Seriously…They’re Totally Taking Over

Wait til you see my Mailbox Monday post on Monday, lol. It’s going to be bad…real bad. However I did get some incredibly cool gifts! In addition to all of the books that found their way into my house this Christmas, I’ve also managed to Mooch quite a few books. Then I got $60 in Borders gift cards, so of course I had to spend them right away :p Today I bought Comic Book Tattoo which I’m so excited about! I got it for Megan for her birthday and she’s in love with it, so I know I’ll love it too. It’s a series of short comics written by different people and each one is based on a Tori Amos song! Cool, eh? I also bought Enslaved by Ducks which I had to have after reading Bookfool’s fantastic review. And The Astonishing Life of Octavian Nothing Vol. 1. Cool loot, eh? The only bad thing is, my TBR shelf is now completely full, the bottom shelf is doubled up, and there are now 4 piles on the floor in front of it :/

Since this title is also applicable to challenges, I figured I’d also wrap up some 2008 Challenges.

First up, The Young Adult Challenge…here’s what I read:

1. The Thief of Always by Clive Barker
2. Tamsin by Peter Beagle
3. The Blue Girl by Charles de Lint
4. Fablehaven: Grip of the Shadow Plague by Charles de Lint
5. Here, There be Dragons by James A. Owen
6. Paper Towns by John Green
7. Found by Margaret Peterson Haddix
8. Nation by Terry Pratchett (which I’m realizing I never properly reviewed!)
9. Madapple by Christina Meldrum
10. The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
11. Gossamer by Lois Lowry
12. Looking for Alaska by John Green

I can’t even begin to pick favorites from this challenge! I really enjoyed them all and many of them will be on the best of list for the year. I love YA lit. I read more than this too, but I’ll count these 12 for the challenge.

The A to Z Challenge: This one was a total failure…I’m not even going to recap it on here, but I’m trying again next year and hopefully I can fill everything up!

The Graphic Novel Challenge:

1. Books of Magic by Neil Gaiman
2. The Book of Ballads by Charles Vess
3. American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang
4. Fables Vol. 1 by Bill Willingham
5. Fables Vol. 2 by Bill Willingham
6. Mateki: The Magic Flute by Yoshitaka Amano
7. Mouseguard: Fall 1152 by David Peterson

I’m so glad to finally have started the Fables series! It’s uber fantastic! If you haven’t read it, you really should. I have book 3 waiting for me. Wrapping up this challenge makes me think of Dewey 😦 She had great taste in GNs and hosted this challenge. The good news is, I have plenty of recs left to read from her!

The Japanese Reading Challenge:

I’ve officially finished this one, but I’m going to read one more…Here’s what I’ve read so far:

1. After Dark by Haruki Murakami
2. In the Miso Soup by Ryu Murakami
3. Mateki: The Magic Flute by Yoshitaka Amano

Bellezza rocks for hosting this challenge. It’s come to be an absolute favorite of mine. I think my favorite of these is actually In the Miso Soup despite my love for the other 2.

I’m calling it quits on the 1% Well Read Challenge….I’m just convinced I’ll never be well read :/

And finally, I’m going to go ahead and wrap up Becky’s Cardathon Challenge:

1. Invasive Procedures by Orson Scott Card and Aaron Johnston
2. War of Gifts by Orson Scott Card
3. The Folk of the Fringe by Orson Scott Card
4. The Worthing Saga by Orson Scott Card
5. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson
6. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield
7. The Bone Doll’s Twin by Lynn Flewelling
8. Here, There by Dragons by James A. Owen
9. The Bridge to Terabithia by Katherine Patterson
10. Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill
11. Ender in Exile by Orson Scott Card
12. Zanna’s Gift by Orson Scott Card

Thanks to Becky, my OSC soulmate, for hosting this challenge. It was fun. Favorites were Invasive Procedures, The Bone Doll’s Twin, The Thirteenth Tale, and Zanna’s Gift. The disappointment was Folk of the Fringe.

Phew that post took a long time to write! Glad to have wrapped them up though…now onto the 2009 Challenges!!

12 Responses

  1. Oh my gosh! How do you do it? With your busy life? I must have a block against most fiction, I think. I zipped through 3 nonfiction books in a day and a half but with one fiction book it’s been a three month struggle.

    Have a great 2009! -C

  2. holy cow! You did good baby boy! Since I only do Carls challenges I don’t do a challenge post. Have my “total” for the year ready, and working on a post of books from my wish list that I am waiting for their release. (quite a few!)

    Isn’t it funny how fast we spend gift cards from book stores or amazon ?! LOL LOL..

  3. Here’s to our future jobs as All Day Readers. (Do you think anyone would hire us for that? We’d have plenty of worthy opinions in return for good pay…) I’m so glad you encouraged me to host the first Japanese Literature Challenge, and now that the second is even more of a success, I suspect I’ll be hosting one every year from June to January. I’m telling you, I can’t seem to put them down myself. Anyway, I’m very proud of all the other challenges you’ve completed. In my eyes, you’ll always be Well Read, Chris.

  4. Yay for new books. I hope you enjoy Octavian Nothing. Loved it.

  5. Congrats on finishing the Cardathon! I wrapped up the Cardathon on my blog today too.

    I do hope you enjoy Octavian Nothing. I was so happy to see it show up on your list 🙂

  6. Carole, I always make time for books! lol…I can’t imagine not reading them.

    Deslily, I need some 2009 reads! Can’t wait to see your post. There’s really nothing that I’m “waiting for” right now…at least I don’t think so :p There probably is. I’m going to do my end of the year totals soon!

    Bellezza, Seriously…I would love more than anything to get paid for reading. I should look into an editor job :p I can’t wait for June to start the Japanese lit challenge all over again! You’re definitely one of my favorites. Their literature is just so damn good!

    Kim, I actually bought Octavian Nothing because of your mention of it the other day. I know it’s gotta be good if you loved it so much.

    Becky, Thanks! I was thinking of making it a perpetual challenge, but I decided to just wrap it up. I can’t wait to read Octavian Nothing!! I know you loved it and you’re responsible for like half of my wishlist :p So I’m sure I’ll enjoy it!

  7. Comic Book Tattoo! I was really excited when I first heard about it, but after that I sort of forgot to get it 😛 Thanks for reminding me it exists! One more for my graphic novels challenge pool. I also really really want to read Octavian Nothing.

    And yes…onto the 2009 challenges 😛

  8. lol, Chris, do you say in your comment to Deslily that you need 2009 reads? Funny, by the sounds of your bookshelf you appear to have plenty of books to read in 2009. :p

    All the books I ordered the other day have shipped, so I am looking forward to them arriving! I doubt they will be here by Monday, though. I wish!

  9. Hi! You expressed interest in my World Citizenship Challenge, so I just wanted to let you know the blog is up and running. 🙂

  10. Thanks so much for joining my challenge Chris! Like I told Nymeth, it’s exciting to have friends participating. 😀 And you totally shouldn’t have told me that the bunny works w/ PCs too…now I really want one!

    I just noticed you’re reading A Fine and Private Place-I hope you’re loving it! 😀

  11. Nymeth, Comic Book Tattoo is AMAZING! Seriously, I just want to cut out some of the prints and frame them…Since Dewey loved GNs so much I was actually thinking of buying another copy just for that reason…I could frame a few of the pages and have giveaways for them! Whatcha think? Though I have to admit, the thought of cutting up a book scares me a little :/

    Kailana, LOL…by that I meant books that will be released in 2009. Trust me, I really don’t need any more books…Can’t wait until you get all of your books in!

    Eva, Of course Eva!! I’m really excited about it..in fact I bought a book today all about travel and immersing ones self in different cultures 🙂 The bunny is so much fun! If you got one, they could talk to each other :p I am indeed loving A Fine and Private Place!

  12. The thought of cutting up a book scares me too, but that’s actually a neat idea. Remember when Dewey mentioned wanting to do that with Dream Hunters? I just wish there was a way of making prints without actually damaging the books…like high qualify colour photocopies on glossy paper or something. Because I know that if I hurt a copy of Dream Hunters I’ll have nightmares about it for years 😛 We should look into that… they’d make great prizes for the challenge.

    I’m so glad you’re loving A Fine and Private Place 😀

Leave a Reply

