Mailbox Monday, Library Loot, and Bad Bloggers!

Here we are combining three memes now! I took home 8 more books from the library this week and got 3 in the mail. Let’s start with the one’s in the mail:

132431

And here are the ones that came home with me from the library:

41526789101111

And now it’s time to assign the blame:

badbloggers11. Sky Burial by Xinran – 100% Debi’s fault! She reviewed this one during the last 24 hour read-a-thon and I’ve been wanting to read it ever since then! 1 point for Debi!

2. The Sword of Shanarra by Terry Brooks – This could be the year of epic fantasies for me. I plan on reading the Pern books and the Thomas Covenant books thanks to mom2 and now I mooched the first Shanarra book! Not only did I mooch this one, but I opened it up to find that it’s signed by Terry Brooks!! How cool is that????

3. Interview with a Vampire by Anne Rice – This will be a reread for my challenge with Nymeth. We’re reading the first four books of this series together πŸ™‚ I can’t wait. Love this series!! I was so excited to find the exact same cover that I lost in Katrina on bookmooch!

4. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau Banks by E. Lockhart – The blame for this one lies solely on Renay who pimps this book like no other. It was a Printz honor book too! Can’t wait to read this one πŸ˜€ 1 point for Renay!

5. Fruit by Brian Francis – After reading Joanne’s review of this one, I had to have it immediately! About a boy who’s nipples talk to him…ok, so I’m sure it’s about more than that, but that’s enough to make one want to read it, right? 1 point for Joanne the BookZombie!

6. The Sandman Vol. 2: The Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman – Even though I had planned on rereading this whole series on my own, I’m still giving another point to Debi for this one. After reading her review, I had to go get it immediately! Another point for Debi!

7. Alice in Sunderland by Bryan Talbot – All Nymeth’s fault…surprise, surprise, Nymeth got another point, lol.

8. A Circle of Cats by Charles de Lint – This is a children’s book with pictures sprinkled throughout by Charles Vess! De Lint and Vess? How could I pass this one up.

9. The Rabbits by John Marsden – Totally had to have this one. It’s illustrated by Shaun Tan and his illustrations just amaze me.

10. The Lost Thing by Shaun Tan – See above.

11. The Red Tree by Shaun Tan – See above. Also, Carl get’s a point for this one. He’s been urging me to read this one basically since I started blogging. So glad to have it now! I just wish it weren’t a library book 😦

Are you playing along? If you’ve done a Bad Bloggers! post, leave a link in the comments here!

16 Responses

  1. Just the thought that you will actually read a while trilogy thrills me no end! lol.. and you know I’ve read all those “epics” you speak of so I will be glued to your reviews… especially Pern! but I do know you will love them as you love most everything you read! How great it is that you can be so overly thrilled as so many types of books!!! Most of us are lucky to feel that way about one type of book or even ONE BOOK period! I really hope this love of all you read stays with you for all your life!!!
    (however… now you have to read all the library books first because they have to be returned! no fair to the bought books! ppllllsssttt!)

  2. The Red Tree is fantastic! I own it, actually. I wouldn’t mind having some more Shaun Tan books, but haven’t gotten around to remedying that, yet!

    Enjoy your books!

  3. Some gorgeous books, I’ve just added 3 of them to my reservations at the library – both the Shaun Tan and Sky Burial

  4. I think you’ll love Alice in Sunderland! I want to read many of those too…Frankie and A Circle of Cats and Shaun Tan in particular. I guess I should start with The Arrival, though.

    I need to get myself copies of Interview with the Vampire and Queen of the Damned too, because mine are translated and I want to read the originals πŸ˜› I did read the originals a few years ago, but borrowed from a friend. I can’t believe I never got them myself. When do you think we should start reading? RIP would be a good time, but maybe we could start earlier, like over the summer?

  5. Chris, have you read Voices yet? It just came in for me at the library. Are you still planning to read it? Want to review it together?

  6. Holy crap…what a pile full of wonderful you got there!!! I so hope you enjoy Sky Burial as much as I did! Nymeth made me read Alice in Sunderland, too…in fact, it was the very first graphic novel I ever read. I loved it. And I know I’m not going to be able to resist Renay’s enthusiasm much longer either. Oh, and I see a point in your future…I just went and looked up A Circle of Cats (which I’d never heard of), and I know a little boy who absolutely, positively needs his mom to read him that book!!!

  7. That’s a lot of great books!! Very jealous. πŸ™‚

  8. I read Sky Burial for the A-Z Reading Challenge last year and I was surprised that I actually liked it. It is not my “type” of book but it held my interest. πŸ™‚

  9. Lots of great books there! I love the that cover of Fruit – band-aids play a biiig role in the story lol!

    I’ve got to get Alice In Sunderland, it looks so good and I’m crazy about anything Alice-related πŸ™‚

  10. Deslily, We’ll see if I actually get around to the whole trilogy :p I’m so bad with series! I can’t wait to share my reviews of Pern with you…I just have to read them now! lol. I have to admit that I’m not the most objective reader in the world, but I like it that way πŸ˜€ As long as there’s a good story, I’m basically in love πŸ˜‰ My poor bookshelf does feel neglected because of all of the new library books 😦 But I’m in love with my library now!

    Kailana, Isn’t it amazing?! I fell in love with it. I’ll have the review up for it tomorrow morning. Oh, and as for doing a paired up reading of Voices, that sounds great! But I have to read Middlesex first :/ I promised Nymeth I’d read it ASAP! But I’ll let you know as soon as I’m done with that one and then I’ll read Voices…you don’t have to wait for me if you don’t want! We can just post reviews together!

    Katrina, Awesome! I think you’ll really enjoy the Shaun Tan books…they’re fantastic!

    Nymeth, Oooh, you really should read some Shaun Tan, you’ll fall in love with the art. The Arrival is a perfect one to start with. I couldn’t believe the beauty of that book. So glad I own that one, though I’d love to own The Red Tree now too…it’s amazing. The summer sounds great for me to start reading Interview with a Vampire! We’ll talk more about it when it gets closer!

    Debi, Haha…I love that “pile full of wonderful”. I’m sure I’ll enjoy Sky Burial…sounds like a beautiful book! And I’m sure I’ll enjoy A Circle of Cats! You definitely need to get that one for Max! How cool…y’all would both love that one!

    Eva, You don’t have to be jealous, you can go get them for yourself at your library! lol.

    Brittanie, That’s good to hear! I hope I like it as much as well…looks great!

    Joanne, I liked your cover of fruit much better, but this one is still pretty cool! I can’t tell you how excited I am about reading this one ever since your review. Doesn’t Alice in Wonderland look fantastic? It’s one of my favorite stories too. Did you know Tim Burton is directing a movie version of it now with Johnny Depp as the mad hatter? Yay!

  11. Chris: I’ll wait. I have to finish the book I am reading, then I hopefully will get the new Patricia Briggs book either tomorrow or the next day in the mail, and with that comes new Fables… And then, I have plenty of libary books to get to before the pile gets over-whelming… So, just poke me when you are ready to start it, okay?

    Oh, and I LOVED Middlesex! It’s an awesome book!

  12. I am totally stoked that you’re reading Frankie! Maybe one day I’ll actually get my review of it up. Probably you will beat me to it. πŸ˜‰

  13. You must have a clone or something, Chris! The amount of books you devour is pretty incredible!

  14. Oooh, fun stuff. I’m so envious of people who have libraries with graphic novels. I can’t justify buying as many as I’d like to read.

    Is that John Marsden the Australian author that wrote The Rabbits? Does it say? Because I’m a serious Marsden the Australian fan, but it sounds like a pretty common name.

  15. Kailana, Good Deal…I’ll let you know as soon as I’m done!

    Renay, Just finished it and I loved it! You mean you haven’t reviewed this one yet?!

    Chartroose, LOL….Seriously, I don’t devour NEAR as much as other bloggers :p

    Nancy, My library isn’t much to boast about, trust me. We have the tiniest GN section in the world. It has maybe like 40 books and most of them are ones that I wouldn’t want to read. I don’t know if it’s the same Marsden 😦 Unfortunately I returned the book already, so now I can’t look. My guess would be that it’s the same though ?

  16. I love the Bad Bloggers idea! I definitely want to play, too. Even thougth I’m so behind in visiting everyone’s blogs. 😦 You know your name is going to be on the list!

Leave a Reply

