Kind of a Sunday Salon

First business first! Time to pick a winner for my 2 year blogiversary giveaway. Without further ado, random.org has chosen Jill of Fizzy Thoughts! Congrats Jill. Send me your address and I’ll get the book out to you. I think I’ve won twice on your blog, so this is very well deserved πŸ™‚ She couldn’t decide between Madapple or Dream Homes, so I’m picking for her. While I loved Madapple, Dream Homes should be read by everybody! So she’s getting Dream Homes πŸ˜‰ Hope that’s ok with you Jill! It was actually quite comical trying to pick a winner for this….I had 50 comments on the giveaway post, so I put the numbers 1 through 50 into random.org and everytime it would pick a number it would never fail to be a response that I left or a pingback. This happened about 5 times before it finally landed on Jill. I think it just wanted me to give myself another book…which leads me to the next topic…

I did the unthinkable. I loved Harry Potter. It was such an amazing series, but I usually shy away from the really popular series. Why I do this, I don’t know. I guess it’s just my old thing of not going along with the crowd. So needless to say, when the Twilight series became so damn popular, I decided that I loathed it without ever reading it and swore to never read Meyer’s books. Then I went to Barnes and Noble last night to get The Starry Rift for Carl’s mini-challenge next weekend. And Twilight started staring at me. Oh it stared me down with it’s appealing $10.99 price tag and my Barnes and Noble member card that would give me an extra 10% off in my back pocket. So yeah…I got it and whisked away the first 100 pages last night and I have to say…it’s good. Stephanie is really to blame for this one and she’ll get a point for it tomorrow. I trust her taste completely and we tend to have the same tastes in books. She liked it so I figured I just might too.

And finally, it’s time to welcome back Weekly Geeks!!! A few people have gotten together and restarted that wonderful weekly mini-challenge that Dewey had began. At first I wasn’t going to do this one because I hate picking just a few blogs to highlight. But the challenge is to highlight a few blogs that you really love. I figured I wanted to be a part of this return to Weekly Geeks though, so I’ll highlight the blogs that I’ve been reading since the beginning. They’re all amazing and if you’re not subscribed to them yet, you really should be! There are many blogs I love though and most of them are located in my sidebar which I recently updated finally! I still have to add some more though. Here are some of my old favories:

Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings. Carl’s blog was the first one that I started reading once I had my own Blogger account. He was also the first blogger to comment on my blog and I quickly found a true kinship with him. We shared a love of Neil Gaiman! and Fantasy! and Sci-Fi! Throughout the two years I’ve been blogging, he’s continued to be a good friend and an inspiration.

Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews. I don’t remember when I met Becky exactly but I know it was towards the beginning of blogging. I fell in love with her reviews right away. I’ve always loved YA lit, so when I discovered that she read a lot of it, I was indeed happy. And I found out that she shared my love of Orson Scott Card so much that she started a challenge based on him!

Robin of A Fondness for Reading. I lurked for a little while over there before I came out of the woodwork to comment. I still love Robin’s blog to death. She’s a passionate reader and passionate about everything she does. The biggest joy of this year so far is hosting my own challenge with her!

Eva at A Striped Armchair. I have to admit that I had a bit of a blogger crush when I first discovered Eva’s blog and also just lurked over there for a little while. She’s an incredibly intelligent person who is incredibly fun and I just love reading her reviews. She’s definitely expanded my horizons since I started reading her blog!

Bookfool!. I love Nancy the Bookfool. What else can I say about her. She’s this amazing woman that lives close by actually who takes amazing photographs, reads like there’s no tomorrow, constantly adds to my wishlist, and she’s just a really great person. Hopefully we’ll get to go to Simon Van Booy’s next release together! We like to discuss the weather too since we tend to share Β the same forecast :p

Dark Orpheus. Another blog that I was very intimidated by when I first started reading it! She writes so beautifully about the books she reads and her life experiences. I’m glad that I finally delurked over there. She’s come to be someone that I really respect and I’m amazed by all she does!

Dolce Bellezza…ahem, another blog that I was intimidated by. (on an aside: I think I’m a horrible writer and really don’t have much to say. So when I find someone who puts things into words perfectly, it tends to intimidate me :p) Bellezza’s blog is just beautiful. I love everything about it. She reads the most exceptional books, writes the most beautiful reviews, and harkens back to a time where it was all about class. When I think of Bellezza, I think of fountain pens, wax seals, journals, and warmth. She makes me smile πŸ™‚

Deslily. This is my second mom πŸ™‚ For those who have been wondering for ages what that’s all about, over the summer (of 2007) she asked me to read her fantasy series that she had written. It was amazing! We soon found through our email exchanges that we were basically identical aside from the age and gender thing. We decided that we were probably separated at birth, so she became “Mom2” and I became her “adopted son” :p Her blog is one of a kind and I just love her sense of humor!

Debi at Nothing of Importance. Now come on, Debi has the most inappropriate name for a blog ever :p Debi, you’re my favorite! I can’t tell you how excited I get whenever there’s a new post on her blog. She’s somebody that I’ve come to feel incredibly close to and I love her thoughts on books, her thoughts on life, and the wonderful posts about her family. I feel like they’re my family too sometimes. Debi’s one of those people that you just want to give a big hug to!

Quixotical. One of my first “favorite blogs” and still a favorite. I discovered Elaine’s blog right after Carl’s and was so excited to have a friend in England! Me and Quix tend to share a brain at times…at least I feel that way. She loves all of my favorite authors, movies, and music. And she’s just a damn cool person.

Stephanie at Confessions of a Book-a-holic. I trust Steph’s taste in books completely! I know if she’s loved something, that I’m sure to love it as well. We share similar tastes in music too which is loads of fun. When I found out that she loved NIN, I was happy πŸ™‚ Stephanie is another one of those bloggers that I feel like we were separated at birth! She’s great.

Nymeth at Things Mean A Lot. Last but CERTAINLY not least! I may have to admit to another blogger crush here :p When Nymeth started her blog, I knew I had found a good friend. Her personality shines through in everything that she writes and what she writes is just amazing! Seriously, nearly everything she’s reviewed has gone onto my wishlist. Nymeth is one of those people that makes me feel lucky to have her as a friend. Another blog that I get very excited about whenever there’s a new post!

Phew!! That was a long post! Like I said, these are just a few of the blogs that I really love. They’re the ones I’ve been reading since “back in the day”. There are so many other fantastic blogs out there and I love all of them! Looking back on this post, I can’t help but thinking “can you believe at one time I only read 12 blogs!”

18 Responses

  1. Chris, you say the sweetest things. I’m amazed at how perceptive you are about the people you’ve described: from the little I know of them (don’t you wish we could just have a big party and all meet?!) I so agree with what you’ve said. It touches me, though, in a very humbling way how you said I remind you of wax, and journals, and warmth. I guess my heart is clear for you to see. You are an inspiration to us all, and that is total bunk about you not being a good writer/having good things to leave in comments. You’ve helped me so much in the days that I was insanely worried about my son, and you’ve always given encouragement or insight. So, erase ‘bad writer’ from your vocabulary. XOXO

  2. Can I just freakin’ cry now?!! Chris, I can’t begin to tell you how much you just brightened my evening! Oh, who the hell am I kidding…you just brightened my entire month!!! And Chris, don’t let that whole genetic thing throw you off…in my heart, you definitely are part of this family! I love you, dear friend!

    Okay, now we get the “bad news” part…I forbid you to like Twilight! πŸ˜‰ I’ve been the same as you, just refusing to give in and try them. Some sort of mental block there that I just can’t break through. So don’t you dare go throwing any monkey wrenches into my stubbornness!

  3. I was the first, eh? That’s cool, I didn’t remember that. I feel extremely honored to be in such good company. That list is some of the creme de la creme of bloggers in our community and seeing all their names in a list like that makes me feel so privileged to be a part of it.

  4. awww how sweet! thank you baby boy!

  5. Bellezza, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve wanted to have a big get together with all of us bloggers. Someone mentioned a book blogger convention in Portland! I really hope it happens. I’m definitely going if it does happen. Thanks so much for your kind words in return Bellezza. I always read everyone else’s posts and reviews and wish I could write as eloquently as that. I haven’t heard about your son in awhile! I’ll take that as a good thing πŸ˜‰

    Debi, I’m only telling the truth πŸ™‚ I feel the same way. you guys just seem like family πŸ™‚ I have bad news for you Debi…while Twilight isn’t the most well written book in the world as far as plot holes, it’s damn good and she can really tell a story…I’m afraid you may get nothing but mostly good things about this book from me.

    Carl, You were indeed the first! I remember thinking “someone actually read this thing?!” Looking back at it, it really is one hell of a list of bloggers, isn’t it? I’m glad to be a part of this blogging group too.

    Deslily, You’re very welcome! I couldn’t have a list like this without you!

  6. I’m not doing this Weekly Geeks, because I don’t want to leave people out, but if I had to pick only ten book blogs to read, you would be on there without question. πŸ™‚ *hugs* It’s funny, before this WG, I never knew people found me intimidating! Anyway, I feel the exact same way about Debi and Nymeth that you do.

    As far as books go, I really enjoyed Twilight for the fluff it was, but I’ve felt no desire to read the rest of the series, so I just read a spoiler-ific review of Breaking Dawn and left it at that. lol

  7. Ah, another innocent victim sucked into the Twilight craze! Not me – I’m far too above reading (the rest of these) silly vampire novels *surreptitiously pushes the newly arrived boxed set under the table* . πŸ˜‰

    But seriously, she does know how to tell a good story, doesn’t she? I didn’t want to put Twilight down, and now I’ll have to try to hold myself back from starting the rest of them until I have some quality time to spend with them.

  8. Woo-hoo!! πŸ˜€ I will look forward to reading Dream Homes…I trust your taste in books. I just started Looking for Alaska and I’m already on page 73 and loving it!

    You have some fantastic blogs in that list…and some that are new to me…this will be fun exploring new sites!

    And thank you (and mr. random.org)!

  9. Eva, that’s exactly why I chose a specific population to feature in this post :p I was so worried about leaving someone out! I still feel bad though, because people still got left out 😦 And thank you kindly ma’am! You’re spot on about Twilight…it’s excellent as a fluff read. I’ll probably end up reading the rest of the books too though, unlike you :p

    Megan, Sheesh…I know. I fought against it for so damn long! And now I’m one of those super losers who jumps on the bandwagon after everyone else has read it and now I’m just reading it to be cool :/ I do like the fact that you bought the box set though, LOL. It is a great story.

    Softdrink, I really think you’ll enjoy Dream Homes!! It’s a fantastic book. So glad to hear that you’re enjoying Looking For Alaska…it’s an amazing book as is his latest, Paper Towns. Go check out the blogs you don’t know about already! They’re fun!!

  10. Thanks Chris! That really means alot, just so you know. As far as Twilight goes, I did enjoy the book. I’m enjoying the series, although Bella is annoying me to no end. Honestly though, they aren’t great literature. Fun reads. I don’t think you will enjoy them as much as Harry Potter……but the craze is out of control!! If you can’t beat ’em, then join ’em!!

  11. Awww Chris, you made my day πŸ˜€ A blogger crush, eh? I have many of those myself πŸ˜› Many of the people you listed were also among my first blogging friends, and I really can’t tell you all how grateful I am that you made me feel so welcome. Before blogging I had never had any friends who were quite as obsessed with books as I am. And now here we are, sharing our craziness and being terrible influences on one another.

    And I sometimes feel like Debi’s family is my family too, lol. There’s this hilarious passage in Shakespeare Wrote for Money where Nick Hornby reveals his plot to get an American couple, a poet and a writer, to adopt him, even though they are pretty much his own age. Even though Debi is much too young to be our mother, we should get her to honorarily adopt us too πŸ˜›

  12. Congratulations on blogging for 2 years. I’ve only been doing my book blog for a year now, but is very addictive isn’t it?

  13. Steph, There’s no way I could’ve made this list and left you out πŸ™‚ As for Twiliht, I’m right there with you. They’re definitely not great literature, but I don’t think they were meant to be. I think they’re just a good, guilty, YA read πŸ™‚ Bella hasn’t started annoying me that much yet, but I’m sure she will eventually :p Definitely not as good as Harry Potter, but I can see where the craze comes from.

    Nymeth, I’m glad I could make your day! It’s crazy how this little community can have so many people who all love books so much!! I wish I had more friends that I see daily to talk books with but barely any of my friends are readers 😦 I’m so happy we’re all out here! You can’t help but feel like Debi’s family, huh? I really think that she should indeed adopt us, lol…let’s draw up the papers!

    Kerrie, Thanks! It certainly doesn’t feel like 2 years! It flies by. It’s quite addictive!

  14. Thanks for your kind words, Chris. Here’s a big hug for you. πŸ™‚

  15. Right back at ya Robin!

  16. You are too sweet, Chris! It does often feel like I have a long lost twin over there. πŸ˜‰ You’re pretty cool too!

    Being a part of this community has been so much fun, and everyone has been so welcoming. I only hope I can be more present this year!

    You know, I do exactly the same thing with popular series. At first I totally ignored Harry Potter, and then for some reason I caved and picked up the first book…and realised I was an idiot. I do the same with TV series – Buffy being a good example. And I think I’ve mentioned before my tendency to scoff at books that have the “Richard and Judy’s Summer Reads” stickers (popular daytime chat show hosts in the UK) etc, only to find I’ve been missing out on some great stuff.

  17. I’m glad you decided to participate–it was hard to pick just a few, wasn’t it? One person just put her whole blogroll in her post! I couldn’t do that because there are blogs in my reader that aren’t on my blogroll and vice versa (it’s a system that makes sense to nobody but me).

    P.S. I’m thrilled that Jill won the book I would have picked. πŸ™‚

  18. Oh, thank you! Gosh, I’m blushing, here. I’m writing my “Blame it on Chris” post and here you are, saying all sorts of nice things about me! BTW, I agree with Bellezza. You are an excellent writer. Don’t sell yourself short, fella.

Leave a Reply

