As Shadows Fade by Colleen Gleason

asfAs Shadows Fade by Colleen Gleason
Book 5 of the
Gardella Vampire Chronicles
342 pages
2009
5/5

So sad to see this series end, but rest assured that it ends with a bang in the most thrilling way possible. Some will be happy, some may be disappointed depending on which “team” you’re on. But we do get our answer. We get the answer to who Victoria chooses and to many other questions, like who exactly is Wayren?

Two years ago, I cracked open the pages of The Rest Falls Away completely unsure of what awaited me and whether or not I’d like it. I knew that I loved vampire books, but romance?! Never been there before. After reading the first few pages, I knew that I had nothing to fear. The reader is safe in Colleen Gleason’s hands, though she makes no promises to keep your heart rate at a reasonable pace. I instantly fell in love with Colleen’s wonderful characters, the amazing setting of her books, and the love story/horror story that she so expertly weaved. You’d never guess that it was her first book.

Five books and two years later, she closes the series with the biggest bang there is. This book is truly fantastic from cover to cover. Victoria has made her decision as to which person she wants to spend her life with, a life that will always be filled of thrills and danger. But there are others who would have it differently. Demons have awoken from a chasm in the earth and plague her well being and the well being of her companions. We’ve seen demons before in the Gardella Vampire Chronicles, but never in these amounts and with this type of hostility. There’s only one way to rid the world of the demons and that is by paying another visit to our dear friend Lilith, queen of the vampires. Would we have it any other way?

I’m quite upset that the series is over and there are no more adventures with this amazing crew, but it ended in such a way that I’m satisfied as well. I can breathe easily (as soon as I catch my breath from this book) and know that somewhere out there, more amazing tales are yet to come from Colleen and more wonderful characters await the pages. Well done Mrs. Gleason, well done.

12 Responses

  1. Great review Chris. I am really looking forward to sinking my teeth into this one, pardon the pun. I think I’ll be putting my other reading aside this weekend and just enjoying this one. I’m sad to see the series end, but have been so pleased with it that I am also glad to see it wrapped up rather than going on endlessly.

  2. Sweet review!! I read the first one and loved it so now that I’ve read your awesome review I will most certainly finish the other 4 over the summer!!!

  3. Now you see, I’m thinking that I might just have to give these a go, seeing as you and Carl rate them so highly…

  4. I had to set this one aside for a couple of days to finish some reviews and I think I’m going to have to dive back in, today. I’m sad to see this series end, too, but I’m glad Colleen chose not to drag it out forever, like . . . Stephanie Plum. I would have loved some resolution to that series, maybe by about book 7. I can’t wait to see what Colleen comes up with, next!

  5. My resistance is wearing thin… Why does that one little word, “romance,” cause me such problems anyway? It’s stupid of me. And I know it’s stupid of me. Which makes me even stupider.

  6. I knew it would be great. I am so looking forward to reading it. My copy is sitting on the shelf and I look longingly at it every day.

  7. I haven’t started this one yet. I think I’m putting it off because I don’t want it to end!

    I still can’t decide who’s “team” I am on. It changed mid-series….I guess I’ll just have to read it and see.

  8. Carl, “I’m looking forward to sinking my teeth into this one” Hardeeharhar. LOL…you truly will love it Carl. I just know it! Such a great ending to the series. And you’re in the acknowledgements again!! I’m really glad that she chose to end the series too instead of having it drag on to the point where we lose interest. It’s perfect how she did it.

    Staci, Can’t wait to see what you think of the rest! They truly get better and better with each book!

    Bart, You really should!!! Really REALLY should! You’d enjoy them, I promise!

    Bookfool, I can’t wait to see what comes next either! I’m sure I’ll love it no matter what it is! I just hope she doesn’t go too girly on me :p And I hope she sticks to urban fantasy…I really liked it. Though like I said, I’m sure I’ll love it wherever she takes us readers!

    Debi, Come on Debi!! You HAVe to read them! Seriously, honestly, I would not read something that was too “romance-y”. These books are basically awesome stories with a few sex scenes (that are smokin’ hot by the way) thrown in for good measure 😉 You’d love them, I promise! Just try the first one and then you don’t have to read any more of them if you’re uncomfortable with it…deal?

    Booklogged, Oh you’re going to love it! It’s really good!

    Steph, I know exactly how you feel. I considered putting it off for a littel while for about .24 seconds and then gave in :p It’s really good. I would tell you who’s team I’m on, but since I was REALLY happy with the ending, I don’t want to give it away :p But I’m sure you’ll be happy.

  9. I had to skim your review, Chris, just in case – I am excited to read this last book. A bit reluctant, since it’s the end, but still, I’m looking forward to it! I’m at the top of the list at my library, so I’m hoping it will get here soon!

  10. […] Pobby and Dingan by Ben Rice, 2003, 112 pgs., 4.75/5 20. As Shadows Fade by Colleen Gleason, 2009, 342 pgs., 5/5 21. Blueberry Girl by Neil Gaiman and Charles Vess, 2009, 32 pgs., 5/5 22. […]

  11. OK I really need to get reading this series especially if this is the last one. I wonder what she will write about next…

  12. […] reviewed by: Stuff as Dreams are Made on So Many Books, So Little Time A Reader’s […]

Leave a Reply

