Home Sick

Hey everyone. I’m home sick today from work. I woke up this morning with the worst migraine I’ve had in a long time…you know, one of those ones where you just want to hug the toilet all day and no medication works that leaves your head feeling sore like it got a work out?? Yeah, one of those. That’s why I haven’t answered any comments or been much of a good commenter recently. But I’m here and getting back into the swing of things.Β 

I’ve done the drawing for the tshirt for the Dewey’s Books Challenge and announced a new giveaway, so head on over to the blog to learn all about that.

Here are two things to keep you busy until I feel better and can post more coherently.

First is a picture of my house. Yes, we demolished it :p It was great. We’ve been renting ever since Katrina because FEMA has been a pain in the ass about when we can rebuild. They’ve finally given the go ahead and we should have a beautiful new house by May! Unfortunately, there are tons of other people in New Orleans that still don’t know what’s going on with their houses nearly 4 years after the storm. Here’s our house now though:

houseFinally, here’s a video that I’ve been kind of obsessed with recently. It’s for Honey, Honey by Feist. Feist remains one of my favorite “bands”. Leslie Feist’s voice is just gorgeous and I swear, I could listen to it 24 hours straight. This video is just too damn cool. Enjoy it.

19 Responses

  1. Oh, wow, me too. Funny — well, coincidental, I guess — that we’re both in migraine hell. I got rid of mine for about an hour and during that time I went outside with the camera. I got a great red-shouldered hawk butt photo! And, then I actually got a good photo of his pretty face, too, but I thought of you when I saw that hawk butt because I remember telling you about not always getting the good shot. πŸ™‚

    Very, very cool that you’re finally making progress toward replacing the house!!!

  2. I think it is pathetic that you all have had to wait 4 freaking long years to have your homes replaced…while the US spends billions in Iraq and billions to bail out egotistical bankers on Wall Street. This is very sad!

    I hope you’re feeling better!!

  3. I hope the migraine goes away soon. I hate those things. Now I have “Honey, Honey” in my head now. I love that album! Feel better soon.

  4. Okay, I’m here to give you your letter. Let’s go with….M!

    I didn’t know you lost your house to Katrina. 😦 But yay for being able to rebuild!!

  5. Nancy, I’m so sorry to hear that you’re stuck with one of these horrible things too 😦 I hope it gets better soon, friend. Wahoo for pictures of hawk butts! Will we get to see any? lol. I can’t wait to see what the house looks like when it’s all done. I’ve seen the plans of course, but there’s something so exciting about a new house going up!

    Staci, It is quite pathetic…What’s even worse is to think that we’re one of the lucky ones. I couldn’t agree with you more! The bail outs and the war just continue to infuriate me..I try not to talk politics on this blog, but I guess it’s ok in the comments :p Thanks Staci!

    Vasilly, It’s beginning to go away…now I’m just left exhausted. Thanks! Isn’t the Feist album amazing? I think I like The Reminder even better than their first album. So good! Honey, Honey isn’t a bad thing to have stuck in one’s head πŸ˜‰

    Softdrink, Yay for the letter M!! I’ve already done my answers and have scheduled the post to go up tomorrow! I have a post scheduled to go up on Saturday too! Look at me planning ahead, lol. Yep, the house got about 4 1/2 feet of water during Katrina…so we’re starting from scratch!

  6. Awwwww-feel better soon. And good news that you get to rebuild your house!

  7. doctors still have nothing that helps migraines I assume. They know about the sex life of an ant but can’t find something to help migraines.. makes you wonder.

    oh wow a new home!! I’m happy for you!! I hope your mom gave you plenty of wall space for book shelves! :o)

  8. That sounds awful 😦 I’m so sorry, Chris. I really hope you feel better soon.

    That’s good news about the house though! It should have been sooner, of course, but I’m glad to hear you have a date to look forward to now. I’m moving to a newly refurbished house at the end of the month and I’m really looking forward to putting up some new bookshelves. No more piles on the floor! Well, not until I fill the new shelves anyway πŸ˜›

    Feist is just lovely. I really like that song too.

  9. Congrats on the new home but Boo that it took so long. That’s really sad that so many still have no house 4 yrs later.

    I hate migraines.

    I love Honey, Honey. I’ve had it in the MP3 player for awhile now. I think it’s my favorite on the whole album.

  10. Well, I’m am so utterly ecstatic that you all are finally going to get to build your home!!! But I have to say that overall this post just made me so very sad. It is just so unfathomable that the suffering has gone on for sooooo long. That so many are still living in this perverse sort of limbo. But as I said, I am so very, very happy that your family is finally getting to move ahead.

    And I’m so extremely sorry about your migraine as well. It sounds horrendous, Chris, and I hope by the time you read this you’re back to 100%. (((hugs)))

  11. I hate migraines. You can’t think let alone try to read. I have to find a dark room to lie in.

    Good luck with building the new house. It’s incredible how long the process has taken already.

  12. ARGH! The Feist video is not available in the UAE! 😦

  13. I feel your pain on the migraine thing Chris. I’ve gotten them since I was a kid and they are sooooo not fun at all. One of those things a lot of people can’t full appreciate until they’ve experienced them. Hope you feel better soon!

  14. Oh gee! Rest! I don;’t know if that’ll help with the migraine but I’ve heard how terrible migraines can be. So rest, definitely. I’ll pray for you.

    I actually smiled when I saw your house. Am not a great one for newness/change..but there’s something about starting all over again and a new chance to create one’s house again…from scratch. I’m glad you finally can start again. And am glad you felt great at demolishing it. Adelante with joy! -C

  15. Glad to hear that you are getting closer to having your house back, that’s great! Crazy that it took so long, though! Hope you feel better soon!

  16. Chris, I’m so sorry you were home yesterday with a terrible migraine, and I hope you’re feeling a lot better today! I’m home with a nasty cold, so I guess it’s the season. How exciting to have demolition and then the building starting on your home!!! It’s been a long wait!!

  17. Chris, I posted a couple of hawk photos to my Facebook page. Do you ever get on Facebook? You seem pretty quiet, although I know you’re one of my handful of friends.

    I would love, love, love to be planning for a new house like you are, now. It’s such a nice, fresh feeling to move into a new home and just thinking about it’s exciting. I envy you. Have fun with it. πŸ™‚

  18. I hope you feel better now! I don’t suffer from migraine but I have strong headaches very often and I hate it.
    I can’t believe you demolished your own house!it must have been fun πŸ˜›

  19. Eva, Thanks! I’m feeling much better now!

    Deslily, Nope, they still don’t really know what causes them and it’s hit or miss when treating them. They had me on some meds awhile ago that helped a little but made me feel horrible, so I got off of those. I basically just use ibuprofen when they get real bad.

    Nymeth, Awesome that you’re moving into a new house soon! Are you moving in by yourself, or is the whole family moving? congrats on that! I lovvvve that feist song and the video is just amazing.

    Other Chris, It’s one of my favorite songs on the album too…so amazing! And thanks!

    Debi, I’m back to 100% πŸ˜€ Thanks! And yes, it is sad that it’s taken so long to get things done. I can easily get stuck on that. I’m just happy that things are finally moving forward! Finally!

    Mariel, Aren’t they horrible….all I want to do is lay in bed and scream, but then of course, the screaming would make them even worse!

    D-O, Oh no! That’s so sad! I hope you can find it somewhere else..it’s such a great video!

    Matthew, Sorry to hear that you get them too. I had them until I was 10, then they went away for a little while…then they came back around 21 and haven’t left yet 😦 They just suck!

    Carole, Thanks! We smiled like crazy too when we saw the house get torn down, lol. It was so exciting to know we’ll have a new one soon!

    Kailana, It is crazy that it took so long. So glad things are moving forward now!

    Robin, I am feeling much better today! Thank you! I hope you feel better now 😦 I hate colds…they’re just the worst!

    Bookfool, I’ll have to head on ever and check them out! I rarely ever get on facebook. I started my page when I was in college and sort of just abandoned it eventually. I probably check it about once a month now but don’t do much interaction there. Just see what’s going on with everyone else. It really is a nice feeling starting all over again!! I’ll take lots of pics for you πŸ™‚

    Valentina, I’m feeling much better, thank you! It was fun having the house demolished!

Leave a Reply

