Has It Really Been Two Years?

On January 3, 2007, the first post to Stuff as Dreams are Made on was published. I had switched over at that time from a Myspace blog which seemed to have a LOT more profanity than this blog does. I would blog about the occasional book, but mostly it was a blog to bitch in. I’m glad I got out of that habit…I did too much of that. And I have to say I’m much happier now. Before that I used to blog on deadjournal…remember them anyone? lol. 

What I didn’t expect when I came into this blogging world was that a) people would actually read this blog, b) that I would start blogging about books and c) that I would form such a close bond with so many people who shared my love of books. I had never found that really close bond in other blogging venues. The book blog world is one that I’m thrilled to be a part of and two years later, I’m even more excited about it than I was when I started. 

To all my “old readers” and to everyone that’s just jumped on board, I offer you my sincerest thanks for stopping by here every now and then. It truly makes my day. As an added surprise, I found out that I’ve been nominated once again for a Preditors and Editors award for best review site!! I can’t tell you how excited it makes me to be on that list!! If you’d like to vote for Stuff as Dreams are Made on or would like to nominate someone else’s blog…head on over there and do so!

What’s a blogiversary without a giveaway, right? I love giveaways, so I thought I’d make this fun. For this one, the winner has their choice of any book I’ve read since I’ve started blogging! If you look up at the top of your screen, you’ll see tabs for all of my 2007, 2008, and 2009 reads. There are lots to choose from. I’ve only reviewed one book so far this year, but I’m about to finish Peter Beagle’s A Fine and Private Place (which will most assuredly get a 5/5 rating)…so if you would like that one, feel free to pick it as your choice. And since it’s two years now, we’ll go ahead and pick two winners! Just leave me a note in the comments of this post telling me which book you’d like if you win. It’s open to the whole world and I’ll pick a winner next Saturday at midnight US Central time. 

Thanks again for hanging out with me everyone!! Looking forward to another great year with you all.

51 Responses

  1. Happy blog anniversary! May your next year be equally full and delicioius 🙂

    (And I pick Bonk)

  2. *votes for you*

    Happy second blogiversary, Chris! Mine is coming in two months already….crazy, where did time go?

    I remember deadjournal, yep 😛 Before this, I had a livejournal for 3 years, but I didn’t get to meet anyone through it either. My own fault, for closing most entry and not getting involved in communities or anything. Someone talking about books makes it easier to connect with others. Here’s to many more years 🙂

    My pick would be Paper Towns!

    (And yay, 5/5 😀 Can’t wait to read your thoughts.)

  3. Happy Blogiversary! Mine was yesterday but I failed to post about it.

  4. Congratulations, Chris – on both the blog anniversary and for being nominated for a Preditors and Editors award. Two great reasons to celebrate. I’m new to your blog, but am enjoying it very much. Your writing is very well done.

    I’m with Nymeth – my choice would be Paper Towns, too. I’ve heard so much great stuff about that one, thanks to the book blogging community.

  5. Happy Blogiversary! My choice is Paper Towns. It feels like I’m the only blogger who hasn’t read it!

  6. Happy anniversary 🙂

    My choice would be Time Traveler’s Wife because *hangs head in shame* I’ve never read it and I know it’s one of your favorites.

    Becky (laney_poATyahooDOTcom)

  7. Happy blogiversary!! I don’t need to be in the drawing (see-I’m more serious about not acquiring books this year…no giveaways, no nothing, lol), but it’s generous of you. And congrats on the nominatioN!

  8. Happy second blogiversary, Chris!

    July will be my 1st for the book blog. Anyway, I will choose After Dark by Haruki Murakami.

    Thanks.

  9. “I offer you my sincerest thanks for stopping by here every now and then. It truly makes my day.”…Well, you silly boy, don’t you know that it’s you who makes our day?!! Why else would we come by? Happy, happy, happy blogiversary! I am so very happy that you started this journey!

    And congratulations on the nomination! Guess where I’m headed as soon as I finish this comment. 🙂

    Well, it would have to be an Orson Scott Card to celebrate your blogiversary…so I would choose Invasive Procedures.

  10. Happy blog anniversary, Chris. Such auspicious timing! Good luck with the reader’s poll.

    My choice would be The Raven (cough, cough), but you have to mail it to Nymeth, as I’ve proven completely ineffective at being able to get a review copy mailed to her. 🙂

    Congrats again!

    John
    http://www.WitchEmber.com

  11. Happy bloggiversary! I just discovered your blog and I think I’ll be visiting very often from now on. 🙂

  12. Happy Blogiversary.

    My choice would be The Tales of Desperaux, mainly because I saw the trailer for it yesterday and it looked cute!

  13. Happy blogiversary! We share the same month; it’s good to know I share it with such a wonderful person! 🙂

    My pick would be The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling because you raved about it, and I absolutely loved her Nightrunner series.

  14. Christine, THanks! Bonk’s a great choice!

    Nymeth, thank you thank you thank you 🙂 It’s hard to believe we’ve been blogging for two years already, but at the same time, it seems like it’s been so much longer than that! Funny how time plays tricks on us. I never got that involved with Deadjournal either…I was on there for 2 years I think and really only had one girl in canada who followed me aside from a few IRL friends. Wonder what she’s up to now….And I totally thought that you read Paper Towns already!! I hope you win 😉 You have another entry from John too it looks like, lol.

    Other Chris, Well happy blogiversary to you too! Do you want to be entered in the drawing? Pick a book!!

    Betty and Boo’s Mommy, Well thank you so much! Glad you’re enjoying it over here. Another one for Paper Towns! It’s a fantastic book.

    Vasilly, Another Paper Towns! Wow…apparently you’re not the only person who hasn’t read it, lol.

    Becky, Thanks 🙂 Excellent choice if I may say so myself 😉

    Eva, Thanks! And come on…one little book won’t hurt….Oh God, I sound like a drug dealer…

    Mari, Oh, you’re is coming up soon! After Dark is another excellent choice…I really liked that book.

    Debi, I may just have to give you the award for coolest choice yet 😉 I never put Invasive Procedures on a best of list, but every time I look back on it I remember it fondly. It wasn’t a huge success but I liked it…just very different for OSC. He usually doesn’t do thrillers. I think it’s RIGHT up your alley and you would love that book. And thank you thank you Debi 🙂 You have to be the sweetest blogger out there…always inflating my ego 😉

    John, Thanks again man! Well isn’t that just plain out nice of you 😉 I really hope you do win! lol…I’d love for Nymeth to get to read The Raven.

    Matt, Thanks! I stop by your blog quite often too…I’m just really bad at lurking. I need to stop that! So, you want to enter the drawing?

    Marg, Thank you very much! Tale of Desperaux is a fantastic book! I love all of DiCamillo’s stuff. I’m sure you’d enjoy it!

    Chelle, Well happy blogiversary to you too! You’re very sweet 🙂 I LOVED The Bone Doll’s Twin. One of my favorite fantasy books ever. I really need to read the Nightrunner series. I think I’m going to finish this trilogy first and then read that one…she’s a fantastic writer!

  15. God I use a lot of smile faces :p

  16. I love your blog Chris, so of course we’d read! Congrats on being nominated, you deserve it!! And Happy Blogiversary!!
    My pick would be The Uncommon Reader and I’d use it for my Dewey Challenge =)

  17. ha ha. At least you acknowledged your anniversary! My three year one was in December and I still haven’t said a word. I lost a lot of readership in 2008 because I was so slack in, well, everything! I am hoping 2009 will be better! So, happy blogoversary! Or, however you spell that! I think I have to go to bed!

    Oh, and Chris, I LOVE Fables!!!!! I knew I would but I think when I first discovered them I couldn’t find them in Canada… Like, well, I think I am in love. Yes, an inanimate object, but in many ways what I would write if I was a writer! Man, some great sentence structure in this comment. lol Anyway, I am off to finish the first book or fall asleep. Whichever comes first!

    Right, I am supposed to pick something. If I win, you can surprise me. 🙂 I like that better than picking because then I might read something I wouldn’t otherwise!

  18. Happy Blogiversary! I don’t even know when mine is. I was on livejournal for a few years before jumping ship, so that confuses the keeping track of things even more.

    And I like all of your smiley faces. 😀

    (either Madapple or Dream Homes, I can’t decide)

  19. Happy Blogiversary!
    Lezlie

  20. Happy Blogiversary! I had fun going through your reading lists.

    The one that appealed to me the most (that I’ve really been wanting to read) is The Book of Lost Things.

    Great contest, by the way!

  21. Happy Blogoversary Chris! Here’s hoping to another successful two years (and more!)

    It was also a timely reminded to check when mine was (I lost countdown widget in a theme change a few months ago) turns out I have only another 16 days to go to mine.

    I’m going to join the hoards and go for Paper Towns.

  22. Happy Blogiversary Chris! Mine is coming up later this month when I will also be two. Great idea for a contest but I’ll dip out; I’m trying to reduce my tbr pile this year….

  23. Congrats on your nomination, you got my vote! And happy blogiversary!

    I’ll go with A Fine and Private Place..you sold me with 5/5!

  24. happy, happy baby boy! I guess I met you pretty close to when you first came to blogspot, thanks to Carl’s challenge!

    I’m not entering for a book since we both know my tbr pile is so freeking big it’s almost uncontainable! That plus the fact that anything I thought I’d like that you reviewed i wound up buying ! (I think i need to start a blame list!) but it’s a great giveaway!!

  25. Happy Blogiversary! Having been blogging for over a year now, I continue to be stunned at how fast the time has passed and how great everybody is. It’s been a pleasure “meeting” you and reading your blog this year. Here’s to many more great blogging years!

    Oh, and I’d love, love to read Four Letter Word if I could manage to win your excellent giveaway! 🙂

  26. Congratulations!!!! Time goes so quickly. -C

  27. Congratulations!
    now you made me curious about your myspace journal…what did u bitch about?:P

    I voted for you!

    and for the book, if I win I’d like you to pick a book by Orson Scott Card because I haven’t read any and I know you’re the ultimate fan:)

  28. Happy blogiversary, Chris! I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog and getting to know you in the last two years! We started close to the same time…I’m coming up on 2 years at the end of this month. Time flies…! Voted for you! And, I’d love A Fine and Private Place, if I get picked.

  29. Oh shoot…I was still logged in on our Dewey’s books account instead of on my own account. Sorry!
    Robin

  30. Happy Blog-versary. Time does fly. I’m coming up on two years bookblogging too, this spring.
    I voted for you 🙂
    My book pick would be Gossamer by Lois Lowry.
    thanks!

  31. I would love to win a copy of American Born Chinese – I’ve heard such good things about that book!

  32. […] you want a copy of this book, there’s still plenty of time to enter my giveaway and request this as your title! I recommend that you do. Possibly related posts: (automatically […]

  33. John Lawson is awesome 😀

  34. Oops! How about The Uncommon Reader. I’m dying to read that one.

  35. Happy Blogiversary! Thanks so much for visiting my blog and commenting. I hope you enjoy reading it :). If I were to win, I would like…. Yukio Mishima’s The Sound of Waves. It sounds beautiful!
    – Lu

  36. Congrats on 2 years! Like you, I never figured that my blog would be READ by anyone else, let alone that there was such a wonderful community out there. I’m glad – for both our sakes – that we were wrong!

    I can’t decide which book to wish for so I’m going to give you a list. On the off chance that I actually win, you can choose which one to send me. 🙂

    Dream Homes
    Nation
    The Bat Poet
    Here There Be Dragons
    Stardust

    Thanks for the contest, and congrats again!

  37. THanks so much everyone!! I’ve got you all in the drawing

  38. Wow. 2 years!! Awesome!! Doesn’t it feel strange though. I’ve been blogging for about 3 weeks longer than you, and honestly it feels a lot longer. I’ve met so many wonderful people….and I meet new ones all the time. But I love my “old” friends…the ones that I met right from the beginning. It really feels like we’ve known each other for years!!

    I’m sticking with my original thought…..Looking for Alaska by John Green. I’m wishlisting it for my birthday, but like I said….most of my family believes I have too many books already. Sheesh…what do they know? It isn’t possible to have too many books!

  39. You have a great blog and I really like the look of it! I began blogging in 2006 and was away from blogging books for all of 2007 and just recently re-appeared in the blogosphere. I like it here, although my daily life is so filled with darn obligations, that I sometimes go days without blogging or commenting. But now that the Holidays are over, I am looking much forward to begin a whole new year of blogging and reading and chatting.

  40. Hey, happy anniversary! I would’ve guessed that you’d been doing this for much, much longer. And I mean that as a compliment. Congrats! And congrats on the nomination as well. You’ve got my vote! 🙂

  41. First time to your blog — it’s wonderful! You’re right on about book bloggers, such a welcoming and gracious group of people.

    It was fun looking through your book lists. There are two (well, more but…) that I would love. And one you are still reading!

    The Uncommon Reader
    Enslaved by Ducks

    ~thanks~

  42. Happy blog anniversary, Chris!

    My choice would be Smoke And Mirrors.

  43. happy blogiversary! A Fine and Private Place has been on my wishlist for a while now. I’d choose that one. Your review is great!

  44. WooHoo!! Double congrats – on the blogiversary and the nomination!
    I’m so glad I came across your blog, I look forward to seeing many more postings by you – so don’t even think about slacking now that you’re an old-time blogger 🙂

    Very cool giveaway too! I love your reading lists they give me many ideas on what to read – I noticed you’ve read alot by Charles DeLint, an author I’ve always wanted to check out but never know where to start since he’s written so much – so my choice would be whichever DeLint you enjoyed most.

  45. A Fine and Private Place please! I really wanted to read this book since I found out about it. The fact that you liked it even better than The Last Unicorn makes me believe this is going to be a great read.

  46. Happy New Year! I’d like to pick A Fine and Private Place.

  47. […] don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t yet…I’m drawing a winner Saturday […]

  48. […] forget while I’m here that you still have until midnight tonight to enter my giveaway! Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Humor On A Sunday888 Challenge (2008)Packing for […]

  49. Happy blogiversary, Chris!
    Am I too late? If not, I’d love to win American Born Chinese, or A Fine and Private Place, or something by John Green, or … or…. LOL. How about you choose? 🙂

  50. Ah, shoot. I got so involved in reading your old reviews I forgot I had to pick a book by midnight. Drat. Now I see it was midnight Central Time, even! Double drat.

    Posting anyway to let you know that as a newcomer to your blog, I really enjoyed the excuse to browse through your old reviews, and if I were able to pick a book it would have been Dream Homes.

  51. […] help celebrate I am going to pinch an idea straight from Chris and hold a giveaway! (My second of this year!) Simply comment on this post with your selection of […]

Leave a Reply

