Tuesday Thoughts

Just felt like blogging with nothing in particular to say, but what the hell….

ARCs…I love them. I really do. But sometimes you just get a dud, huh? I’m reading a book right now that I was scheduled to review on March 19th (this Thursday) but I think I’m going to have to back out of it. I’m sorry dear promotional rep! You’re one of my favorite people and I really don’t mean to make your life hell by doing this, but I just couldn’t review this one in a positive light with a clear conscience. I just didn’t like it at all…in fact, I’m not even going to mention what book it is because I hate giving authors a bad name. But the writing was pretty bad and there were literally about 10 typos on every page. Where are the editors??

In other news, I bought my own server last night :0 It’s exciting to be able to finally use java script widgets and other fun stuff again through wordpress.org, but lord is it ever confusing!! I need to figure all this stuff up. So eventually, Stuff as Dreams are Made on will be moving, but it may be a little while before that happens. I need to get the site to look just how I want it to before that happens. Right now, I’m having a helluva time trying to import my blog posts to that blog! They make it seem so easy “just download this file and upload it to the other blog” but it never works 😦 Maybe I should try it on the PC in the house…maybe it’s a MAC issue. Who knows. But one of these days I’ll have it done.

As for reading, I’m in the middle of The Little Giant of Aberdeen County and I’m loving it! Such a great surprise…really good book. Have you read it yet? I’m about to start the next Fablehaven book and am really excited about that one too! I love that series…it’s so good! I feel the same way about that series as I did with Harry Potter. I know there are those who are not a fan of it, but I got hooked on it. Anyway, there’s only one book left in the series after this one, so for those waiting until the whole series is out, you may want to give it a go now! By the time you read all of them the whole series will be out.

I’ll be updating the Dewey’s Book Challenge blog soon with the winners of Nymeth’s first contest, a reminder about Jill’s mini challenge and a new random giveaway, so keep your eyes open for that.

And finally, HAPPY ST. PATRICK’S DAY!! Hope you’re wearing your green!

16 Responses

  1. Chris, if I can help at all with he blog move don’t hesitate to ask I might not be overly helpful but I my ‘shop’ feels partly responsible! 😉

  2. Congrats on buying your own server! I hope you manage to figure everything out soon. I don’t think I’m savvy enough for self-hosting. A domain name is trouble enough for me, lol.

    I’m curious about the dud, but I shan’t ask 😛 And about the mini-challenge, you could announce the extra week while you’re at it…since there’s popular demand for more time we might as well grant it 😛

  3. Oh man, better you than me with the computer stuff! You pretty much lost me at server. Yeah, I really am that computer-illiterate!

  4. I’m hoping to get to the Fablehaven–I am SO excited about that series!
    They just keep getting better and better and better with each book.

  5. I LOVED The Little Giant of Aberdeen County. I also know what you mean about receiving an ARC, thinking it was awful, and not wanting to blog/review it. That happened to me less than a month ago, and I just contacted the person who sent it to me and told then the truth. The were very understanding. Good Luck.

  6. Happy St. Patty’s to you, too!

  7. Happy St. Patrick’s Day! I forgot to wear green, but I spent the entire day with my toddler and she had no clue this was a day of free permission to pinch mommy. So neither one of us got pinched.

  8. Wow-your own server!! That’s impressive. 🙂

  9. Bart, As you know I’ve already taken you up on that offer 😉 Thanks!

    Nymeth, It’s really not that bad, though I have to admit that I’ve hit a brick wall trying to transfer this blog over to the new one. Aside from that, it’s like trying to figure out a big puzzle :p You’d do fine though! And I’ll definitely announce the extra week as well! I just thought of something though…I have to emai lyou before I can post…

    Debi, I don’t know what I was thinking :p I lost myself too when I got to server :p It’s not going that bad though.

    Becky, I’m starting it tonight! I’m excited 😀

    Diane, I’m going to do the same thing…just email the girl who sent it to me..I’m sure she’ll be cool with it. Glad to hear you enjoyed the little giant

    Kailana, Right back atcha again 🙂

    Jeane, I wore my green! No pinches for me today 😉

    Eva, Not really :p I don’t know what the hell to do with it now, lol.

  10. Happy St. Paddy’s Day! Congrats on the new server, I was confused enough about changing my domain so no more changes for me lol. I totally get where you’re coming from with the not so nifty ARC – luckily none that I’ve gotten were all that bad.

  11. I’ve been contemplating switching over to wordpress.org. Remembrance of the disaster from the the blogger-wordpress move has kept the thought at bay.

    Love the fairy-like dynamics and the twists of The Little Giant of Aberdeen County. Hope you enjoy it.

  12. well baby boy.. not that it makes the story any better but ARCs are given out BEFORE the editor gets it….eh.. thus the typo’s.. heck, you read what I wrote and found many MANY typos! Just sorry the story wasn’t good.

    I know you can’t wait for the Fablehaven book to see wh at trouble Seth gets into this time! lol..

  13. Hello – I also recently read an arc that had a ton of typos in it! I did let the publisher know and she said she would pass that info along – but it was very distracting to the story. One I also did not like very well… I have a hard time stopping something I said I would read though 😦

  14. Certainly nothing wrong with blogging for the hell of it! 🙂 I picked up The Mystery of Grace by de Lint last night and tore through the first 100 pages. It is short by comparison with his other adult novels, only 265 pages I believe, and I’m really enjoying it. It will no doubt be my first book reviewed for Once Upon a Time III. If all goes according to plan that announcement will be up on Friday!!! 🙂

  15. I’m glad to hear you’re loving the Giants of Aberdeen County – I won it during a givewaway and am excited as heck to read it!

  16. I’ve gotten some dud ARCs. I used to force myself through absolutely everything. But, I read a few too many bad books, last year. If it’s that awful, I usually don’t say a word. Good choice. I don’t see any reason to really jump all over an author. And, if the book is okay but it’s just not for me, now I’ll go ahead and say so, then mention who I think might like it.

    Good luck with whatever it is you said you’re about to do. I’m afraid I don’t know what all that server business meant. Gettin’ old.

Leave a Reply

