Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

11silk31

1. The Woman in Black by Susan Hill – I had heard of The Woman in White, but never of The Woman in Black! That is, until Susan wrote a wonderful review of it. Just had to have this one and I found it on Bookmooch! Point to Susan!

2. Silk by Alessandro Baricco – Eva is the only person that I can blame for this great sounding little novella! Point to Eva!

3. The Planets by Dava Sobel – Carl wrote about this one in his sci-fi experience and I put it onto my wishlist immediately. Then I won it from him! Don’t you just love the cover to this one? Can’t wait to read it. Point for Carl!

Are you playing along in Bad Bloggers? Leave a link in this post to your own! Details for Bad Bloggers are available by clicking on the icon in the right hand sidebar. Feel free to use the icon!

16 Responses

  1. I almost picked up Silk last time I was at the library, too. Had it right there in my hot little hand, and then put it back on the shelf. Not like me to show such self-restraint. Can’t wait to hear what you think of The Planets…that cover definitely is gorgeous!

  2. Well, I didn’t know about The Woman In Black, either, but I’ll be curious to see what you think about it, once you get to read it 🙂

  3. I didn’t completely love Silk but liked it enough. Hope you enjoy!

  4. I want to get to The Woman in Black this year too. And yep, it’ll be Susan’s fault.

  5. I have The Planets to read, too! Slow week for you. ha ha!

  6. All three of those look good.

  7. The Woman in Black has been on my wish list for quite a while. I can’t wait to see what you think of it.

  8. Oooh, I’ve read both The Woman in Black and Silk (Silk during the last read-a-thon) both of them are very enjoyable. (And I’ve read Sobel’s Latitude a few years ago as well.

    Woman in Black, deserved a better effort from me when I read it. I liked it, but think I missed out on much of the atmosphere by reading it in short bursts rather than in one go.

    But, Silk was very nice, I really liked the format, the white spaces on the page said just as much as the text. 😀

  9. Oh, and reviews are up on my site for them both, if you want to check out my thoughts 🙂

  10. Debi, I got Silk on Bookmooch! You should really join bookmooch! I’t such fun 😀 And we could mooch books from each other, lol.

    Kathrin, Cool! I hope I like it as much as I think I will.

    Claire, I’ve heard that from a few people. Hope I love it!

    Nymeth, Had you heard of that one before? Is it just me who hadn’t? Lol

    Kailana, That’s really weird…it seems we’ve been reading the same damn book all the time lately! I’m not reading planets right now though…but still…we got it at the same time.

    CBJames, They do don’t they?

    Bookfool, I have a feeling I’ll really like it! It sounds great. I always love a good ghost story.

    Bart, I don’t remember you reading The Woman in Black but I do remember you reading Silk now that you said that! That’s around the time that I started delurking from your blog :p I paged through Silk and really liked the way it was printed myself. Looking forward to both!

  11. I’ve heard about The Woman in White but not The Woman in Black. I’m putting it on the list. I have Baricco’s Without Blood on my wish list. One day . . . =) I can’t wait to find out what yo thought of your books. Happy reading!

  12. I hadn’t, no! It seems to be a ghost story classic, but somehow I totally missed it 😛

  13. It feels so good to be bad!

    I hope Planets is enjoyable for you. I read some reviews where people were disappointed. I had mixed feelings depending on the chapters. Some I really enjoyed, others not as much. Galileo’s Daughter is such an amazing book that reading this one after that one made for an unfair comparison.

  14. Vasilly, Good deal! Can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    Nymeth, Good! Glad to see I’m not alone 😉

    Carl, Doesn’t it though? I’m sure I’ll enjoy Planets. I was flipping through and saw a chapter called Lunacy! Can’t wait to read that as I totally believe in it. For instance, we had 22 admissions into the hospital last night on a full moon! That’s one away from the all time record for one day!

  15. I remember that so well when I worked in the admissions/crisis unit of a hospital when I lived in Tulsa. You always knew when it was getting close to a full moon and when it was a full moon because things were, for lack of a better word, crazy!

    That still happens to some degree in the outpatient setting, but not nearly as much for me personally. I’m sure our crisis team receives more calls during the full moon. It is a fascinating phenomenon, isn’t it?

  16. I really hope you love Silk. 😀

Leave a Reply

