I Don't Even Know Why I Set Limits…

I tell myself that I’m not going to join any challenges in 2009 and then I end up hosting one and joining two others! Geez, what’s a guy to do. Anyway, I thought I’d fill you in on all of the details.

The first is being hosted by Rhinoa and I’m super excited about this one! It’s the Manga Challenge! I used to read a lot of Manga a long time ago. My favorite author of Manga is a group of Japanese women who go by the name CLAMP. Their artwork is always amazing and their stories are (in my opinion) the best that can be offered. If you’re looking for a good series for this challenge, I highly recommend x/1999. It’s my favorite. I’ve been wanting to read their XXXholic series as it features some characters from past mangas. Tsubasa also looks very good, so I may read some of that. But my goal for this challenge is to read the first 6 volumes of XXXholic, and I’ll probably read more than that.

The second challenge is Eva’s The World Citizen Challenge. I’ve been eagerly awaiting her announcement of this challenge and it’s finally come! There are different categories of books to choose from all dealing with international affairs. You can participate at different levels as well. I’m choosing the Minor level, which has me reading three books. I’ll pick my books after Eva makes her recommendations 😉

And of course, there’s the challenge that Robin and I are hosting, the Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge. And boy do I have a list for this one :p I spent the better part of 2 hours visiting with Dewey yesterday through her reviews and it was really nice. I’m choosing option 1 which is to read a book that she reviewed in every year from 2003-2008. Here is my pool of books with links to her reviews:

2003:
1. Everything is Illuminated by Jonathan Safran Foer

2004:
1. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

2005:
1. The Ha-Ha by Dave King
2. A Long Way Down by Nick Hornby

2006:
1. The Misfits by James Howe

2007:
1. Loaded by Christos Tsiolkas
2. The Invention of Hugo Cabret by Brian Selznick
3. The Reincarnationist by M.J. Rose
4. The Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby

2008:
1. Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi
2. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green
3. What I Was by Meg Rosoff
4. We are on Our Own by Miriam Katin
5. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
6. The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson
7. East of Eden by John Steinbeck (the last book she reviewed)

I think I’ve finished two challenges too! But I’m not sure :p I’m going to have to go look in my archives but I’m pretty sure I’ve read enough young adult novels and graphic novels to complete the young adult reading challenge and the graphic novel challenge. Back with that news later.

20 Responses

  1. You’re a challenge addict. I suggest therapy . . .

  2. And, I was going to say that you won’t have to go far, but the old trick mouse finger went to work. I LOVED A Long Way down. Love, love, love Nick Hornby. And, I love Hugo Cabret, The Polysyllabic Spree, The Book Thief, and An Abundance of Katherines. Ooooh, such good choices you’ve got, there!

  3. Uh Chris, correct me if I’m wrong, but didn’t you join Annie’s challenge as well? You’re getting in deeper and deeper and deeper…
    Ah, but I so love having the company. 😉

  4. Bookfool, I’ve thought of that myself :/ I love Nick Hornby too even though the only thing I’ve read by him is About a Boy…that one was just so good. I don’t know how I’m going to pick just six books for the Dewey Challenge! It’s going to be rough!

    Debi, oh shit…I’m in deep aren’t I? lol.

  5. Well I wasn’t going to join the Dewy Challenge, simply because I’ve already signed up to enough this year, but even just looking at your list, I can feel my TBR list reducing… and well it’s for Dewey… and well you are being generous with the start date…

    I hate you! :p

  6. Oh, and I completely recommend, The Invention of Hugo Cabret, in so many way’s it’s not funny! Given that you enjoy graphic novels so much, I just know you will fall in love with it.

  7. Bart, Hate away, hate away :p Glad to see that you’re joining in!!!! Makes me happy. And the Invention of Hugo Cabret is definitely one that i’m going to read. I’ve had my eye on it for aaaages now.

  8. I have a post like this coming too…you’re going to laugh at me, and feel better about yourself 😛

    I haven’t made a list for the challenge yet, but I bet I’ll end up reading many of those same books…they were books I added to my wishlist immediately after Dewey’s reviews. The Misfits, Hugo Cabret, We are on Our Own, Jenna Fox, etc.

    And I’m so glad you’re thinking of reading Persepolis, Everything is Illuminated and the Spree! I just loved those, and I have a feeling you will too.

  9. Hey, thanks for choosing my book for your reading list. I’m kind of surprised you did, given that your friend’s review didn’t strike me as exactly positive. In any case, I’m always glad to have new readers, and having read most of the books on your list, I feel I’m in good company. Good luck with meeting your goals, and have a great 2009.
    DK

  10. Nymeth, I always feel better when I can laugh at someone else :p Just kidding! I’d imagine that you’re list will end up looking similar to mine…with like 15 books instead of just 6. She read so many wonderful books and I have so many on my list because of her!! I’m excited about reading all 3 of those that you’ve read!! I just read your review for the other book that Marjane wrote and it sounds fantastic as well!!

    Dave, Dewey had a way with reviews to where even if she didn’t personally like a book, she could assure you that someone would. Her review appealed to me and I’m really looking forward to reading your book now!! It sounds like something that I’ll really enjoy! Thanks for stopping by! I really appreciate it.

  11. Nymeth and Chris: I can’t believe you two haven’t read Hugo Cabret yet! Slackers! (Don’t even point out all the books that I haven’t read yet and should have, okay? lol)

    Anyway, Chris, you should get the collected version of Persepolis, I say. I have read them, very good! I also can’t believe you haven’t read Haddon’s book, it seems like everyone has. I actually have read both of his books (and they both work for Dewey’s challenge if anyone is interested).

    The Reincarnationist is on my list too and I really need to get around to The Book Thief. I haven’t made it up to 2008 in her archives yet, though. You know, if we do read some of the same books we should interview each other, that would be totally fitting for Dewey, right?

    This is rather long. Shutting up now!

  12. Kailana, I can’t tell you how many excellent books I haven’t read yet that everyone else has read, lol. Hugo Cabret and Persepolis are at the top of the list though! I’m definitely getting the complete Persepolis. It’ll save money and I just know that I’m going to want to gulp down the whole series. I’m REALLY looking forward to the Haddon book. I didn’t know much about it except for the name until I read Dewey’s review and it sounds really good! I’m glad I’m not the only one who hasn’t read the Book Thief either! I was beginning to think I was for awhile…at least I own it and I don’t have to buy that one. And I love the idea of having interviews!!! There’s bound to be a bit of overlap in our reviews and this would be a lot of fun!!! This could fit in well with an announcement about the challenge that I’ll be making soon concerning prize giveaways and mini challenges!

  13. Yeah, interviews were a very Dewey thing. Just keep me posted on when you plan to read some of those books and we can work something out! My list only includes books I own and haven’t read, but I will buy books in 2009, I am sure. haha Let me know if you need any help with anything!

  14. Hi Chris! I just stopped by to say ‘hi’ and I hope all is going well for you!

  15. N, Hey!! How are you? I was just thinking about you the other day….I read your Anne Rice post and thoroughly enjoyed it! I’m gonna email you soon…I need your address so I can send you a Christmas Card. Give the family hugs for me!

  16. Hi Chris,

    I can see that some of the books you have selected for the Dewey Challenge are the same as those I have selected (but not posted about yet).

    Also, I want to say that I got a comment from Kim from Page after Page stressing that she is not hosting the Dewey Challenge, which I had written in a post (where you also commented) because I had misunderstood. I have now written the corrections in said post. Thanks for doing it, it is a wonderful idea.

    Louise

  17. I get headaches every time I read how many challenges you and the others join!! I don’t know how you do it ! I know it’s not earthshattering if you don’t finish them but I am such a “if I start I have to finish” person I’d give myself an ulcer! I’m just amazed that I join Carl’s challenges! sheesh!

    I’m glad you ejoy them so much.. that’s really what it’s all about.

  18. I understand your pain. I try not to make public announcements about not joining too many challenges as it inevitably has the opposite effect!

    The challenge in honor of Dewey is an absolutely wonderful idea, I’m sure she would approve!

  19. Louise, Awesome! It’s good to hear that we’ll be reading some of the same books. And you didn’t have to worry about fixing the post! That’s no big deal. I hope you enjoy it Louise! Looking forward to your reviews.

    Deslily, I think I get headaches too looking at how many challenges I join…aha! I found the source of my migraines! lol. The sad thing is, I’m the kind of person who has to finish what I started too…so really, I’m just setting myself up for disappointments….sheesh.

    Carl, It really does! I think it would’ve been much better if I had just kept my mouth shut and not said anything about not joining challenges, lol. Now I’m up shit’s creek without a paddle :/

  20. So many of the books that are on your list are books I either read because of Dewey or will read because of Dewey!! The girl had great taste. I think you’re going to like everything on your list. Thanks for hosting such a great challenge. I cannot wait.

Leave a Reply

