Not Book Related

Working at a psychiatric hospital can be very unrewarding at times. You have to deal with administration all day who want to “meet budget” who seemingly only care about money and not the patient, you have patients that really don’t want the help but are forced to seek help by family members/their jobs, you have patients that continually relapse and you think “why?! Oh why?!” And you have your people that just make you sad because their mental health seems to just never get better.

But there are days when counseling has to be the most rewarding profession out there. I had a lady today come in for an assessment and her assessment turned into a 2 hour long counseling session with me. She’s depressed…very depressed, and thinks she has nothing to live for. She’s lost her sense of self (though she doesn’t realize this…I pointed it out to her and she had one of “those moments” when she realized it). She was so sweet…and so sad. Our counseling session ended with a hug and I truly feel that I may have saved this woman’s life today. Not to sound conceited because I think anyone could’ve done it…she just needed someone to listen to her.

It’s days like this when I am so happy to be a counselor. In a profession where you see so much hurt, so much pain, so much anger and a sense of loss, it feels so good on that occasion when you see a person improve in just a few minutes. I truly can’t put that feeling into words.

It’s a beautiful day and work was good.

20 Responses

  1. This post put the biggest smile on my face πŸ™‚ I’m so glad you had such a rewarding experience today, Chris. And you know, I would dare guess that you have that kind of impact far more often than you realize.

  2. What a beautiful post, Chris! I’m so glad this person “found” you to listen to her because I know that you listen with the heart, which is so much better and deeper and more helpful than listening just with the ears.

  3. so much hurt, so much pain, so much anger and a sense of loss,…. you hit the nail on the head baby boy.. glad you were there to help!!

  4. Yay for you!

  5. Congrats, Chris. It really does feel good to know that you’ve helped someone.

    cjh

  6. Great post! I know exactly what you mean. I work for a nonprofit that has a crisis hotline. Every night I’m on call is rewarding in a similar way. I really feel like I have saved lives πŸ™‚

  7. This isn’t conceited at all! This really is something important to share (and brag about) I mean really how often do we get to talk about how by just spending an hour of our time may have helped someone through a difficult time? This is amazing! Way to go Chris, your heart is true.

    Letting my mind wander on this subject… It seems you really enjoy doing what you do – helping people – and it’s a major part of your job, but even if you were say a window washer, or a french chef, I think you’d still be the type of person who genuinely wants to help others. This is awesome but it makes me wonder why more people aren’t like this. Are we all so self-involved that we don’t notice the co-worker, classmate or friend that maybe just needs someone to listen, someone to hear their rant, just someone? Am I just being cynical here? I don’t know. It just seems that often when a person seems disjointed the common reaction is to say “oh it’ll get better” or “I know what you mean” or “you’re just having a bad day” and change the subject. Errr it makes me wonder sometimes about whether society has evolved at all. Granted, not everyone is like this, there are hundreds of wonderful people out there and I like to think my friends know I’m always there for them, as they are for me.

    God, I enjoy reading posts like this that make me think! Thanks so much for sharing your lovely story – it renews my faith in mankind. And sorry for going on there – lol!

  8. How blessed you are to have a found a profession that you not only enjoy, but that allows you to help others. And how blessed are they that are helped by you.

  9. Oh Chris, and it’s posts like these that make me love you all the more! Not because it makes me realize what a good guy you are and not because it make me see how you’re out their saving lives…I already knew that, and I’ve told you as much. But because sharing stories like this is so uplifting. Because sharing stories like this might make someone realize that it’s okay for them to share their good news stories. And maybe a whole good news revolution will start. And okay, maybe I’m sounding “fruity” but you just put the biggest smile on my heart!

  10. I swear I wasn’t begging for compliments everyone! lol…just had a good day.

    Nymeth, I sure hope so! It feels like I don’t help anyone sometimes, but days like this make me feel much better!

    Robin, Thanks πŸ™‚ You’re so sweet!

    Deslily, Me too. There sure is a lot of all of that out in the world…glad I could help her some.

    Softdrink, Thanks!

    CJ, It sure does…I know you know what I’m talking about!

    Lu, Very cool! I didn’t know you did that. Isn’t it just a great feeling? How often do you work the crisis line?

    Joanne, I loved your comment in response. It is really sad that more people don’t actually listen to others. The world would be a much kinder place if they did. I have to admit that I’m not always the best listener. I can turn it on when I’m at my job but when I’m off of it I often don’t act as good of a listener as I should. But I always try! I’m sure your friends all know that you’re there for them…it’s a good feeling to have friends like that πŸ™‚

    Molly, I really am blessed! Thanks πŸ™‚

    Debi, You have me blushing over here πŸ™‚ lol. I sure hope that this starts a “good new revolution”! That would be fantastic πŸ˜€ I love reading good news! Like your “good stuff” posts! I absolutely love those and I always look forward to them!

  11. That’s great to hear, Chris!!

  12. Working in a place like that, I can imagine that you see so much bad stuff that when you have a moment like that… it makes it worth it. It takes a special kind of person to do that line of work and to actually care about what they do and if they have an impact at all. Just think of how great things would be if everyone just shut up and listened every once in a while! Great post, I loved reading it. What a way to start my day!

  13. It must be so wonderful to have the chance to help someone like that. If only everyone who needed help had someone they could go to, and want to go to. I truly respect what you do Chris, it can’t be easy sometimes.

  14. Moments like that are the best, aren’t they? They make it all seem worthwhile.

  15. *bangs head* I completely forgot to comment on this post when I first saw it. This is such a beautiful post, Chris. Thank you for sharing that and brightening my day. Days now as I just reread the post and was struck again by the moment…

  16. Wonderful post! I’m not a counselor anymore–just a mom–but once upon a time I was. It can be a thankless job at times, so hard to see the results of all that hard work. It’s days like this that keep you going, isn’t it?

  17. Wow, I love it when I have great days like that. Way to go!

  18. I’m glad you have those good days. They are the only thing that makes it all worthwhile.

    “You have to deal with administration all day who want to β€œmeet budget” who seemingly only care about money and not the patient…”

    That is me, Chris! I am right in the middle and am the one that hears from above that is is about meeting budget and then has to make those below understand that I do care about patient care AND that they need to start caring about the business end. It is rough and I’m sure those who work below me often see me merely as the administrative person saying “mo money, mo money, mo money!”.

    Don’t let ’em get you down!

  19. I also have a job that I know is valuable but where I have to put up with and deal with a lot of crap. I’ve never saved anyone’s life, but I do know about those shining breakthrough moments.

    I’m so glad you were given one this week!

  20. I’ve been on vacation, but I just have to pipe up late and totally second Debi’s comment. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

