Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

1425324353

badbloggers21. Heartsick by Chelsea Cain – This one is all Stephanie’s fault! After reading her review of this one, I was just dying to read it!

2. Old Magic by Marianne Curley – This one is Bart’s fault. I added to my wishlist after his review and then mooched it from him after he listed it on Bookmooch! How cool is that?

3. His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik – I’ve been wanting to read this one for a long time, but had never picked it up. Then Darla reviewed it and put me over the edge. She gets a point for this one.

4. Coin Locker Babies by Ryu Murakami – I’ve been trying to figure out what my next Ryu Murakami read would be. I knew I wanted to read more by him after reading In the Miso Soup. Then Bellezza reviewed this one and I had to have it! And then I won it from her! How cool is that? Point for Bellezza.

5. Lux the Poet by Martin Millar – I think I’m more excited about this one than all of the rest. It isn’t released until May but I have it now! How is that? Soft Skull Press, one of the coolest publishers I’ve found sent me a copy to review! Thanks guys!

You may have noticed that I’ve been in a bit of a funk lately. I don’t know why really. Things seem to be going pretty well. But I haven’t been much in the mood for reading lately and I’ve been a horrible blogger/commenter. I apologize for that everyone. I’ll get it together. I should be in a better mood though…it’s Mardi Gras and I’m looking at houses to buy with a friend of mine. We’re talking about buying a double together and we’ve seen some great ones. We’ll see what happens.

Anyway guys, if you’re playing along with Bad Bloggers, just leave a link to your post in the comments! Details on the right hand sidebar by clicking on the pic if you want them!

19 Responses

  1. Yay! first point! Only another 399 to go to stand a chance of beating Nymeth! LOL

  2. His Majesty’s Dragon really is a lot of fun. I’ve got the next three in the series sitting around, but it’s been so long since I’ve read HMD that it definitely needs to get re-read before I move on.

  3. I’m in a total funk lately, too. I think I’m finally starting to get out of it because the book I’m reading finally really grabbed me. But this blogging and commenting stuff? Not so much here either. I comment usually on the first two or three that come up when I click “All Items” in my Google Reader before my interest wanes and I wander off to look at shiny things, so most of my comments are a matter of good timing!

    Anyhow, hope you get de-funked soon!

  4. Ok now… does this mean th at every (EVERY) monday you are going to show that you got/ bought/ were sent 4 or 5 books?? EVERY MONDAY??

  5. OK.. does this mean that every monday you are going to list 4 or 5 books that you bought/ received/ traded for ???? EVERY MONDAY???? 4 OR 5 BOOKS?? you can’t buy just a small house Chris!!! Y ou won’t fit what you have there!!!… you are such a teddy bear! :o)

  6. Lux has been released, actually…in 1988 😛 It’s an old book of his that’s coming back into print. But that’s as exciting as a new one, really 😀 And I’m totally jealous.

    Sorry to hear about your funk, Chris…I hope you feel more cheerful soon. Good luck house hunting!

  7. Was thinking of you today. We were off and went to see Benjamin Button and it being centered in Louisiana and having a Katrina element put you in mind.

    I certainly understand the funk. Been having a small one myself as far as blogging goes, but am working through it and getting back in the groove. I know you will as well.

  8. Bart, Nah…you only need another 200 ;p

    Fyrefly, It looks awesome…I kinda just want to crack it open and start now!

    Megan, Don’t funks just suck 😦 I don’t know what’s with me these days. I’m glad I made it onto your commenting of the day though 😀 I’m like seriously overwhelmed by just 40 items in my reader right now…sheesh.

    Deslily, LOL..it’s certainly looking like that, isn’t it? You want to know the sad thing? I’m only considering 2 bedroom houses right now because I know that I need a second room for my books :p Thanks for making me smile 🙂

    Nymeth, No way! I didn’t know that! Have you read it already? It sounds really good! Thanks for the good luck with house hunting!

    Carl, I really want to see Benjamin Button! It was crazy down here when they were filming it…everyone was trying to get a peek at all of the celebs. lol. Hope your funk goes away soon too! These things just happen I guess…

  9. Oooh, potential home ownership…how exciting!! Will there be room for a library?

  10. I’m gonna start giving you points just for the damage you’re doing to my wishlist! Coin Locker Babies looks awesome and woohoo for Soft Skull sending you the Millar book – they have some of the most awesome books!

    Hope you get out of your funkish mood soon, you’re so lucky to get to experience Mardi Gras, I’ve always wanted to. And home-hunting how fun – I always love open house showings where the people have their houses all 70’s shag carpeting and lime green appliances – making fun of bad interior design is more fun than watching drunk people 😛

  11. Heartsick is great!! Looks like you have some good reading ahead of you. Good luck on the house hunting!

  12. I’m so glad it arrived safely! I hope you like it as much as I did; it has it’s shocking moments, but you’re a Big Boy. 😉 I found it especially touching in its exploration of adoption as that is quite a personal topic for me.

  13. You’re reading His Majesty’s Dragon! That’s an awesome series! Although, do not judge it by the fact that I am stalled on book three… That’s just me and my terrible time with finishing series! I hope you enjoy it as much as I did!

    I hope you get over your funk soon! I hear you on it, but I think a lot of people enter a funk in February. I know they do where it is cold and snowy… Not sure about the hot, sunny places…

    Oh, and I emailed you about Mercy Thompson!

  14. Softdrink, Ideally there would be room for a library!! I’m actually looking for 2 bedroom houses just for that reason :p

    Joanne, Have you checked out Soft Skull before? They’re so frickin awesome! Love their books! Mardi Gras is fun :p You should come down sometime! And oh yes, the bad furniture in homes is so awesome…seriously, it amuses me.

    Staci, thanks! I’m really looking forward to Heartsick…looks incredible!

    Bellezza, It arrived very safely with a beautiful card that I’m in love with 😀 Thank you!!! Can’t wait to dig into the book!

    Kailana, I seriously want to just pick that one up and start reading it! I love the cover of it too. February does seem like a funky month, doesn’t it? Thanks for the email! About to shoot you one back!

  15. I can’t remember if I’ve got His Majesty’s Dragon or I just put it on my wishlist. Oh, dear. I’m really looking forward to your review, either way.

  16. Hey, thanks for the nice words. Lux never came out int he US, actually, but yup, was published in the UK in 1988. Millar had a bit of an erratic career, got jerked around a lot by various publishing messes…Am rather glad to have gotten him back on track again…

  17. Hee, Hee, Hee…I love when I can actually add books to someone else’s list (instead of just my own!) HeartSick is really good! I hope you like it.

    I’ve been in a funk too. Not really sure why, but it’s been a lousy few weeks.

  18. Sorry you’re in a funk. 😦 Hope it ends soon! And house-hunting sounds exciting. 😀

  19. Interesting..

Leave a Reply

