Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

I did much better this week! Or worse if you look at it that way :p Here’s what came into the house over the past week…this includes 1 library book by the way, so I’m only keeping 8 of them :p

1322324256789

badbloggers11. Fablehaven: Secrets of the Dragon Sanctuary by Brandon Mull – The fourth book in the Fablehaven series by Brandon Mull which will be released on March 24th! Excited about this one. Look for my review of it on March 23rd and a really exciting interview with Brandon Mull featuring movie news on the books release date, March 24th.

2. Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman – No explanation needed really. It’s a new Gaiman book. Loved it!

3. The Road by Cormac McCarthy – This is quite possibly the book that’s been on my wishlist the longest. CJ is the person responsible for this one!! Point to CJ!

4. On Chesil Beach by Ian McKewan – Somebody is responsible for this one…just can’t remember who! Remind me if you are πŸ˜‰

5. Notes from an Exhibition by Patrick Gale – This one sounded really cool! Point to miss Quixotic for this one!

6. We Never Talk About my Brother by Peter Beagle – SO excited about this one!! Go buy it!

7. Julie and Julia by Julie Powell – I’ve been wanting this one for awhile too. Someone is at fault for this one as well, but I don’t remember who again :/ It was someone who went to high school with Julie Powell though…is that you? Let me know! This one was a surprise! I just mentioned wanting to read it on Twitter and the publisher was kind enough to send it to me. Thanks guys!

8. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris – I had heard a lot about this series but never paid much attention to it. Then I heard an interview with Charlaine Harris and a reading of the first chapter on XM radio on the books channel. Then I had to have it :p

9. The Little Giant of Aberdeen County – This is my library book and I wish it weren’t! I’m really enjoying this one…it’s truly fantastic…reminds me of books like The Thirteenth Tale and Big fish. Great read so far!

Wow! That’s a whole bad bloggers post without a point for Nymeth! What happened? Fear not…she’ll be getting like 5 points next week :p

Are you playing along with bad bloggers? If so, please leave a comment on this post!

13 Responses

  1. Hey! A point! Cool. I ddn’t really expect to get any because, let’s face it, I read my own kinda books, like the Dick Francis string I’m on right now. Thanks and I hope you enjoy the book – just don’t read it if you’re already in a down mood.

    Also, I think you’ll like Sookie and the gang. I’ll be looking forward to your reviews.

    cjh

  2. lol, I’m looking forward to next week then πŸ˜›

  3. Nice pile of loot! I ordered We Never Talk About My Brother the very day Nymeth launched her “book-pusher” campaign πŸ˜‰ but it still hasn’t arrived yet. I’ve been sort of tempted by the Charlaine Harris books, too, but keep telling myself, “NO! YOU HAVE ENOUGH TO READ AS IT IS!” Yes, I do have to yell…I’m not so good at listening otherwise. Anyway, so far I’ve resisted, so don’t you go read it and write some review that breaks me down, okay? Yeah, like you’ll ever promise that. Had to ask though. Oh, and I think it might be Somer who deserves the point for Julie and Julia…pretty sure she went to school with her and reviewed the book.

  4. tsk tsk.. bad, bad bloggers ! I worry when someone gives me a point because I’m always afraid that they won’t like the book even if I loved it!.. YOU are the only one I never have that fear with LOL… “you who likes everything” :o)

  5. I really need to participate in this, but then again, that would mean admitting to myself how out of control my book buying has gotten. You’ve got some nice books here. The only one I’ve read is On Chesil Beach, but I’ve got The LIttle Giant on order. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of On Chesil Beach. I’m just wondering if the male perspective will be different on this book.

  6. Great haul! I hope to read the Charlaine Harris soon! Enjoy your books πŸ™‚

  7. I don’t think it was me but I did read on Chesil Beach last year and the review is here:
    http://rhinoasramblings.blogspot.com/2008/12/on-chesil-beach-ian-mcewan.html

    I need to start doing bad Bloggers. I think I know the 3 main suspects who will get most of my points (you, Nymeth and Darla). Can we send them the bill? πŸ™‚

  8. I read Chesil Beech last year as well, and I suspect it was not my review that convinced you to pick it up. πŸ˜‰

    And and nine books is perfectly acceptable intake. πŸ˜€

  9. I loved The Road and On Chesil Beach (although I know a lot who didn’t). Hope you enjoy them both, and all the rest of your loot!

  10. Another really nice stack of books there! I just got an email from Barnes and Noble that the new Charles de Lint book, The Mystery of Grace, is out now…just in time for Once Upon a Time which starts Saturday! I am so excited. I’ll be snagging a copy of that one today on the way home from work.

  11. Good haul! I like Charlaine Harris, but I haven’t read the first book… I own it now, though! So, maybe should see what I was missing when I read a later book in the series…

  12. Blueberry girl is so wonderful isn’t it? I could only borrow it from the shop right now, but I’m just happy I can read it. Hopefully I’ll review it soon:)

  13. I should participate because I love blaming other bloggers for all the books I pick up at the library!! I almost grabbed Little Giant, Saturday but it was a 14 day loan book and I have so MANY in my stack that I had to practice some kind of self-control!!! Looking forward to your thoughts about that one. The Road has been on my bookshelf forever…I need to dust it off and read it!! I have Dead Until Dark too…need to read that one too!!

Leave a Reply

