Mailbox Monday and Bad Bloggers!

mailbox21

112131456789

Here we go with excuses and Bad Bloggers!:

1. The Killing Circle by Andrew Pyper – This one comes as a gift courtesy of Joanne, The Book Zombie. I read her review and wanted to read this one right away! She was kind enough to send me her copy along with a beautiful bookmark that she made with a lock and key on it 🙂 Can’t wait to read it!

2. Amsterdam by Ian McEwan – I’ve been wanting to read some McEwan for awhile as everyone seems to love his work. I always shied away from it though…that is, until I read Lightheaded’s review of this book…point for Lightheaded!

3. The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath – Sylvia Plath and Anne Sexton have always been two of my favorite poets. I read this ages ago, but don’t remember it very well, so I figured I’d read it again.

4. Dreams Underfoot by Charles DeLint – It’s Charles de LInt…nuf said.

5. My Antonia by Willa Cather – Read this review and try not to add it to your wishlist! Point for B&B Ex Libris.

6. The Gathering by Anne Enright – I was looking through Dewey’s bookmooch wishlist and found this book 😦 It sounded really good, so I mooched it.

7. On the Road by Jack Kerouac – I’ve always wanted to read this one and then Nymeth reviewed it. That about sums that one up. Did anyone really thing we’d get through week 1 of Bad Bloggers! without a point for Nymeth?

8. Twilight by Stephenie Myer – Sheesh. I explained the story about this one in my last post. I’m halfway finished it already :p I swore never to read this one, but then Stephanie reviewed it…point for Steph!

9. The Starry Rift edited by Jonathan Strahan – I had to go get this one for Carl’s Out of this World mini-challenge next weekend. I read Becky’s review and the rest was history. Point for Becky!

Books bought: 2
Books Mooched: 6
Books received as a gift: 1
Points Given (for books bought and mooched): 5

21 Responses

  1. I’m curious to see your thoughts on Twilight. It will be nice to have a guy’s perspective on it 🙂

    I hope you enjoy Starry Rift 🙂

  2. Nuff said is right! A de Lint book with a Palencar cover is just a recipe for succumbing to temptation!

  3. Charles de Lint is fast becoming one of my new obessions. I need to read more!! (And I still want you to read Memory and Dream…so I can get your opinion on it!!)

  4. yay, you got On the Road 😀 I can’t wait to see what you think of it. I want to read McEwan too, and it will be all Lightheaded’s fault when I do. I remember loving The Bell Jar, but I read it in my teens…it’s a book I want to revisit too.

  5. Love that Pyper cover.

    And I don’t know who took my much thumbed copy of The Bell Jar. Your post reminded me to get another copy of it.

  6. Whew…5 points in the very first week! Becky made me order Starry Rift, too! But mine hasn’t come yet…sure hope it does in time for Carl’s mini-challenge.

  7. I’m glad you’re reading Kerouac. On the Road is one of those books very high up on my recommend to others list.

    5 points for week 1 of bad bloggers! You sure do have a lot of good bookish friends 🙂

  8. So, taking the last 3 weeks as an average, that’s going to work out at about 500 books added to the TBR shelf this year…

    Just thought I’d put it in to context for you… >:)

    *runs away*

  9. I was actually kind of happy when I looked at the books you bought and knew that I wasn’t going to get blamed for any of them! lol

    Oh, and, I will be really interested to hear what you think of Amsterdam. I read it pre-blogging days and I absolutely hated it! I think I am in the minority.

    I had to laugh at what Bart said above. lol That’s just great. 🙂

  10. bad bloggers! bad, bad, bad! …heh.

    (little arm twisting here.. little arm twisting there lol)

  11. There are several books on your list that I want to read, and I agree that Bethany’s review of My Antonia made me want to read it.

  12. Becky, I’m honestly enjoying Twilight so far! Surprised the hell out of me. Really looking forward to The Starry Rift!!

    Carl, Anytime de Lint pairs up with Palencar or Vess (which is all too often :p) I just have to get it eventually!

    Steph, I actually have Memory and Dream on my wishlist thanks to you :p It’ll get read eventually!

    Nymeth, I can’t wait to read On the Road…it’s one of those books that’s mentioned over and over again that I’ve really been wanting to get to. The Bell Jar is one of those books that I suppose one goes back to over and over again throughout their lives. She was such a wonderful writer. I got a book by Hornby in the mail today called “Songbook” and I think it’s just another version of 31 Songs…I mooched it and it came up as a related title. Do you know if they’re one in the same? If so, you’ll get a point for that next week :p

    Gautami, Like I told Nymeth, I think The Bell Jar is one of those books that you just keep going back to. It’s a wonderful book! And don’t you love the cover to the Pyper book?? It’s one of the things that made me get it 🙂

    Debi, I know….this is going to be bad…real bad :p See Bart’s comment for some more amusement, lol. I hope your copy of The Starry Rift comes in time! Doesn’t it sound awesome??

    Lena, I can’t wait to read it! It sounds very good. That’s one way to look at it..you can also look at them as horrible influences :p

    Bart, You better start running! And fast!! Seriously, statistics are my worse enemy, lol! God I really didn’t need to hear that, LOL

    Kailana, Oh don’t you worry! There will be plenty of points coming your way eventually I’m sure 😉 I’m looking forward to Amsterdam…and it’s good to know that if I hate it, I won’t be alone! Bart’s comment was awful! Just awful! lol…

    Deslily, Bad bad bad!! lol…I get my arm twisted entirely too much…I think I’m starting to get indian burn from it…

    Alyce, Hell, go buy ’em! LOL…you can start your own blame game, lol. Doesn’t My Antonia sound great?

  13. *grins*

  14. omg! LOL, I haven’t heard of Indian burn since I was a kid! I am shocked you know of it hahahahaha

  15. Oh my gosh!!!! I just sooo grinned when I saw this list. I actually have read three of these books!!!! My Antonia is really good. Of course! On the Road is okay. The Bell Jar is harrowing. BTW, don’t know if your edition has that wonderful villanelle in it: Mad Girl’s Love Song. But that was the first time I totally fell in love with villanelles. Not sure if it’s at the front of the back of the book. I see that you have twilight. I heard of another book by a Swedish author called “Let the Right One In.” Also a kid vampire movie. And supposedly knocks twilight out of the water. Of course I came to know about the book because of the movie. Which is playing in art houses all over the country and will probably be on DVD in a coupla months. DEFINITELY see it. It’s super. -C

  16. I have got to read The Bell Jar – it’s been recommended to me so many times. I can’t wait to hear what you think of The Gathering, it looks great. And I really can’t wait for your review of Twilight and to see what you think of the sequels (if you read them too) 😛

  17. Deslily, I know…me either, lol. It just popped in my head when you said “twisting your arm”. We used to do that to each other all the time when I was a kid.

    Carole, Awesome! We rarely read the same books, lol. I’m really looking forward to My Antonia. I’ve heard really great things about it. I’m definitely adding Let the Right One In to my wishlist right now!!! Thanks so much for letting me know about it! Sounds great. Can’t wait to see the movie too!

    Joanne, The Bell Jar is a really great book. A bit depressing, but really good. The Gathering really does look great. Can’t wait to read it. Not sure yet if I’ll read the sequels to Twilight or not…I probably will though :p

  18. Not that I want to be a bad blogger, but I posted some books I got in the mail and I THINK one might interest you. 🙂 And, other people, but your name came to my head when I was linking to the blurb.

  19. Great books 🙂 I loved Twilight. Happy reading.

  20. I read The Gathering recently. I think I may have found it via Dewey as well. I wish I could say I loved it, but I didn’t. It was still very good, though.

  21. Hi,

    More info please 🙂

Leave a Reply

