The Sandman Vol. 1 by Neil Gaiman

sandman_vol1_preludesThe Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman
235 pgs.
1991
4.25/5 

I had forgotten just how much I love this series. I hadn’t forgotten that I loved it, but just how much is what was lost. Mind you, this is probably my least favorite book in the series, but it still brought back floods of memories meeting Dream and Death for the first time again and recalling how wonderful that feeling was when I first discovered The Sandman. 

In Volume 1, Preludes and Nocturnes, a group of men involved with the occult have gathered together to try to summon and capture Death. They succeed in summoning one of the Endless, a group of beings that control the lives of humans from the backdrop, but it is not Death…it’s her little brother who goes by many names – Morpheus, The Sandman, Dream. 

In capturing Dream, they take three of his belongings as well: a mask, a ruby, and a bag of sand. Dream far outlives the humans who capture him, all the time trapped in a glass bubble. While he waits in the bubble, chaos has been released upon the world. But when he gets out, it is his mission to take back the possessions which are rightfully his and can be very dangerous in the wrong hands. But they won’t be so easy to get and all of humanity is faced with danger as he tries. 

Perhaps my favorite story of all in the compilation, and one of my favorite stories because of it’s sentimentality is the last one in the book when we first meet Dream’s older sister, Death. Death has to be one of the best characters ever created in comic book history. She’s an optimistic little goth girl who’s full of cheer…not what you’d expect of death. But she’s truly wonderful and meeting her for the first time again was amazing. 

What I had forgotten about this first book is how dark it was and how disturbing it was. That kind of stuff doesn’t bother me, but if you read this series and it does bother you, don’t let it stop you from continuing on with it. They’re not all this disturbing. This is an important book though, and I would recommend reading it if you plan on reading the whole  series. So much fun to spend time with this one again…can’t wait to get my hands on book 2!

Other Views and Opinions:

Rhinoa’s Ramblings
Bold.Blue.Adventure. (Absolute Sandman Vol. 1)
Tripping Towards Lucidity
The Hidden Side of a Leaf
Nothing of Importance
A Striped Armchair

Let me know if I missed yours!

21 Responses

  1. I’ve really been in the mood to re-read the Sandman lately, and you’re making me want to even more! “The Sound of Her Wings” is my favourite in this volume too. It’s where the Sandman truly begins to feel like the Sandman, I think.

    And yeah, the other volumes are definitely not nearly as dark. I still remember the nightmares “24 Hours” gave me 😛

    For some reason I particularly want to re-read World’s End, so I think I’m going to start with that one!

  2. This one really upset me, except for the Death story…it was too gruesome for my tastes. I’m glad I stuck with it, though, since the second and third were a lot better!

  3. Nymeth, You should! It’s a fantastic reread. Sound of Her Wings is definitely my favorite here. I agree…that’s when he becomes himself. 24 Hours was indeed horrifying! Good lord, that one was bad, lol. Do you own these in TPB? I wish I did…though I do have the nice absolute edition 😉

    Eva, LOL…I saw that when I read your review of it just now…I though “poor Eva” :p The series definitely gets better as it goes along! Glad you enjoyed them more.

  4. Embarrassing and as shock as this admission is, but I’ve read very little Sandman… 😳

    The closest I’ve been is the Death: The High Cost of Living. Which I read a few years ago.

    Really need to try and locate a few editions.

  5. I’ve been intrigued by these graphic novels for years, but having only been really introduced to Gaiman in the last year or two, I still haven’t had a chance to read them. I’m most curious! Thanks, great review.

  6. I know I’m probably one of the few remaining people on Earth who haven’t read this series. I have to admit that I’m more than a little intrigue now.

  7. I have them, yes. I bought them because I just can’t get any comics or graphic novels at all through libraries. So buying them was the only way I could read them. It took me like 5 years to get them all, though…they’re so expensive. And something that bugs me is that they changed the covers when I was half done collecting them, so I have the first 5 with covers in this style while the others have covers in the style of the one you posted. And I liked the old covers better! Ah well, at least I have them, so I shouldn’t complain 😛

  8. awww, a new book by your favorite author!! That’s always a good thing!

  9. This is the only book I have read in this series… One of these days I will read the whole series, but library lacks in the graphic novel department and my pocket book lacks in the money department!

  10. OK…that settles it. It’s time I learn to read a Graphic Novel. If the Fables reviews didn’t push me over the edge, this one just did!!

  11. I always kind of block out the gore, but when I reread a Gaiman book I have to remind myself that there will be blood!

    What a great book, right? I just actually read #4 and #5 this past weekend.

  12. I’ve never read any Sandman either. I was looking for them in B&N yesterday, though. Unfortunately, I never found any.

  13. Sound of her Wings is an amazing story. I know this volume isn’t the favorite of most people but I have to admit to being hooked from the first page and I still enjoy it every time I reread it. They get better, no doubt about it, but I still enjoy this volume.

    I may have said this before during another time that you’ve wrote about Sandman, so forgive me if it is a repeat, but one of the most wonderful experiences I had was reading each graphic novel and then going and reading the corresponding chapter in Hy Bender’s wonderful book, A Sandman Companion. It is a highly recommended activity.

  14. I just started reading The Doll’s House last night! Do I even need to say that I’m loving it? That’s pretty much a given, huh? I’m so eager to see where the series goes. Nearly everyone seems to agree that Preludes isn’t the finest of the bunch, but I really did enjoy it. Can’t believe it’s taken me so long to get around to the second one…though I did try earlier, just met with library failure.

  15. I’ve been reading Sandman for the first time recently, in the Absolute Sandman editions (from the library!). Starting out as a complete Sandman newbie, Preludes and Nocturnes was pretty intense… a little jumpy, and a lot disturbing. Meeting Death was my favorite part, but as a whole, it didn’t do much to convince me that I’d like the rest of the series. I was won over by the end of Vol. 1, but Preludes and Nocturnes was an intense way to start.

  16. i have only read few sandman issues that I found once on a second-hand magazine stall. it was one about a banquet with the queen and king of Fairyland, but I don’t remember much,only that it was really good. It was long time ago.
    Where do you think I should start to read Sandman? Is this the first? are they in a proper order easy to follow?

  17. Awesome review! I love this series too, but I want to find a good timeline that gives a suggested order for reading these along with all the spin-offs. For some reason I thought there was some cross-over between Sandman and Lucifer that was best read a certain way.

  18. Yes it is a really dark start to the series. I hope to finally finish them all this year and read some more of the Death spin offs.

  19. I have got to reread these – I got lost along the way and never did read all of them. I’m planning – some time soon, I hope – to go back to the beginning and read them all through. I just ordered some Sandman bookmarks for my library. They’re very cool. 😀

  20. […] here’s what I read this month: 1. The Sandman Vol. 1: Preludes and Nocturnes by Neil Gaiman, 1991, 235 pgs., 4.25/5 2. Never Let Me Go by Kazuo Ishiguro, 2005, 288 pgs., 5/5 3. The […]

  21. […] Stuff As Dreams Are Made On | Rhinoa’s Ramblings | Bold. Blue. Adventure. | The Hidden Side of Leaf | A Striped Armchair | Nothing of Importance | Tripping Toward Lucidity | Book Bug | The Wertzone Posted in Gaiman, Neil, review RSS 2.0 | Trackback | Comment […]

Leave a Reply

