Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess

blueberryBlueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman
Illustrated by Charles Vess
32 Pages
2009
5/5

Ladies of Light and ladies of darkness
And ladies of never-you-mind,
This is a prayer for a blueberry girl.
First, may you ladies be kind.

When Tori Amos became pregnant with her little girl, Neil Gaiman wrote her a poem. It was at first solely hers and it remains hers, but he’s been kind enough to now share it with the world. He tells the story of handwriting numerous copies of the poem and then deciding that hey, maybe this should go into print for others to have. And it did. And we’re all lucky for that.

Blueberry Girl is a beautiful poem that hits home and pulls at the heart strings when paired with the beautiful and delicate drawings of Charles Vess. It’s a book that you just want to embrace. It’s filled with innocence yet it’s words describe a world that isn’t always the easiest to mosey around in but promises the hope and blessings of many. The poem was obviously written for a mother and a daughter, but it’s a book that anyone can enjoy. At it’s essence is every stage of life and Neil captures the ups and downs; the trials and tribulations of life so well that it touches the reader.

Charles Vess once again brings his passion to the table here in the art that accompanies Neil’s poem. The colors are rich and vibrant, the subject soft and filled with life. He perfectly captures the magic of a child showing a young girl skipping through trees and parading with animals of all kinds…walking down the trail of life.

tori

It’s a beautiful book that should certainly be shared with mothers and daughters, but don’t let it stop you if you are neither. I’m a single man with no children and I adored it and connected with it. Well done Neil and big hugs to Tori and Natashya.

15 Responses

  1. This is the first time I see a picture of Natashya… she’s as pretty as her mother! And she must be one cool kid. Look at all the awesome art she’s inspired. This, and there’s also Tori’s song Ribbons Undone, which is probably my favourite of her more recent songs.

    I don’t have the book yet, but I watched that youtube video Neil linked to recently, and it’s indeed a lovely poem. I’m not very maternal, whatever that means (though I like kids a lot), but it really moved.

    Crazy Hair is coming out soon too, right? Can’t wait for that!

  2. Oh this review just made my shopping for special occasions much easier! I have so many younger girls in my family and it’s really hard to find nice nice books for them that they haven’t read before. Just had a random thought that it would be perfect for a baby shower gift too! Thanks for sharing your thoughts about this book.

  3. I haven’t yet seen the book, but I loved the video with Neil reading it. The poem is so stunningly beautiful. I can’t wait to own a copy of the book. And I think Joanne’s right…there will be many a copy of this given as baby shower gifts. I knew as soon as I heard about it that I was buying it for our beloved babysitter who is soon to be having a little girl of her very own.

  4. I definitely plan on picking this up on my next trip to B&N and I’ll probably pick up a copy for my sister whose baby is a little over a year old.

  5. You’re one of those guys I was referring to in the recent Twitter litchat — some guys will read anything and aren’t bothered by a fluffy cover. That’s a good thing. I admire your willingness to read regardless of topic and girly-looking covers.

  6. Nymeth, Isn’t she a pretty girl? Have you ever seen the “Welcome to Sunny Florida” DVD that Tori released? It’s a concert of hers and her daughter is in it while she’s backstage…I think she may even bring her onto the stage at some point. I know exactly what you mean by the way! I’m not very “paternal” but I do love kids and I find this to be a fantastic, touching book. And yes! Crazy Hair in May!! And Absolute Death in November? I think…

    Joanne, I never thought about that, but you’re right! This would be absolutely perfect for a baby shower or for a gift to a little girl!

    Debi, That video was fantastic!! It had much of the art from the story too. You’ll really like this one. It’s a little treasure. And it would make a great gift for your babysitter!

    Carl, It would be an awesome gift for your sister! Hope you enjoy it too!

    Bookfool, Neil Gaiman could release a book with a huge bright pink cover with a purple bow on it and I would still read it :p But you’re right…I don’t let covers bother me…it’s the content that counts!

  7. This sounds so wonderful! And I really wish that my mom was close friends with Neil Gaiman and he had written a poem for me, lol.

  8. Wow, Chris, only March and you have had a lot of five out of fives, it seems! You are going to have a hard time picking favourites if it keeps up. 🙂 I was reading the story behind this poem on Gaiman’s blog one day. Very nice idea. 🙂

  9. Duh! I do have Welcome to Sunny Florida, but I had completely forgotten that Tash was in it. Sounds like I need to watch it again.

  10. […] by Ben Rice, 2003, 112 pgs., 4.75/5 20. As Shadows Fade by Colleen Gleason, 2009, 342 pgs., 5/5 21. Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess, 2009, 32 pgs., 5/5 22. Sorrow: A Witch Ember Tale by John Lawson, 2009, 239 pgs., 5/5 23. Little […]

  11. When I met Tori backstage in Nov 2007, Tash was with her and kissed her goodbye. She seemed quite shy but totally adorable!

  12. What a lovely picture of Tori and her daughter. Like Nymeth I had never seen a photo of her before, just heard Tori talk about her lots at concerts. Will definitely look out for this, thanks for sharing.

  13. Wow, Gaiman and Vess, what a magical combo. This one will be a great one to read with my girls. Thanks for the wonderful review!

  14. […] Bookbag | Stuff As Dreams Are Made On […]

  15. […] Bookbag | Stuff As Dreams Are Made On […]

Leave a Reply

