Wrap Ups

It’s time to wrap up the reading month of February and the Sci-Fi Experience hosted by Carl.

Reading was pretty damn bad for the month of February. Especially if you consider the fact that I’ve been reading the same 300 page book for half a month now! I’m currently not reading 2 books. Not finished Alice in Sunderland yet despite the fact that it’s due back today and non renewable. Oh well, I’ll just pay the library an overdue fee. I don’t mind…you can look at it as me supporting the library, right?

So here’s what I read this month:
1. The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman, 1991, 235 pgs., 4.25/5
2. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, 2005, 288 pgs., 5/5
3. The Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby, 2004, 143 pgs., 4.5/5
4. The Rabbits by John Marsden and Shaun Tan, 2004, 32 pgs., 5/5
5. The Lost Thing by Shaun Tan, 2004, 32 pgs., 4/5
6. The Red Tree by Shaun Tan, 2003, 32 pgs., 5/5
7. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockheart, 2008, 345 pgs., 4.75/5
8. The Suburban Dragon by Garassamo Macagnone, 1992, 50 pgs., 2/5

Don’t let that fool you though…4 of the 8 books are picture books for a grand total of 1,157 pages. Believe it or not, I’ve actually had worse reading months. I think my favorite book of the month is The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks despite it not having the highest rating. It was just a really great book.

Time to wrap up the sci-fi experience too. Thanks again, Carl for hosting this! It was great fun despite the fact that I only read 3 books.

1. Old Man’s War by John Scalzi
2. The Starry Rift ed. by Jonathan Strahan
3. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro

Without a doubt, my favorite of this challenge was Old Man’s War! Amazing amazing amazing book. Now that that’s over it means it’s time for the Once Upon a Time Challenge….yay!!!

And just for fun, here’s the house that we’re sincerely looking at buying! As in we’re going to a mortgage company to hopefully get a loan for it on Monday. I’d live on the right side. And that big ugly thing in the middle is a vine that grew out of control that will be cut down as soon as the house is mine! Debi mentioned that she had never heard the term “shot gun double” before. I think it’s a New Orleans term for a style of house. This style of house is very “New Orleans-y” and it’s the kind of house that I’ve always dreamed of living in. Basically, a shotgun house is one where the rooms go straight back…where one proceeds to the next. It’s named that because if you shot a shotgun from the front door it would go straight through the house to the back door without hitting anything. I know, only in New Orleans would we name our houses after that :p They’re typically raised houses like this one with a front and back porch and creaky wooden floors that I just love….and 13 foot ceilings. They’re just gorgeous. I’m in love with it. Enough rambling though, here it is:

house1

19 Responses

  1. Considering you’ve been working long, hard hours at a very stressful job, and considering Mardi Gras festivities don’t make for good reading time, I’d say you didn’t pretty damn good!!! If it wasn’t for my “week of lazy” I’d have gotten almost nothing read this month…and even so, it wasn’t too great a month. And I was a very bad girl…all I managed to read for Carl’s sci-fi experience were short stories…was hoping to finish Stainless Steel Rat’s Revenge today, but I’m afraid it just ain’t gonna happen.

    Oh well…here’s to a page-filled March!

  2. I love the house, Christ! I hope you get it!
    Lezlie

  3. Oh, I love the house! Good luck with getting a mortgage.

  4. OH MY GOD! YOUR PROBABLY FUTURE HOUSE IS FREAKIN ADORABLE.

    I’m so so so so so unbelievably jealous of a) the color and b-z) the front porch.

  5. That house is beautiful. I do hope you get it.

    You’re reading month seemed quite good to me 🙂

  6. That house is beautiful! Great curb appeal. I was wondering what a shot gun double was too. I’ve never hear of them either. Good luck with the loan! I hope it all works out.

  7. What a cute house. Over here they call that style of house a duplex. I hope you get it!

  8. I’m in love with the house-those colours are all minty and limey, too of my favourite things. 😀

    I second Debi-you’re being way too hard on yourself.

  9. That’s a great looking house! I hope everything works out for it!

    I had hoped to read Old Man’s War for the sci-fi experience but it hasn’t came in for me at the library, yet. One of these days it will!

    I have Alice in Sunderland on hold at the library, but it hasn’t came in yet, either.

    You might not have read a lot, but look at the ratings! I think it is better to read 7 books you love than worry about totals. 🙂

    I hope things start to balance out for you soon! (And, no rush on the Le Guin. I’m waiting for you regardless.)

  10. great looking home baby boy! may all your dreams come true.. or at least MOST of them!

  11. Thanks for letting me know you’d added the part about the house! It is soooo pretty! I’m totally in love with it already. Good luck on Monday! Though I’m sure you don’t need it (luck, that is), I know the whole process can be pretty nerve-wracking. And thanks for explaining the whole double shotgun term. Now I’m curious though…what’s the progression of the rooms…like do people have to walk through your bedroom to get to the kitchen? Oh, I’m just so excited for you, Chris! Can’t wait until you’re showing us pictures of the inside of YOUR new house, too! 😀

  12. I LOVE the house! And you know, I actually don’t find the vine all that ugly, even though it is out of control 😛

    Debi is right, you are being too hard on yourself reading-wise. I feel terrible that I asked you to read a chunkster this month, lol. But seriously, considering how busy you’ve been you didn’t do badly at all.

    I wanted to read Never Let me Go for the experience, but my copy still hasn’t arrived 😦 It’s been weeks now…I’m getting worried.

  13. Me too, I love the house, Chris! Pretty green and white, I love the name ‘shotgun’ much more descriptive than semi-detached, which is what I live in (it always reminds of a trailer park!!!). Oh, fingers crossed you get it! Your very own first home. YOu know we’ll all be wanting to see pictures of your new bookshelves in there!!! lol
    and hey, – I read 2 1/2 books out of 5 for Carl’s Challenge, so I didn’t do very well either. I got sidetracked by fantasy. you are going to get a bad blogger point for Old Man’s War which I did get out from the library because of you!!! So it’s not all bad, Chris!

  14. I love the house, Chris. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for you!

  15. Yeah!! I’m so happy for you and I know that you will be blessed with an approval!!! With a new house in the future who cares about the reading totals for Feb!!!

  16. What an adorable house! Good luck on the mortgage.

  17. Oh Crap! Just read your next post-sorry about the house. I’ll keep my fingers crossed that the other offer falls through. 🙂

  18. Ah, bummer. And fyi, the shotgun term is all over the place. New England has its share of shotgun flats… But, let’s hope the next place you find and like is meant to be! I think your reading results are incredible. I’m woefully behind on my goal, but have hope that as soon as I stop obsessing about how many pages I’m not reading, I’ll somehow read even more. Funny how that often happens. **SMILES**

  19. Thanks guys! And Care, that’s so cool that there are “shotguns” in other places too! I’m glad we’re not the only ones who call our houses that 😉

Leave a Reply

