Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

First of all, I have to send a HUGE congratulations out to Neil Gaiman for being awarded the Newbery Medal for The Graveyard Book!!!! I couldn’t be more happy about this. I was hoping that he’d get some award love for this book, and this one is just the best. Also, a huge congrats to Terry Pratchett for Nation as a Printz Honor book!!! I’ve always loved the Printz award’s choices and this is certainly no exception. Congrats guys!!!

Ok, so on to the loot for the week. I couldn’t find a mailbox pic that I really liked this week, so you don’t get one 😦 Sorry.Β 

13233342

Ok, so now for the bad bloggers of the week :p To learn more about Bad Bloggers! click the icon in my right hand sidebar.

1. Green River, Running Red by Ann Rule – This was a present from the lovely Debi! I won it on her site after we discovered that we both love true crime books πŸ™‚ Looking forward to it! Thanks Debi!!!

2. Matrimony by Joshua Henkin – Ok, so I can’t TELL you how long I’ve been waiting and trying to win a copy of this one. And I finally did from Jill at Fizzy Thoughts!!! Thanks Jill! Karma must be good for Jill because she won a book from me too which is on it’s way to her!

3. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi – Now it’s time for points! Guess who gets a point for this one :p Yes, she’s taking the lead…Nymeth most definitely gets a point for this Graphic Novel that I’ve been dying to read!

4. Ombria in Shadow by Patricia A. McKillip – This point goes to Carl! I think he mentioned this one awhile ago in his Kinuko Y. Craft post. Don’t you just love the Craft cover to this one? It’s awesome. Another one that’s been on the wishlist for far too long!

20 Responses

  1. Just look at that Nymeth pulling into the lead already! I need to do my post, too…and of course, she’s earning points at my place, too.

  2. I hope you like Persepolis! I thought it was wonderful. Enjoy your hoard!

  3. Debi, Yep, I knew she would soon enough. I swear, it’s going to look like I only read books that Nymeth reads! lol

    Mariel, I’m sure I’ll love Persepolis. It sounds fantastic. Thanks!

  4. lol πŸ˜› I think you’ll really enjoy Persepolis.Ombria in Shadows sounds great too, and it has a gorgeous cover indeed!

    I’m SO happy for Neil & Terry πŸ˜€ Do you follow John Green on twitter? I heard the news from him, and part of the fun was seeing how excited he was. He likes Nation! I knew he liked The Graveyard Book already, but Nation too! He’s perfect or what?

    And now I want to read all the other winners/honor books.

  5. I was sooooo ridiculously excited for Neil! Yay yay yay! Great books in the mailbox! I have Matrimony waiting for me, and Persepolis (I and II) are faves.

  6. lol lol i am laughing because i looked at your bad blooger list.. fellow bloggers are blamed for 6 books… yet in the past few weeks you’ve gotten about 30 books! lol… guess who is the baddest blogger of all !! lol… That’s my son! hahahaha you do get me to smile Chris!!

  7. Perspolis is great! If I remember correctly Nymeth was partly responsible for me reading it as well!

  8. I’m so happy for Neil & Terry!! (Although I’m still on the wait list for Nation…*sigh*)

  9. LOL Seems like we both got Persepolis in the same week πŸ™‚
    Enjoy your books!

  10. greatq books in the mail πŸ™‚ I enjoyed Matrimony and have heard good things about Persepolis.
    very cool about Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.

  11. Persepolis is a great graphic novel series. I read it a couple years ago now! Happy reading!

  12. I read Persepolis last week…excellent choice! In fact, all of my Dewey Challenge books are turning into winners. Have you read The Ha-Ha? That one’s really good, too.

  13. Oh, I’m happy about Neil! I was thinking the other day about why Graveyard Book didn’t make my list of favourite reads of 2008, and I think its’ because Coraline scared me more, and I read them both the same year. Otherwise GB would have made it on….
    and I’ve heard so much about Persepolis that I almost picked it up recently! However, I’ve just discovered that Tales of the Crypt is out in book form so that’s what I’m trying to find. πŸ™‚
    I sent you a message through your ‘contact me’ with my address, as I can’t seem to find your email through your profile the way it used to be. Just checking to make sure you get it!

  14. Nymeth, you just got your second point in one day! lol…I’m sure I’ll enjoy Persepolis too. It looks fantastic and has been the most coveted book on my wishlist! I do follow John Green on twitter but I didn’t know about it until you left the comment on my blog this morning! So excited. I can’t wait to read the other books either…especially Frankie Landau and Tender Morsels!

    Andi, Well I know that Persepolis has to be good if it’s on your favs list! And Matrimony sounds really good as well…I agree.

    Deslily, You are so right that it isn’t even funny, lol…well actually it kinda is..so does that mean that I get to buy myself another book in June if I recommend the most books to myself? :p

    Bart, I think she’s responsible for all of us reading it!

    Eva, You’re going to love Nation when it’s finally your turn…such a fantastic book.

    Kathrin, Very cool! We should read it together!!

    Bookworm, Isn’t it great news! I’m really looking forward to Matrimony…I’ve heard so many good things about it!

    Kailana, I’m sure I’ll thoroughly enjoy it! It really looks fantastic!

    Softdrink, I saw that you were reading it. Can’t wait to compare notes! Dewey really did have great taste in books. Yep, I have The Ha Ha on the TBR list so I’ll be reading it real soon! Just got mine in last week.

    Susan, Isn’t that awesome news?! You should’ve just put Coraline and TGB on your list :p Doesn’t Persepolis sound great?? I just couldn’t hold off anymore! I love the Tales from the Crypt GNs…they’re great! And yes, I did get your email from the contact box. I thought I replied to you! Oh well, guess I didn’t…I haven’t been able to think straight lately, lol. I have your address though!

  15. Ombria in Shadow is my favorite McKillip book. Such a great story, and the world reminds me of Neverwhere in certain ways. I’m sure you’ll enjoy it.

    That is fantastic news for Neil, he certainly deserves it.

  16. Carl, I knew it was your fault!!! lol…I’m really looking forward to it now…especially knowing that it’s one of your favorites and reminds you of Neverwhere. And one more time…”go Neil!!!”

  17. Nice haul! That Ann Rule book looks really interesting, I’ve only read a couple of hers. My two favorite true crime authors are Harold Schechter and Robert Keppel, but they focus mainly on mass murderers. Another terrific author is Yves Lavigne, his books are almost all on crime within the Hell’s Angels – I think his writing is amazing, makes you feel like your right there.

  18. Persepolis is definitely one of my favorite graphic novels. I’m just waiting on the movie to arrive from Netflix. Hopefully they did it justice.

  19. Persepolis is wonderful!

  20. Hey, seems like we both had Persepolis in our Mailbox last week! πŸ™‚ Did you already start it? I already read the first part and loved it!

Leave a Reply

