the boy has autism. It’s non-fic.

And of course I’m tempted to continue to add more books to the pile, but I’m stopping at 4 for right now. I can’t WAIT until the read-a-thon in two weeks. I’ll actually knock out a few of these hopefully! What are you reading right now? What are you waiting for to be released?

19 Responses

  1. “Do you ever feel just overwhelmed at the amount of books that you think will be really great waiting for you to be read?”

    Story of my life πŸ˜›

    Sorry to hear life’s been so hectic lately…but enjoy your weekend off! Next week is Spring break for me, but I’ll have to finish moving, will still have to work, and I have two essays to write. So yeah, I’ll probably be even busier than if it weren’t Spring break.

    As for reading, I’m LOVING An Anthropologist on Mars by Oliver Sacks. You’ve probably read him before, but if not, do…it’s right up your alley.

  2. LOL, that’s a good one, ‘tad overwhelmed by the books to be read”!!! πŸ™‚ story of my life too. Sometimes i panic because I don’t think I can read them all…….and then I can’t even keep track of what I want to read, there’s so many!! And then, being stressed…..this has been one of my worst periods, these past few weeks, very bad at work, and then getting so sick (which I know are related but don’t make me feel any better!). So i’m not doing much better at commenting regularly either! What am I reading right now? Like 5 books, and wanting to read 50 others!!!! lol

  3. Hooray, hooray, hooray for a weekend off!!! I hope you’re making the most of every second!

    I’ve been having that overwhelmed by too many books that I want to read right this very second feeling for the past several weeks…and it’s seriously stressing me out! And I don’t like being stressed out by books…that’s just so wrong. So I’m on a serious mission to get through some of these library books so I can get on with some of my own books that I want to read…like Nation and The Hunger Games!

    Annie’s off at the Teen Book Festival right now, hoping to meet David Levithan among others. I’ve never read anything by him, but have been wanting to.

    Oooh, and I finally got my copy of We Never Talk About My Brother just today in the mail. Took over a month to arrive…and I’m dying to crack it open. See, one more book I want to read right now.

    Have a fabulous weekend, Chris!

  4. I’ve had the same overwhelming feeling about books too. I’m just glad you’re enjoying yourself. Happy reading!

  5. got a few books in the mail I will post about monday so I can blame those who need blaming… OVERWHELMED in caps! Big time!there’s easy a dozen books in front of my face that I want to read NOW .. and there are TEN books on my wish list that I’m waiting for their release!! TEN! actually… I’m sure it’s more than ten I haven’t seriously checked all the “series” I’ve been reading for some time now….Not sure I want too!

  6. Have I ever felt overwhelmed by great reading material waiting to be read?! Well, that is a perpetual state of mind for me — but, oh, what a great overwhelmed feeling to have πŸ™‚

    I am also anxiously awaiting the read-a-thon. I must admit that I am a bit nervous, but I know that anything I accomplish will be great.

  7. I’ve definitely felt overwhelmed. Continual state at this point. There are so many books I want to read–books that I imagine I would absolutely love–but I can’t get to them all at once. And how can I ever possibly choose between them all?

    I’m really looking forward to the Readathon. Though the thought of preparing for that is overwhelming me. It wouldn’t have to. But for a perfectionist that likes making lists, the idea of making lists to prepare for the final-final list from which to choose…is overwhelming πŸ™‚

  8. I’m reading three books right now, but focusing mainly on one: Peony In Love by Lisa See. The other two are: De Niro’s Game by Rawi Hage (and I have a giveaway for it, too, for BAFAB week!) and Swann’s Way by Proust. Yes, I always feel overwhelmed by all the books I so want to read! It’s frustrating that I can finish only one every few days or so. I wish I can be like Eva who reads about one or two books a day, lol.

  9. Nymeth, I’m on my own spring break next week :p It’s self imposed. I’m off from Thursday through the next Tuesday! Guess what I’m going to do the whole time? Read! I have NOT read any Sacks yet! But I will now πŸ™‚

    Susan, I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been having such a rough time lately 😦 I saw that you were sick. I hope you’re on the mend…in the meantime..enjoy your books!

    Debi, The Hunger Games is SO good! I’m really loving it. Hope you enjoy it too…and Nation is just amazing. Such a great book. Glad I own that one! Annie must be having so much fun!! I wish I could go to something like that. David Levithan is great from the one short story of his I’ve read…can’t wait to read more! Thrilled to hear that your Beagle book arrived! Did you get the signed copy? I had to, of course :p Enjoy it and enjoy your weekend Debi!

    Vasilly, I think we all get that feeling occasionally :p It’s not a bad one to have though.

    Deslily, Oooh, I can’t wait to see what you got!! I love blame posts πŸ™‚ I love seeing the blame and seeing what people bought. They’re my favorites. And I know what you mean about all of those damn series, lol. I’ve started so many of them recently!

    M, There’s no reason to be nervous about the read-a-thon at all! It’s tons of fun! I read for charity last year and had a great time…I think I’m going to do the same thing again. It kept me motivated :p

    Becky, I imagine that you feel continually overwhelmed :p But at least you read really fast! Can’t wait for the Read-a-Thon!!! I say throw perfectionism out the door and just go with whatever you fancy for the read-a-thon :p That’s the most fun way to do it and I think I may do that this year.

  10. Claire, I would be intimidated just by the Proust! lol…I’m curious about the Lisa See book…I think I’m supposed to be getting an ARC of that one soon.

  11. Yeah, April is starting off as a month where I keep picking up books, glancing at them a bit, and then putting them back down… I can’t seem to decide on what I want to read! It’s annoying, actually. Too many choices and not enough time!

  12. I am so overwhelmed right now, so I feel you. MY SHELF! I blame the current state of affairs on you and Nymeth. IT’S ALL YOUR FAULT, GUYS.

    Right now I’m reading The Knife of Never Letting Go and trying to fund my summer book purchases, which include Scarlett Fever by Maureen Johnson, Along for the Ride by Sarah Dessen (have you read any Dessen? Have I nagged you to read Just Listen yet? I can’t remember.), and The Vast Fields of Ordinary by Nick Burd. How I’ll afford all this, I don’t know. So many books!

  13. Hello,
    I gave you an award – you can go here to collect it!

  14. I’m with you on feeling the effects of a hectic week, so glad it’s the weekend.

    Looking forward to your thoughts on The Hunger Games!

  15. β€œDo you ever feel just overwhelmed at the amount of books that you think will be really great waiting for you to be read?”

    I remember my first year of book blogging, suddenly almost having a panic attack over this issue. I still have to kind of skirt around it in my mind, lol.

  16. I think you have everyone thinking the same thing. Definitely overwhelmed with the amount of books I have to read. My biggest problem is the books that other people lend me, I get lent so many and I feel they have to be read by a certain time. I cannot keep up.

  17. Oh to having far more books than we could ever read in a lifetime in a stack. Today is my catch up day, and I’ve finished a book, started another, and gotten a good start on my book reviews. Awesome!

  18. 4 books at one time??? I like you! πŸ™‚

  19. I don’t know where I saw the Horse Boy mentioned before, but I want to read it now!

Leave a Reply

