Mailbox Monday

mailbox2123456871

Ok, so this is just embarrassing :p I have excuses for all of them though! Of course I do. The sad thing is, it could’ve been much worse. Deslily sent me a package of 8 books as well! Imagine if that would’ve come before today :p Oh well, that just means that next week will be embarassing too.Β 

Let me start off by saying that all of these except for Every Dead Thing (which was mooched) was bought from bookcloseouts.com at unbeatable prices. So that’s one excuse :p

1. Zahrah the Wind Seeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu – Nnedi is a good friend of a good author friend of mine, Carole McDonnell, so I had to check this one out!

2. An Abundance of Katherine’s by John Green – Seriously…a hardcover copy of this one for $2.99…don’t even ask me why I bought this.

3. Wings to the Kingdom by Cherie Priest – after reading Four and Twenty Blackbirds, there was no way I could NOT read more in this series. Had to get it :p

4. Pedro Paramo by Juan Rulfo – Just read Nymeth’s review and you’ll see why.

5. Four Letter Word – I actually read this one already, but it was from the library and I had to give it back 😦 I didn’t like that, so I bought my own copy :p

6. Looking For Alaska by John Green – I read this one already too, but it was also a library copy. Had to own it :p I know, it defeats the purpose of libraries….

7. Every Dead Thing by John Connolly – After reading The Book of Lost Things, I had to try out some more of Connolly’s work. And it was mooched so it’s free!

8. The Silence of the Songbirds by Bridget Stutchbury – Bookfool reviewed this one ages ago and it’s been sitting on my wishlits as one of the most coveted books since. I’m so happy to finally have my hands on it!

So those are my excuses! To make shelfroom for all of these, I cleared off the TBR shelf a little bit and put up about 15 books on bookmooch that I knew I would never read. They were really dustcollectors. Most of them have been mooched already though, so I’m glad that they’ll have new homes where they’ll be more loved!

19 Responses

  1. I love the cover of Silence of the Songbirds! One of the things I like about “hanging out” with other book bloggers is that they actually understand my excitement when loads of books come in the mail. πŸ™‚

  2. Alyce, I love the cover to that one too! Unfortunately, that’s not the cover I have 😦 It’s the only cover they had on librarything though. My cover is still nice though..it has a little nest with three speckled eggs on the cover. That’s one of my favorite things about blogging too :p I love reading everyone’s excitement about books!

  3. lol! Well, You do have perfectly good excuses for all of those. Who can resist Katherines for that price! You’ll love it for sure. I can’t believe I still haven’t read Four Letter Word. Also, can’t wait to see what you think of Pedro Paramo.

    And hey, you were extra good and put some books on Bookmooch! I kind of need to do that myself soon. There’s stuff that really is just collecting dust and taking space. The problem is that then I use the points to get yet more books πŸ˜›

  4. argh! I sure hope those books I sent don’t get lost in the xmas mail !!!

    buying your own book after you’ve read it is as bad as buying the dvd after you’ve seen the movie in the theater… and I do that all the time ..heh.. damn sam, you really are my son! LOL LOL

  5. I’m forever buying books I’ve already read. If I really enjoyed it, I want to own a copy so I can reread it whenever I wish. πŸ™‚

    BookCloseouts is such a dangerous site. It looks like you made out very well, though!

  6. I just want to say that mailbox is so cool.

  7. And hey, here’s a future book for your mailbox…

    http://fizzybeverage.blogspot.com/2008/12/matrimony-winner.html

    Dude, you’ve got good karma with the giveaways on my blog. Have you been bribing random.org? πŸ˜‰

  8. an abundance of katherines is a great book. You will enjoy it!

  9. Great haul! I haven’t been to my house yet, but I should have books this week… Now I want to go home and check. lol

  10. I’m not getting any books in the mail and I’ve only asked for two as far as Christmas gifts go, but I enjoy see what everyone is getting.

    And is that your mail box?

    cjh

  11. Oooh, what a cracking selections of books πŸ˜€

  12. wow, great books!
    lol…If I read a library book I really love, I go out and buy a copy too πŸ™‚
    happy reading.

  13. I know I always give you a hard time about using libraries, but you know, I don’t think buying a book you love after reading it at the library defeats the purpose at all! I think it helps you buy only the really really good ones! πŸ˜€

  14. That is one heck of a fabulous pile, Chris!!! I haven’t confessed, yet, but my week was pretty much that way, too. I got a pile from Andi to review for Estella’s Revenge — plus a couple of review books and a swap book or two. And wow, who could pass up Katherines at that price? I hope you enjoy Silence of the Songbirds. You already know I thought it was wonderful. πŸ™‚ It’ll make you look at those gigantic cellular phone antennas in a whole new way.

  15. I wondered how Four Letter Word was. I’ve seen it and couldn’t make up my mind, but after reading your review I think I will give it a go πŸ™‚

  16. What Darla said: the purpose of libraries is so you can know without a doubt which books you want to own!

  17. Nymeth, I’m losing it! I could’ve sworn that you had read Four Letter Word. Oh well, you’ll love it for sure when you get to it! And I’m so excited about Pedro Paramo. By the way, I’m totally sucking at getting rid of books…I’ve used like half of the bookmooch points already to replace them :p

    Deslily, They came! They came! Yay!!! I had to do a Mailbox Monday pt. 2 post :p I’m so excited now!! I wanted to jump right into them, but I have other obligations first :/ Thank you!!!

    Memory, It’s a very dangerous site! But I always manage to get like 8 or 9 books for the price of 2 in the store! You can’t beat that, lol. I just love to own my books…The problem is space!

    Jeane, Isn’t it awesome?! Just type in “mailbox” in a google image search and you get some cool stuff!

    Softdrink, Okay, okay…you caught me. I was indeed bribing random.org. What can I say, that computerized program just loves me! Thanks again! I’m so happy I won!

    Mari, I’m sure I will! I’ve loved his other two books, can’t wait to read that one.

    Kailana, So did you have books waiting for you?? And if so…what?!

    CJ, No..unfortunately that is not my mailbox, lol. I would love to have last week’s though (that would be the naked blue lady). That’s so sad that no books are coming to your house 😦 But good at the same time, because you can save some space!

    Bart, I have to agree my friend, I have to agree πŸ˜‰

    Bookworm, Hey! Aren’t they great? I’m glad to know I’m not alone in this craziness of buying books that I’ve already read, lol.

    Darla, I really do love my library, lol. And you know what? That’s a brilliant idea! I should start checking out books from the library first before I buy them so I don’t waste money!

    Bookfool, Isn’t it a great set of books? I had twice that many in my basket too, lol. But you know it’s bad when you’re about to spend $100 at bookcloseouts…so I had to take some out. Yay for your pile of books too!! Can’t wait to read the reviews. I’m so so so excited about Silence of the Songbirds. I really don’t know why I’ve been wanting that one for so long, but I’m happy about it. It makes me think of you whenever I see it πŸ™‚

    Joanne, Oh it’s great! You really should read it. It’s not mushy at all…awesome stories!

    Alirambles, You know I’ve never looked at libraries that way! But that’s a great point! I have to start doing that.

  18. haha! i like these “mailbox days”.

    and the pictures of mailboxes… πŸ˜€

  19. Hi Chris:

    How goes? Sorry I haven’t been commenting lately. Yes, Zahrah is a great little book. It just won the Wole Soyinka prize for African literature. So definitely a good YA. That and All the little animals are two of my favorite YA books. Happy reading. -C

Leave a Reply

